47935
#9 in Traditional laptops
Use arrows to jump to the previous/next product

Reddit reviews on Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL

Sentiment score: 98
Reddit mentions: 150

We found 150 Reddit mentions of Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL. Here are the top ones.

9th Generation Intel Core i7 9750H 6 Core Processor (Up to 4.5GHz) with Windows 10 Home 64 BitNVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti Graphics with 6GB of dedicated GDDR6 VRAM15.6 inches Full HD (1920 x 1080) Widescreen LED backlit IPS Display (144Hz Refresh Rate, 3ms Overdrive Response Time, 300nit Brightness and 72 percentage NTSC)Backlit Keyboard; LAN: Killer Ethernet E2500 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN; Wireless: Killer DoubleShot Pro Wireless AC 1550 802. 11ac; 4th Gen All Metal AeroBlade 3D Fan16GB DDR4 2666MHz Memory, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD (2 x PCIe M.2 Slots; 1 Slot Open for Easy Upgrades) and 1 Available Hard Drive Bay

Found 150 comments on Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL:

u/tjrissi · 15 pointsr/playrust

Definitely not running rust on an integrated GPU. You'll need at least 8gb of ram and I would recommend a GTX 1060. you might be able to get by with a 1050 on potato quality. For a gaming laptop I would recommend the Acer Helios 300. Probably the single best bang-for-your-buck gaming laptop.

u/ImKatz · 6 pointsr/thesims

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_AtahDbV7X0A6V

Macbook: 1400
This fucking beast: 1200

u/steadead · 5 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

Amazon.com also has the Helios 300 with similar specs to this, but with a 144hz IPS panel.

Price is roughly the same, even with duties calculated.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QXLFLXT?pf_rd_p=2d1ab404-3b11-4c97-b3db-48081e145e35&pf_rd_r=ZJ72X48R24BW6DKPCSVB

u/[deleted] · 5 pointsr/paradoxplaza

A friend of mine got this model, but they make a 1060 + 16gb of ram version. Although with your budget, you could definitly spring for something beefier like this

Remember that for Paradox games, the CPU is super important

u/BudgetSetHelp · 5 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Here are some options that match your Description:


Acer Helios 300 price: $1100 (Best option, if there is a discount)


ASUS ROG G531GT price: $830


Ideapad L340 price: $716


Acer Swift 3 price: $700


Asus TUF FX505DT price: $700


More Customization: BudgetSet


^(You are talking to a human.)


^(If you find this reply useless, downvote for removal.)


^(This project is purely for help, and there is no way for us to profit from it)

u/LonerIM2 · 5 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Yes, 99% of the time they are, and the one you linked seem genuine, reason it is lower than the other laptops you are comparing it to is because of few things:

  • 1.This one comes with HD screen not full HD which is very old resolution and shouldn't be available in this somewhat high price range.
    1. This is sold with 3rd party company called "Oemgenuine" not by Lenovo directly, what they do is buy a cheaper lower configured laptop, open it up and "upgrade" it with more ram or more storage, which is much cheaper than buying them preconfigured from Lenovo directly.

      With that if your main usage is going to be gaming then I wouldn't recommend either, GPU on both is weak, and that has a big affect in gaming performance so instead If you could push your budget a little then this is your best option it comes with great value for money, it has high refresh rate with 1080 resolution like you wanted and it is just about 5 lbs.

      If you can't push your budget then your second best option is this Acer Nitro 5 because of the following:

  • The display cover has a brushed-metal look to it and you can open it with one hand.
  • Ram is easily upgradeable, SSD is also upgradable but it needs a little more work.

  • Keyboard is backlit chiclet keyboard (only red) and it can be turned on and off, with good travel and precision.

  • Touchpad supports multi-touch gestures and it is big enough to use them, with clear pressure point.

  • Screen is not super bright, so it might struggle in direct sunlight, and color coverage is also not great but slightly above average at 40% RGB and 62% sRGB.

  • Screen doesn't have Screen flickering / PWM and it has IPS panel so the viewing angles are great, but response time is not great too.

  • CPU throttle a little and gets hot (to the point that it is painful to use on your lap), but for general usage and most games it shouldn't have a big negative impact.

  • GPU is powerful enough to run Runescape on medium to high settings, you can view the expected FPs from this link

  • https://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-1050-Ti-Notebook.168400.0.html

  • Fan noise is very low during idle or light usage, but rather loud during gaming, but that is to be expected.

  • Battery life during non gaming usage is very good for a gaming laptop at around 5.5-6.5 hours.
    If you want to check similar option make sure to check my post a list of gaming laptops
u/kjm99 · 5 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Not right now, there's a new version with the 1660ti releasing soon. I think it's a similar price too. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_4

u/fritocloud · 5 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Everything I've heard on reddit and other forums says to avoid AMD products in laptops. The 2019 Helios 300 is just under $1200 right now, though that laptop is only 15". I know that line has 17" models but not sure on prices.

That being said, if this is what your heart is set on, obviously no one can give you a 100% answer. Amazon Prime Day was just last week and a lot of other businesses ran similar sales to try to snipe away some of Amazon's business. We are now getting into the back to school sales but there is no guarantee that what you want will go on sale (or if that sale would be worth the wait) so you could be waiting for nothing. Most brick and mortar stores (i.e. not Amazon) will refund you for any price changes if the price drops during your refund/exchange period (Best Buy will, for sure.)

Black Friday would probably be your best bet, but once again, no one can say for sure. I do want to reiterate that I think the 2019 Helios 300 is your best bet. I was a little miffed about the 15" screen but I eventually decided that investing in a nice (and bigger) external monitor would be better for gaming at home and that 15" would be good enough when out of town.

u/AtomicMuff1n · 5 pointsr/aggies

I'm a tech guy. Love following PC hardware and laptops and Mac all over the place, even built my own PC and stuff. I'm looking through the BYOD suggested list and all I can think is that they're scamming freshman. Straight up I can think of 5 or 6 laptops with better specs and way better performance than this lenovo off the top of my head that are WAY cheaper than $1500. I just want to know if we should suggest other laptops for the freshman BYOD requirement that might not be as crappy as this.

Like, seriously, $1500 and only a U-series i7, a freaking 2GB discrete graphics chip and 8GB of RAM??? The 2019 Acer Helios 300 for example is $300 less, has a 144hz IPS display, 16GB of RAM, the same amount of hard drive space, a freaking H-series 6 core i7, and a spankin' 1660Ti under the cover with x3 the VRAM.

Did I mention it was $300 less too? Here's the amazon link for proof. Seriously guys, be careful with BYOD. I have friends who straight up wasted $1500 on something just as terrible instead of buying something actually great.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=helios+300&qid=1566524666&s=gateway&sr=8-3

Edit: Also, if you're looking for an allegory to the Lenovo, look at the Y530. It's only got a 1050Ti, but the 8750H is still a beast and the 1050Ti is okay for anything 1080p medium settings at 50-60fps. The Helios is better, but that's Acer if you're not into them.

u/fifa2003 · 4 pointsr/LaptopDeals

The Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop is a great option but it should be dropping on black friday so keep your eye on it.

u/rorrr · 4 pointsr/videography

Acer Predator Helios 300:

6-core i7-9750H, 16GB DDR4, 256GB SSD, GTX 1660 Ti = $1200

Then upgrade RAM to 32GB.

Then replace the SSD with a 2TB Intel 660p for $200.

It'a a beast of a laptop with one of the fastest mobile CPUs and a decent GPU.

The only weak part is the display, it's a 1080 144hz panel. It's more of a gaming machine, not very color-accurate. Get a good IPS 4K monitor and connect it with HDMI.

The battery life isn't great, but that's true of all high-spec laptops. If you want a powerful GPU for video editing, you have to sacrifice battery life.

u/bacon_jews · 4 pointsr/oculus

Cheap VR Ready laptops don't exist. Even mediocre i7-8750H / Gtx1060 system will cost you around $1000. More decent i7-9750H / Gtx1660Ti version is $1100.

You might find some sales or cheap deals, but you have to shop around. Look for a laptop with at least Gtx1060 (ignore all the 1050Ti's and 1650's), ideally with i7-8750H or i7-9750H CPU (avoid R7-3750H).

u/Vussion · 4 pointsr/laptops

If you are not in hurry, I suggest u wait for the new Acer predator Helios 300. Pre-orders have just started and it seems to be a really nice.
Here's the link: https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT

u/cupcakes234 · 4 pointsr/GamingLaptops

It's a good laptop, but the newer 2019 model is more powerful and has almost universally positive reviews: https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

This will run all AAA and newer games above 80-120 fps at high settings. Gaming benchmark video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNoZ5bqofTI

You can differentiate between the two by the colors as the 2019 one is blue and the previous one is red. So if you're buying an Helios 300 right now would highly suggest you to go for the newer one. Not sure whether it's officially available in Canada yet, but pretty sure you could order from the above link to a Canadian address. If you want the 17 inch model of this, you'll have to wait as it's not out yet.

u/Threecube09 · 4 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

The Predator Helios 300 is really nice. I just got one a few days ago with the 1660ti and it has great performance for the price and solid build quality. Only negative is the battery life isn't the greatest at 4 hours. I went with it over the Triton because it has the 9th gen processor and in a fair bit of cases the 1660ti beats the 2060 in speed in a laptop. I don't really care too much about battery life and the little bit of difference in weight.

https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX77925

There are a few different versions of it. One with a RTX 2060 and then one that has a 1660ti but only a 256gb ssd. https://www.amazon.ca/Acer-Predator-15-6inch-Display-i7-9750H/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=helios+300&qid=1566763565&s=gateway&sr=8-1

u/DirtyJunkhead · 3 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07QXLFLXT/ref=dp_ob_neva_mobile

This one with the 1660ti? If so, wouldn’t the eulektronics one just be better? It’s cheaper and seems better quality

u/thecrius · 3 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

I really hate the prices for computers in UK. Way over inflated compared to any other country in EU (not even mention US).

The same model in amazon.com is less than half that price. Fucking disgusting.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=Acer+Predator+Helios+300&qid=1573663056&sr=8-3

Even if you add 300$ to send it here, it still not worth to buy it from the co.uk site.

u/stark33per · 3 pointsr/wow

you can get a good one with that money for WoW. I guess something with a 1050 TI nvidia graphics card or you could even find a better graphics card like 1660ti. don t get one with an rtx card.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=Acer%20Predator%20Helios%20300&qid=1570302486&sr=8-2&fbclid=IwAR2iTB1ZL04-eyD2Z4KgQuxhdQVHdNbQbOFeLHLZ087OaGJAa-s2ohPMLXE

a great example, a long term overkill gaming laptop. you would need to buy an additional HDD, shouldn t cost a lot. a bit over your range, but really worth it longterm. it can run most if not all of the top games well. performance-wise there will be no problems for years (for wow even more as it is not so demanding)

or look for acer nitro 5 (2019 variant) with 1660ti and 9th gen cpu.

good luck!

u/Bubaroo3 · 3 pointsr/GamingLaptops

I would wait until Black Friday/Cyber Monday if I were you and see what deals are available on the Lenovo Y540 or Helios 300. You can get either right now with an i7-9750H and 1660Ti for $1,100 (probably slightly over after tax), so you should have no problem staying under $1,100 if you wait for Black Friday/Cyber Monday

Acer Helios 300

Lenovo Y540

u/legos45 · 3 pointsr/LaptopDeals

To stay within budget, you could consider the Dell G5 since it has a fairly good battery life (for a device with a dGPU) and has a good processor. However, you only get a GTX 1050 Ti graphics card in this device. You could consider the more expensive Acer Predator Helios 300, which is sadly currently out of stock. However, it does have a GTX 1660 Ti graphics card and new i7 processor. But, battery life will be worse.

u/The_Adviser100 · 3 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

For school and gaming in this price range I would advise you to check this laptop

laptop name | Eluktronics Mech-15 G2
--- |----
CPU | Hexa core 8th Gen I7-8750H
GPU | RTX 2060
Screen "| 15.6"" FHD IPS"
Ram | 8 GB
SSD | 250 GB
HDD | 0
Weight | 4.5 Lbs.
Battery life | 4 Hrs.
Pros | light .
Pros | The RTX 2060 should be enough for CAD work and good gaming exprince .
Pros | A great mechanical keyboard.
Cons | The keyboard is a little loud for a class room.
Cons | The laptop has rough edges.
Cons | It doesn't have TB 3.

And if you are not on a hurry I think the 2019 Acer Predator hilos 300 could be a good option as well .

u/xZiggy21 · 3 pointsr/buildapcsales

Not exactly very computer/laptop savvy and maybe i’m comparing apples to oranges but does anyone have an opinion on this vs the acer predator helios 300?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_YqmCDb6WJGNBA

u/Choxie808 · 3 pointsr/buildapcsales

Been looking for a laptop for my brother. There's a predator Helios on Amazon for $999 with the same stuff but with 16gb ram, i7-9750H, and a 144hz screen. Is the extra $100 worth?
*Edit: half the SSD size though it has another empty bay for another drive

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_-5elDbAG4EWD6

u/lonemaverick87 · 3 pointsr/laptopgaming

If you’re able to play $200 more I highly recommend the 2019 Helios 300, it pretty stellar.. just picked one up myself. Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_9INiDb8QNSK9R

u/bookworm669 · 2 pointsr/singapore

Got my sights set on this:
https://www.ubuy.com.sg/search/index/view/product/B07QXLFLXT/s/acer-predator-helios-300-gaming-laptop-pc-15-6-full-hd-144hz-3ms-ips-display-intel-i7-9750h-gtx-1660-ti-6gb-16gb-ddr4-256gb-pcie-nvme-ssd-backlit-keyboard-ph315-52-78vl/store/store

I've tried looking on lazada, acer site, courts, etc, and that's the cheapest I've found it apart from amazon, which is also very similarly priced.

Do you know if ubuy laptops offer the same warranties and whatnot?

u/Linklingonreddit · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

You should get a Acer Predator Helios 300. It’s got the latest laptop core i7, GTX 1660ti 6gb, 16gb of memory and a great 144hz IPS display. (This is not the UK link I’m sorry) https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_cr_arp_mb_bdcrb_top?ie=UTF8

u/RedBaron42 · 2 pointsr/paradoxplaza

My friend has the previous version of this laptop:

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_QwqUDb2Z2KKY1

It’s worked out pretty well for him. He did get a bundle that they had which included an additional 1Tb HDD that you could install manually but I don’t see that available with this laptop. I’m not sure if this one has a spare drive bay. It should be enough to run PDX games,

u/Rayhann · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Not sure if this is the best place to ask (or I should start a post) but I have a list of laptops that seem to be great deals for the specs that they're carrying. Just having a tough time deciding. They range from USD 1000~1600. There's one ASUS that could get as low as 1030 for a GTX1080 but the responses to it have not been so good. Just wanted some good advice on which ones I should get and ones I should be more concerned about. At least I hope others will find this list useful.

  • *Sager/Prostar Clevo w 9th gen i7 + RTX 2060 for $1299 - 500GB ssd, 16gb RAM, 144hz (no gsync but eh)Probably the most tempting laptop. It's seems super cheap for a RTX 2060; might be the best bang for the buck laptop out there. But some others seem good enough and a bit cheaper such as the Helios and ASUS w AMD. Anyone think the extra $300 over 1660ti laptops is worth for this? I feel like this one I could use for a good three years before changing set up. That it'll last a bit longer. Any drawbacks with Sager/Prostar from anyone else's experience?
  • Acer Helios 300 for $1088 - GTX1660ti; 144hz; 16GB DDR4; 256gb PCIe NVMe SSDMost affordable and well regarded option but I'm not sure abut the 256gb ssd. The higher storage ones cost a few hundred more but they were only a bit more expensive a few days ago. I like playing FIFA, Witcher 3, Metro, TW3K and some relatively newer games. Just not sure if the 256gb ssd is enough. Might have to constantly install and uninstall. The price-tag is really hard to resist, though. But maybe it's worth spending a bit more on the Sager with better storage and graphics card.
  • ASUS ROG Strix GL702VI for $1100 but through some discounts I can get to as low as $1039; i5-7200HQ; GTX1080; G-Sync (but 60Hz); 256gb SSD + 1TB HDDThis seems like an amazing deal. But the responses have been mixed. But a $1k laptop with gtx 1080 that will last about a year or two seem too good to be true. A bit suss but hella cheap. But again... for the lowest pricetag, a gtx 1080 that will last me a year or two.
  • ASUS w AMD Ryzen 7 + GTX 1660 ti for $1134Seems like another cheap good deal. But are ASUS laptops just not that well regarded? A lot of mixed reviews. But I like the design, the thinness. Plus it has a good entry graphics card.
  • ASUS ROG Zephyrus for $1311 - This one has a GTX 1070, 7th gen i7, 16gb ram, and 256gb ssd. Once again, ASUS isn't well received in amazon. This one's a bit more expensive than the Sager/Prostar. But I like the slim design and the GPU cards should be more or less equal, right?
  • ASUS ROG Strix Hero II for $1372 - 8th gen i7, RTX 2060, 16 GB RAM, 521gb PCIe SSD
  • Acer Helios 300 for $1384 - Only difference is bigger storage, 512 gbs this time. Same GTX 1660 ti and everything else. Considering there are cheaper laptops with seemingly better specs, maybe not worth the extra $300? Plus the others around this range seem to offer better bang for the buck.
  • Acer Helios 500 for $1400 - AMD Ryzen 7 2700, Radeon RX Vega 56; Vega 56 seems like a really good card. But should I be considering this when there are rtx 2060 n gtx 1080 laptops available for cheaper or around the same price?
  • Sager RTX 2070 for $1499 - Seems like a great deal for a 2070 card. But might still be pretty pricey for me. Yet considering some of the others, for value, this seems really good
  • Acer Triton 700 for $1502.49 - GTX 1080 w G-Sync 120Hz, 512GB SSD. Again, like teh Sager, this seems like an amazing deal for the card and monitor. Only drawback I see is the trackpad
  • ASUS ROG Zephyrus GX501 for $1549 - GTX1080 w 144Hz G-Sync, 16 GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 8th gen i7Similar price range as the previous two. I like the Zephyrus design better but that's really about it. But like the other ASUS laptops, it has mixed responses.

    Just for reference, I bought my previous laptop (now blue screened and unusable) four years ago. I wasn't (and still am not) very tech savvy so I wasn’t sure if it was a good gaming laptop back then. But these are the specs for my ASUS A501U: 6th gen i7; GTX 950M; 126gb ssd + 500gb hdd. I'm sure any one of these laptops will be great compared to my mingy 950M.

    Which one of these would you guys recommend? Thoughts on how black friday might change the price? Should I wait for BF or just get one sooner?
u/trainedtech88 · 2 pointsr/LaptopDeals

Your specs requirements definitely points you to this Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop. it will easily do heavy programming as well as run your games without hiccups.

u/elvinelmo · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Take a look at the Acer Predator Helios 300 2019 version

Screen Type: 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display,

Processor: Intel i7-9750H,

Graphics: GTX 1660 Ti 6GB,

RAM:16GB DDR4,

Storage Type: 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD

Comments: An improvement on the 2018 version as it has a much better cooling system. This laptop provides great specs for the price and is ideal for gamers who do not want to overspend. Its battery life is not that long so you will have to walk with your charger. The GPU in this laptop won’t go stale for a while as it is fully able to run new titles on max settings and get great FPS.

u/hfccfh · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Some gaming laptops are ok, there are some good deals for around $1000 like this acer helios 300 with a 9750H, 1660 ti and 144hz screen. At one point I saw it on sale for $800. Obviously still not as good as a PC though.

u/NeonSoldier117 · 2 pointsr/skyrim

You need specs. Regardless of laptop or desktop specs are the defining factor. Layout your budget and I can tell you BUT a cheap perfect all around winner holding the current #1 position for laptops in performance V price is the Helios 300. It's on Amazon and is $1.1K. You can also wait for prime day and the price will dip to $999.99


Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6 inches Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_hBaZDb6HCNF2D

u/TnStriker · 2 pointsr/protools

Found two laptops that you could be interested in Acer Predator Laptop

Asus Rog Strix

1st one is cheaper but has a smaller 256gb m.2 ssd drive in it but is upgradable and has a secondary storage drive available to put a hdd in for larger capacity.

The 2nd laptop is a little more expensive than your 1500 budget but provides much better GPU power. Comes with 512 m.2 sdd and another storage drive slot.

u/99K9s · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

The y540 from Walmart, or the newer version of the Helios 300 are better options. The Helios will drop to under $1000 for black Friday. It sold out pretty quickly last time.

They perform nearly identically (after tweaking y540), so just decide which look your son would prefer. Y540 is understated, the Helios is gamer. Other differences, the y540 comes with a larger SSD (512 vs 256), and the Helios comes undervolted and OC'd out-of-the-box (minor to do yourself, but be aware). I'm sure he'll be thrilled with either!

And, no, he doesn't need more than 16gb of RAM. Although, both are easily upgradeable in the future.

Lucky kid!

u/NatureBytesDev · 2 pointsr/gamedesign

I really don't understand the hate for laptops in this post. OP asked for a good laptop for a reasonable price, his only fault was that he didn't give his price he could pay. He also didn't ask "desktop vs laptop" So i don't know why thats even a response. Its his responsibility to figure that out beforehand, looks like he did.

​

I bought a gaming laptop almost 4.5 years ago and its still a beast. Its got a gtx 860m that has never let me down. It can run both Unity or UE4 with ease as well as game.

​

Here are some good laptops for you ordered from cheapest to expensive -

$730 - https://www.amazon.com/MSI-GF63-9SCX-615-Gaming-i5-9300H/dp/B07TN4C9FY/ref=sr_1_14?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1570568914&sr=8-14#customerReviews

$989 - https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1570568914&sr=8-3

$1,099.99 - https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1570568914&sr=8-4#customerReviews

u/ITman2000 · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

if you can get a Helios 300 which has a rtx 2060 gpu which is a new powerful graphics card along with the latest 9th gen i7 processor. This would be your best bet at this price. Also you have [helios 300 1660Ti verison] (https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=as_li_ss_tl?keywords=helios+300&qid=1559339528&s=electronics&sr=1-26&linkCode=ll1&tag=gaming0789-20&linkId=e0602f57b7c475ad746e4fc00d556a47&language=en_US) if you cannot get the rtx 2060 version.

u/thedaysleeper1 · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Go for the [Helios 300 9th gen Gaming laptop] (https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=as_li_ss_tl?SubscriptionId=AKIAJQYFXGBZ6MDO67HQ&linkCode=ll1&tag=gaming0789-20&linkId=31dedb18bcf590ac2d71eef806285f40&language=en_US) which comes with the latest gtx 1660 ti gpu and a fast i7 9th gen processor, wonderful IPS screen display, 5 hours of battery life. Furthermore, the gpu is better than it's predecessor gtx 1060 which was good for graphic intensive programs.

u/Ahmadhmedan · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

you have to understand that both are 45w cpu's but the i7 is a 6core cpu and the i5 is a 4 core cpu so there is quite some performance difference.

The legion is not the best for cooling,i suggest something like the helios 300 new version with the 1660ti it has good thermals.

also whatever laptop you have please pay attention that it will never be cool as a desktop and that every laptop will benefit from some repasting or undervolting.

undervolting these days is very easy and basically harmless with a bit of caution so get the i7 and undervolt it a bit and perhaps repaste it.

the new helios 300 comes with a good paste and some undervolting from the factory which will probably save you the trouble for the most part and it is in your budget.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT

u/m_natty17 · 2 pointsr/laptops

2019 1660ti

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT

2019 2060

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-72EV/dp/B07QVM5X91

I'd recommend the 1660ti and if you buy it; make sure to update the bios as it saved my time from complaining like those people giving it a 1 star.

u/AndrewCgz · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

The 1660ti yields only like 30%ish of an improvement over the 1060. That being said, i would still go for the Asus because of the extra storage and the 144hz display. Although both are very similar and good priced. Im going to be purchasing the Acer Predator Helios 300 if you wanna take a look at it.

u/dimryan · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

It does help! I’ve been out of the loop laptop-wise for a while, but I’m still pretty in touch specs-wise. If what you want is a portable machine with whatever battery life that can play r6 and MMO’s, you would a laptop with an intel Core i5 7th gen, (or amd equivalent), a gtx 1060 (or amd equivalent), 16 gb of ddr 4 ram, a 1080p screen with 60hz (I highly recommend 120hz or greater) and whatever storage you want. All this is with future proofing for at least a year in mind

But, you can blow all of those specs out of the water with a budget of up to 2000$. I would recommend you buy a machine that will last you a while. For your CPU, an intel Core i7 8750hq, for your GPU (graphics card) an rtx 2060, 16 gb of ddr 4 ram clocked at 2400mhz, and, again, whatever storage you want.

(Keep in mind that and SSD is better than a hard drive in that it’s load times for whatever is stored onto there is a lot faster than a hard drive). I also recommend a 1080p screen with a 120hz refresh rate or higher.

Anyways, hope this helps! Please ask any questions in DM’s or this thread! I’ll probably go and edit this comment later with some laptop recommendations because now I’m invested.

Acer Predator Helios 300 for 1200$

I also highly encourage you to check out the YouTube channel Jarrod’s Tech Review as he does really good reviews on gaming laptops. There’s a lot of techno-speak, but he’s very in-depth and I trust his opinion on recommendations.

I also like Dave Lee just try and steer clear of the razor blade laptops. They are very good laptops with very good performance and specs, and they look beautiful, but they’re overpriced in my opinion and outside your budget of 2000$.

u/Peder0210 · 2 pointsr/Rainbow6

Rainbow 6 siege isn't a demanding game. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=mp_s_a_1_7?keywords=Gaming+laptop&qid=1566247731&s=gateway&sr=8-7

This should be a really solid computer based on the price and reviews. And powerful enough to play upcoming games with high framerates

If its too expensive, you can also play siege on cheaper laptops . I wouldn't suggest you go under the 800-1000 dollar price range though

u/bwfailcan · 2 pointsr/RocketLeague

You didn't reply to my comment, but here's my first choice:

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

This will be a solid performer and you get a 144hz screen for that buttery smooth gameplay. A solid choice at around the $1200 price point.

Budget option:

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Gaming-i5-7300HQ-GeForce-AN515-51-55WL/dp/B074Q54GSR/ref=sr_1_13?crid=AOFDSQDKV0IU&keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1565715124&s=electronics&sprefix=gaming+%2Celectronics%2C130&sr=1-13

Processor is 7th gen i5, but will get the job done.

u/BuyMeaSalad · 2 pointsr/classicwow

My one suggestion would be to prioritize your CPU over GPU. WoW is actually a more CPU intensive game.

Here are some suggestions from what I believe are some of the best value gaming laptops right now:

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1566063520&s=gateway&sr=8-3

Predator has a 1060, 144hz screen, SSD, and a super powerful i7 professor. This thing will run WoW like a beast.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=mp_s_a_1_7?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1566063607&s=gateway&sr=8-7

Newer generation of predator is gonna cost you a few extra bucks, but you get a 1660ti which is a big upgrade over a 1060 plus you get the newer gen i7 as well.

https://www.amazon.com/Gaming-TUF505-Notebook-NVIDIA-Windows/dp/B07T3G4N7Z/ref=mp_s_a_1_58?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1566063845&s=gateway&sr=8-58

Another great option that gives you a 1660ti, although the AMD processor doesn’t perform as well as an i7, it’s still a perfectly capable processor.

u/blaw6331 · 2 pointsr/playrust

It seems ur looking for a laptop if I am correct. For that the best deal for your budget right now is a predator Helios 300 (2019) if you are in a sales tax state that will bring it right around your budget. The only problem is the 250gb ssd can be small if you keep a lot of games downloaded however the laptop does have an 2.5 in expansion slot if you need more room in the future

Amazon link Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_nBqlDb4C4NSB8

u/psionicronin · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Imo, neither, not when the Acer Predator 300 2019 is $999 today! Down from $1199.99

Laptop: Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL

[Amazon Link] (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_DWnlDb2H52RZY)

Picked it up myself this morning.

u/PCMRBot · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

If you ask a question, and someone answers it correctly, reply with a thank you, but include this checkmark: ✓ ( or if you cannot enter Unicode, use !check instead )

This will score the user whose comment you replied to a 'point'. Currently the points will unlock special flair that will show in all Daily Simple Questions threads.

This should be working, hopefully

In case you missed it, click here for yesterday's Daily Simple Questions thread.
There may be some questions still unanswered! Below are a selection of questions with no replies. See if you can help them out.

If you don't want to see this comment click the little [-] to the left of my username to collapse this comment.

----

> Hey guys my Graphics card and motherboard were fried in an electrical surge, the surge seems to have went from my secondary monitor and into my Vega 64. The fans and case lights all still turn on if I try to power it on but none of the motherboard USB IO seem to be providing power. My question is this, what are the chances that my CPU, RAM, SSDs and power supply are fried as well? Any chance they wouldn't of gotten zapped too?

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5ga4d3/

----

> Is it safe to use an 8-pin to 8+6 pin adapter for a graphics card? PSU is EVGA 600BR 80+ Bronze. It has two 8 pin PCIe cables, of which one is being used tor an RTX 2060.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5h3lg1/

----

> My character in iris.fall gets all blurry when I move, but looks normal when she's standing still. I've tried messing with the in-game settings and my Radeon settings, but I can't figure out the problem.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5iahvb/

----

> Playing the new modern warfare, I am running in to an issue where it is saying that the game is using 0% of my GPU, any idea what is causing this issue?
> Also I am experiencing lag spikes.
>
> Running Ryzen 5 2600 RTX 2070

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5jfzt1/

----

> My computer has been losing power in the middle of playing a new game. Temps aren't a problem, so I suspect the power supply isn't pulling enough power, and the Event Viewer pushes me in that direction as well. Is there anything else I should look at to confirm this, and what criteria should I have for a new power supply if it is in fact the problem?

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5jr1ao/

----

> Can anyone with a 2070 super tell me what their average temperatures are under load? I’m at about 65-70 degrees running Modern Warfare.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5jsp8t/

----

> I'm looking to upgrade my laptop. It still works but the screen flickers black sometimes and it's recently started to sometimes drop to 15fps and get super hot for like 5 or 10 minutes and then go back to normal.
>
> I've got an Inspiron 7559, it's got an I7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz, 16GB of RAM(came with 8, I added another 8) and a GTX 960M. I'd like something better, nothing too crazy but good enough to last for at least 4 or 5 years and to run games that come out in those years.
>
>
> These are the ones I'm currently looking at:
>
> Helios 300: I7-9750H, GTX 1660TI 6GB, 16GB RAM, 256 SSD.
>
> Triton 700: I7-7700HQ, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD.
>
> Lenevo Legion Y540: I5-9300H, RTX 2060 6GB, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD & 256GB SSD (Strongly leaning towards this one, I can get it for $950-ish.)
>
> Asus Zenbook Pro Duo: I7-9750H, RTX 2060, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD. (I'll only get this if it goes down to $1k or less on a sale and if I don't get something sooner.)
>
>
> Any suggestions? I honestly just might get the Y740 since its the cheapest and I don't know if my laptop will last much longer.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5jwm12/

----

> I dont know if anyone can help but here goes:
>
>
> When i have cables into my GPU (RX 580) the monitors with randomly show no signal and stay that way, but doesnt happen when thier plugged into my motherboard
>
>
> Does anyone know how to fix it?

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5k50dq/

----

> My PC used to detect my PS4 controller but not it doesn't. Tried multiple wires and controllers as well.
>
> Doesn't show up in drivers either.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/dntr9z/daily_simple_questions_thread_oct_27_2019/f5kat7n/

----



User | Points
-----|-------
zakabog | 633
A_Neaunimes | 581
Luminaria19 | 446
badillin | 432
Excal2 | 412
Sayakai | 321
thatgermanperson | 314
saldytuwas | 249
095179005 | 228
motionglitch | 217


----

I am a bot - This action was done automatically. Please direct any questions or concerns ( or bug reports ) to \/u\/eegras - About /u/PCMRBot

u/SeismicWhales · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

I'm looking to upgrade my laptop. It still works but the screen flickers black sometimes and it's recently started to sometimes drop to 15fps and get super hot for like 5 or 10 minutes and then go back to normal.

I've got an Inspiron 7559, it's got an I7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz, 16GB of RAM(came with 8, I added another 8) and a GTX 960M. I'd like something better, nothing too crazy but good enough to last for at least 4 or 5 years and to run games that come out in those years.


These are the ones I'm currently looking at:

Helios 300: I7-9750H, GTX 1660TI 6GB, 16GB RAM, 256 SSD.

Triton 700: I7-7700HQ, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD.

Lenevo Legion Y540: I5-9300H, RTX 2060 6GB, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD & 256GB SSD (Strongly leaning towards this one, I can get it for $950-ish.)

Asus Zenbook Pro Duo: I7-9750H, RTX 2060, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD. (I'll only get this if it goes down to $1k or less on a sale and if I don't get something sooner.)


Any suggestions? I honestly just might get the Y740 since its the cheapest and I don't know if my laptop will last much longer.

u/OrcOfDoom · 1 pointr/pathofexile

I got this one https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07QXLFLXT/ref=dp_ob_neva_mobile

I went from lagging each legion encounter to running pretty damn smooth.

u/VG-enigmaticsoul · 1 pointr/GirlGamers

If you still haven't decided, this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QXLFLXT/ref=as_li_qf_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=dav0d2-20&creative=9325&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B07QXLFLXT&linkId=81e213e37808ec3cdd9cdf49882386c4


Ships to norway. No idea what the shipping costs tho

$930 USD is basically unheard of for a laptop like this, probably gonna be sold out in hours lol

u/blendius · 1 pointr/suggestapc

Heres the link for the helios 300 on amazon

u/E-Man1864 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

$1000 will get you a laptop with a 1660 Ti. A mobile 1660 Ti won't outperform a Vega 64 and performs a bit worse. With that budget, you don't get creature comforts like TB3 or an upgradeable CPU/GPU. These would be your best options: Laptop 1 or Laptop 2.

u/FeelingPatience · 1 pointr/Amd

upd, copypasting the PM I sent to one of the users regarding the topic:

Hi.

It is a long story about the final decision about the laptop, to tell the truth. I was thrilled by the Zephyrus laptop, thinking about portability and performance capabilities. However, after having it released and been reviewed by many people, I have come to the following conclusion:

-Zephyrus' AMD Ryzen is MUCH more slower than i7-8750HQ, it is not even comparable in most cases. It is so weak, that most modern games are not able to run on high to ultra settings above 70fps, though the screen is 120hz.

-The screen is too dim, you can look up this issue more in reviews. It is dimmer than in an average laptop. 240 nits only

-There are some build quality issues, such as having the screen frame not being glued properly, this was found in bestbuy reviews.

​

The last, but not the least point for NOT buying this laptop and sticking to asus was the announcement of new predator laptop which is freaking awesome compared to this. It is new 2019 predator 300 with i7-9750HQ, gtx 1660 ti not max-q and so on, I'll get it as soon as it is released. You can read more about it here:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QXLFLXT?pf_rd_p=76bd99fd-409f-46a4-9ff6-b66b5703e95b&pf_rd_r=M8PJJ7TJ8T46RD2Q127S

u/G-Love80 · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

Just a heads up, there is a newer model of the Predator Helios 300 releasing soon that has a 1660 Ti graphics card. Looks like it will start at $1,200.


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QXLFLXT/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_5?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

u/MustachianInPractice · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

Thank you! I'm about ready to pull the trigger on that Dell. I've always liked the laptops I've bought from them. I have one final question. Given what I've requested, and the fact that with a little bit of patience I could get something like the Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop for just $300ish more (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QXLFLXT/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1), would it be worth it to wait for the latter?

Is that too subjective of a question? lol Basically "is the Acer I linked $300 better than the Dell, or is it minimal"?

u/Thomasg1717 · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

At that price point, I’d highly recommend the Acer Predator Helios 300 2019 Edition over the other laptops. It’s by far the best value for money at that price point and it’s arguably the best value for money gaming laptop on the market right now.

u/Gamesst · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

Just jumped on the Helios 300 which dropped back down to 999. I remember people being pretty excited when it hit that price point on prime day, is this still viewed as a good deal?

u/MrVulnerable · 1 pointr/VideoEditing

So now I'm stuck with last two in my list.

1- ASUS PREDATOR HELIOS 300

2- MSI GL63 9SDK-614


My friend helped me to open my eyes and convince me design and looks is not the matter compared to specs. That's how I changed from RAZOR BLADE 15 2018 BASE MODEL.


So what about my current option? PremierePro is my main intention but I would like latest decide as I won't change lap another 5 years atleast..

Or do you have another suggestion?
The only thing which is making me irritated with HELIOS is now I want to buy a SSD and I don't have any idea. Should I choose MSI?

u/torpentmeadows · 1 pointr/VideoEditing

Looking to pick up a laptop so I can edit while traveling, and a friend recommended this guy. My question is though, do gaming laptops truly double as video editing laptops and would this be a good laptop for editing?

Acer Predator Helios

I primarily do music videos, but I’m working on a short film and a documentary this next year, while also trying to pick up Unreal and Cinema 4D for some basic 3D work.
Also- I use the adobe suite for my editing currently and have started using 4K. I’m familiar with proxies though, so that’s not a huge deal. My budget is about $1,300

u/EntangledLabs · 1 pointr/Laptop

Have you looked at the Acer Predator Helios 300?
6-Core i7, 16 GBddr4, GTX1660ti, excellent screen and so forth for $1200, €1070

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07QXLFLXT/ref=dp_ob_neva_mobile

u/TintaTonti · 1 pointr/laptops

The laptop you mentioned on Microsoft site was $1,559 a month ago. Maybe it will be same on Black Friday.

Acer Predator Helios 300 is CA$ 1,507. This is i7-9750H processor, 16GB Ram, GTX-1660Ti graphic card, Full HD 144Hz screen.

u/Andy9375837 · 1 pointr/Laptop

Thanks for the comment Lewis.

When posted this i just looked at the specs. In that i mean like the basic not the generation or how high the number is. I still have no idea what the difference between a 1660ti and 1650ti. What i mean is i understand the higher the number the better but not really sure performance wise.

I talked to people on the discord and they helped me decide what laptop to get and how to solve me problem.

I am going to get the Helios 300 with a M.2 Sabrent 1TB SSD and a Heatsink for the SSD.

u/Jcarn18 · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

I buying a new laptop and I need some help. It’s currently between the Helios 300: ($1,100)
https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=helios+300&qid=1570050346&sr=8-3

And the Elikyronics N970TF: ($1,500)
https://www.amazon.com/Eluktronics-N970TF-Desktop-Powered-Gaming/dp/B07TSC6LMZ/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?keywords=laptop+2070&qid=1570049879&sr=8-1

I want the best value for money, they both have very good reviews online/YouTube. The Eluktroniks comes with a i5-9400 CPU while the Helios has a i7-9750h. Which cpu is better for gaming? And which laptop would you pick overall for value when it come to gaming only. (17” is more appealing to me as I will be using at home mostly but can’t find Helios with good deal 17”)

Thanks guys

u/GuN- · 1 pointr/amazon

How do i show shipping and import fees?
sorry but I'm new to amazon
I noticed that some items will have shipping and import fees calculated below their prices, while others don't
both items ship to united arab emirates according to the panel on the right.

u/mst_spica · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

If you do not mind carrying a few pounds heavier laptop, I recommend you check out Acer Predator Helios 300. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=helios+300&qid=1574051261&sr=8-3

It actually priced at just $1,100

​

Then again, if you plan to do heavy video / image editing, pay attention to the color accuracy. This laptop has: 300nit Brightness and 72 percentage NTSC. You don't have to pay attention to this if you are planning on having a dedicated monitor which you will be using for editing.

​

Edit2: You know what, if you don't mind spending a few hundreds dollars more, go ahead get the Aero Gigabyte. It has certified color accuracy, huge battery, and most likely lighter.

u/ChipsOfSilicon · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

Acer-Predator or the more powerful version if you wait for blackfriday deals Acer-Predator-i7-9750H

u/ysiaD01 · 1 pointr/laptops

The only reason why I have been put against the Y540 is because in comparison to the Acer Predator Helios 300 is because they are similar in specs, but majority of reviews favor the Helios 300 over the Y540.

u/gummibear049 · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

O haven't seen anything smaller with similar performance in that price range.


And it looks like the price went up on that model too, at least at Best Buy.


Here are some other's I found, albeit with a little less powerful GPU.


[Dell XPS 15 9570 - 15"- FHD Nvidia 1050Ti - Intel i7-8750H- 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD - WIN 10 Home - Certified Refurbished] (https://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/dell-xps-15-9570-15-fhd-nvidia-1050ti-intel-i7-8750h-16gb-ram-512gb-ssd-win-10-home-certified-refurbished/12741781)


[MSI PS63 Modern-096 15.6" Ultra Thin and Light Professional Laptop Intel Core i7-8565U GTX1050Ti 8GB DDR4 512GB SSD Win10] (https://www.amazon.ca/MSI-PS63-Modern-096-Professional-GTX1050Ti/dp/B07WLVXPYP/ref=sr_1_57?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1575062627&sr=8-57)


The laptop linked above only has 8GB RAM, but it should be upgradeable to 16GB RAM if you wanted.


Here are some other options too.


[ASUS TUF 15.6" Gaming Laptop (AMD Ryzen 7-3750H/512GB SSD/16GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660Ti/Win 10)] (https://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product/asus-tuf-15-6-gaming-laptop-amd-ryzen-7-3750h-512gb-ssd-16gb-ram-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1660ti-win-10/13620827)


[Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6inch Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR] (https://www.amazon.ca/Acer-Predator-15-6inch-Display-i7-9750H/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1575062438&sr=8-3)

u/Ubiquitous-Toss · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

I'm surprised noone replied to you yet. I feel like I'm in the same exact boat as you and I was looking at the Asus Tuf as it was a good deal in specs for the price. But I am hesitant of the build quality.

Asus TUF FX505DT Gaming Laptop, 15.6" 120Hz Full HD, AMD Ryzen 5 R5-3550H Processor, GeForce GTX 1650 Graphics, 8GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe SSD, Gigabit Wi-Fi 5, Windows 10 Home, FX505DT-AH51, RGB Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07VBK4SYS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_1Dx4Db9SC3XF1

Also seeing a lot of recommendations for the Acer Helios as a great deal today putting it just under your budget.

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6 inches Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_mKx4Db0XYGY4T

Let me know what you think as I'm looking for something solid too.

u/ideapit · 1 pointr/laptops

I think you paid $100 more than you should have. Amazon knocked the price down today

If you check Camel you can see that $1100 wasn't really a discount.

u/PhilSwiftDaddy0 · 1 pointr/computers

Asus TUF FX505DT Gaming Laptop, 15.6" 120Hz Full HD, AMD Ryzen 5 R5-3550H Processor, GeForce GTX 1650 Graphics, 8GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe SSD, Gigabit Wi-Fi 5, Windows 10 Home, FX505DT-AH51, RGB Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07VBK4SYS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_CCw4DbVR21DH2

This one if your planning on playing lower demanding titles, rocket league, LOL, smite, etc.


Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6 inches Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_QDw4Db49VPC49


This one if your planning on playing more demanding titles, note that both are currently on a Black Friday sale so now would be the time to pick either of them up. Cooling/airflow shouldn’t be a big problem in the either but if it’s something your concerned about or would like to have the peace of mind about, I included a link down below for a laptop cooling pad (also on a back Friday sale)



Havit HV-F2056 15.6"-17" Laptop Cooler Cooling Pad - Slim Portable USB Powered (3 Fans) (Black+Blue) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NNMB3KS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_qGw4DbDC7XKPC

u/TexSC · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

I asked in the discord and was suggested this Acer Helios 300 deal off of amazon. The main reason I wanted to go with costco is because I've had an excellent experience with their support/warranty. It looks tempting. For only $70 cheaper, is it worth losing that for the $999 y545 off costco? Smaller SDD too?

u/htt_novaq · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

> What would be the best system I could buy for him that would have a 500 GB SSD, 16GB of RAM (browsing) and a i5? Looking at about 600 - 700 $.

Assuming he still wants a laptop, consider going the AMD route, it's really worth it for decent price/performance.

> For some dammed reason he values portability over literally everything, so of course he wants a dammed laptop. I'm looking for something for him that could be around the 1K area, but able to run games like Gmod, Fortnite, Overwatch, and Minecraft.

Helios 300 is on sale for the next 6 hours. Dave2D says "this is the one to get."

> Right now I'm eyeing a RTX 2060 6GB, but I don't know if that's the right option. Is it?

If you prefer high quality visuals and higher frame rate and you're looking for bang for the buck, Radeon RX5700 all the way, it's cheaper, at least where I live, and it easily beats the 2060. For thermals, the RX5700 Red Devil handily wins.

u/DarkChen · 1 pointr/GirlGamers

i mean, i dont know how much traveling are you doing, but monitor+case isnt gonna be friendly to carry, especially the monitor with the stand plus its size, not to mention i imagine you would had other baggages together, so it can get heavy, and messy...

i dont know what you budget is like but i would focus on laptops nevertheless, no hassle no worries, at least travel wise, stick it in the same backpack as your cloths and its done...

again, dont know you budget but here are three i found looking quickly around amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07VBBKCGZ
https://www.amazon.com/MSI-GS75-Stealth-205-Gaming-i7-8750H/dp/B07QMGRCF6
https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT


the first one its more mid to high end, with better screen, better processor and huge storage space, the second one its more mid end and tho similar specs, with lower storage space and more mid end processor and graphic card, and the last one its more budget friendly with smaller screen, though it seems a little bulkier built... anyway, im sure there are better options out there, bu i hope those help

u/judahthewoodah · 1 pointr/laptops

Acer Predator Helios 300 is about $1090 USD depending on the model which is somewhere around 1000 euros -

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_0DS4DbP27X4TG

u/DrHallow · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6 inches Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Dzw4DbQAXWESW

u/JagSKX · 1 pointr/laptops

Based on the following benchmarks, you need at least a GTX 1660 Ti or a Radeon Rx 580x GPU to get over 144 FPS at 1080p with medium settings. If you want to get over 144 FPS using high settings at 1080p then you will need a laptop with a GTX 2070 or better which is definitely going to be out of your range.

https://dev1.notebook-check.com/index.php?id=13849

​

I see people recommend the Acer Predator Helios 300 pretty regularly. It currently sells for $1,100 for the moment, but wait for a Black Friday sale.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_6?keywords=gtx+1660+ti&qid=1572928298&refinements=p_n_graphics_type_browse-bin%3A14292273011&s=pc&sr=1-6

u/fortuna_nox · 1 pointr/laptops

I was looking at that one versus the acer predator helios 300:

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_3?crid=3QQMTI0J4XCUI&keywords=acer+predator+helios+300&qid=1573158014&s=electronics&sprefix=acer+predator+%2Celectronics%2C204&sr=1-3

Do you think the one you suggested is worth the price difference? It's abour $200 more, but it has twice the storage and an upgrade in the graphics card

u/CleverD3vil · 1 pointr/srilanka

I have a suggestion, if you can increase your budget a bit then go with the helios 300, tech is kinda my hobby, i love tech hence i know about laptops and stuff and i searched the whole internet when i bought my laptop, no company comes close to Acer Predator helios 300 series in terms of values...

Currently it costs about 226k with shipping and you have to add duty on top of that but it will definitely go on sale this year because it does every year, make sure to get this version cause it is the latest one.. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=helios+300&qid=1573141680&s=electronics&sr=1-3

A similar spec laptop costs over 300k here in SL. It is absolutely worth for the money.

They usually discount it $100 bucks but then sometimes they do $200. If they do the $100 then you could get it for 207k + tax... if they do the $200 deal which is rare but they do it from time to time then you could get it for 188k + tax.

u/my_work_account_0 · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

It can be found on Amazon HERE for 1092.

Amazon had it for 999 on prime day I believe. I would wait until black friday or cyber monday if you can. You could also get it now on the acer recertified website if you want for 899. It looks like they have a 90 day return policy.

u/dot7en · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

Hi. If you're willing to go for 120Hz instead of 144Hz, the ASUS TUF is already overpowered for the games you'd like to play, while being the most affordable. There's also an AMD option for $100 less.

  1. ASUS TUF FX505 - Intel Core i7-9750H, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, GTX 1650, 15" 120Hz, RGB keyboard. $899.
    https://www.amazon.com/R5-3550H-Processor-Graphics-FX505DT-AH51-Keyboard/dp/B07VCNTRG6/
  2. Acer Predator Helios 300 - Intel Core i7-9750H, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD, GTX 1660Ti, 15" 144Hz, no RGB keyboard. $1,100.
    https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/
  3. ASUS ROG Strix Hero II - Intel Core i7-8750H, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD + 1TB HDD, GTX 1060, 15" 144Hz, RGB keyboard. $1,120.
    https://www.amazon.com/IPS-Type-GeForce-i7-8750H-Processor-Windows/dp/B07D7SRPBN/

    Comparison between graphics cards here.
u/MLGBigSmoke35 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=acer+predator&qid=1573857993&sr=8-5

Here is one with less storage. It's about $100 cheaper. Both of them have room for a 1tb drive. Warning this thing can get hot. You will probably want to undervolt using throttle stop.

u/logfreed · 1 pointr/laptops

Ok. I was already blanning on adding more ram. Thank you! Here's the link to the one I was looking at. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_i_gtUZDbAJF17Q8

u/ZaBADi_24 · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

Should I get the Legion By Lenovo Y540 15.6" Gaming Laptop, Intel Core i7-9750H, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660Ti 6GB Graphics Card, 16GB RAM, 512GB PCIe SSD, Black, 81SX00B5US


Or the

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6 inches Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL

I don't like the y540 cause of the plastic bulid and the fact it runs hotter than the helios 300, but I like it because it is much quiter.
And I don't like the helios 300 because of the noise level, but it runs cooler than the y540. Any suggestions please :)

u/techstar2000 · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

One of the best options in that budget range is this 2019 Acer Predator Helios with the 1660 Ti graphics card , 144 Hz display, 256 GB SSD and of course, it handles heat pretty well. It would do a decent job for you. This Lenovo Legion has a more powerful graphics card and bigger storage and hence, would perform better generally, but I would recommend you do a slight undervolting of processor to handle its heat..NB: The Acer predator comes undervolted.

u/Mr_Bear99 · 1 pointr/videogames

I'd say if you already have a switch and are enjoying it, then maybe a large purchase isn't necessary. However, if you already plan on buying a laptop to do work on, why not get a laptop with a decent graphics card in it? I bought the older version of this laptop (amazon link) on a cyber monday deal for like US$850-900ish. With the 1660ti that is in the newer model, all those games you mentioned will run on max settings no problem and should last you a good while.

u/CoryG321 · 1 pointr/amazon

I have been looking at purchasing a laptop and was going to purchase this, which is shipping from USA whilst i am in UK. The exact same laptop on the uk store is here at more than double the price, so my question is, if i order from usa how much would the shipping and import be if there is any at all? as on other items/laptops that are coming from the USA such as this one, it tells me how much the shipping charge would be upfront ( + GBP 329.59 Shipping & Import Fees Deposit to United Kingdom ) where at the first link doesnt have anything written after the price. Any help appreciated, Thanks.

u/sushiblade99 · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

Acer Predator Helios 300 been treating me very well


Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Edit: looks like they actually lowered the price by 100 bucks, paid 1200 for mine. Idk what your price range is but I love this one

u/Spoon_S2K · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_WdjSDbM9NQ1AE

Yeah, idk why it copied like that. The best laptop deal right now. Or the y540 with 512 gig SSD and 2060 for 1200 but only in microcenter so you have to live there AND I don't know if they still have that sale.

u/ahiddenmessi2 · 1 pointr/amazon

Buying gaming laptop on amazon

I want to buy a gaming laptop on amazon but i have never bought expensive products on the platform. The product im wanting is this: https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_4?currency=GBP&keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1571418873&refinements=p_36%3A90000-120000%2Cp_n_feature_five_browse-bin%3A13580790011%2Cp_n_feature_four_browse-bin%3A2289792011&rnid=676578011&sr=8-4


What Im worrying about is that if the laptop isnt functioning correctly, will i have the chance to return it , or do i have insurance for the laptop?


The product detail mentioned it:
Amazon.com Return Policy:You may return any new computer purchased from Amazon.com that is "dead on arrival," arrives in damaged condition, or is still in unopened boxes, for a full refund within 30 days of purchase.
but im not sure what it means. Does it mean i wouldnt be able to return the laptop once i have already opened the package? What if the laptop is internally damaged during transportation? Thanks.

u/Swanesang · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Well its up to you if you want an pc or a laptop. Personally i prefer a desktop since it performs better. But here are your options.

This is decent laptop for the price. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=mp_s_a_1_7?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1569698255&s=gateway&sr=8-7

This is what i would build if i had $1200 :


PCPartPicker Part List

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
CPU | AMD Ryzen 5 3600 3.6 GHz 6-Core Processor | $194.79 @ OutletPC
CPU Cooler | Noctua NH-D14 64.95 CFM CPU Cooler | $79.95 @ Amazon
Motherboard | MSI B450 TOMAHAWK ATX AM4 Motherboard | $114.85 @ OutletPC
Memory | Kingston HyperX Predator RGB 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory | $115.44 @ Amazon
Storage | SanDisk SSD PLUS 1 TB 2.5" Solid State Drive | $97.84 @ Amazon
Video Card | MSI GeForce RTX 2070 8 GB Video Card | $449.89 @ OutletPC
Case | Phanteks Eclipse P400 ATX Mid Tower Case | $79.99 @ Amazon
Power Supply | EVGA BQ 600 W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-modular ATX Power Supply | $56.88 @ OutletPC
| Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts |
| Total (before mail-in rebates) | $1249.63
| Mail-in rebates | -$60.00
| Total | $1189.63
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2019-09-28 15:21 EDT-0400 |

u/RaidForceDelta · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

Item title and description say FHD (1920x1080), but under "Technical Details" max screen resolution is 1280x800. I assume FHD is correct given the Predator series but can anyone clarify this?

Honestly, this does not seem like a great deal. The Helios 300 model PH315-52-78VL costs $300 less ($400 less when on sale), and the only differences seem to be keyboard back-lighting style (monochrome vs. RGB) and SSD size (256GB vs 512GB ... note that both have an additional M.2 slot).

These differences just don't seem worth paying an extra $300-$400 (especially if the screen isn't actually FHD). Am I missing something else about this model that is improved over the 78VL?

u/omega44xt · 1 pointr/Dell

https://www.amazon.com/Zephyrus-Gaming-GeForce-Windows-GA502GU-PB73/dp/B07QQ9LZZK/ref=sr_1_1?crid=2EAVUL1XKW24V&keywords=ga502&qid=1557073860&s=electronics&sprefix=ga502%2Celectronics%2C149&sr=1-1

This is a good choice for $1100 if you need a thin & light gaming laptop. It has a model in Bestbuy with 120Hz display & 16GB RAM for $1200. It has 1660Ti Max Q which is better than GTX 1060.

​

If you don't need a thin & light, new Helios 300 might be better:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/?coliid=I2E9YAF2BLKLCO&colid=3JLBQ5NAGUA8K&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

I'd recommend waiting for reviews.

u/Souschef87 · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

If you are willing to spend ~1400 i'd suggest this

this

or

this


I would not suggest getting the laptops listed in your postfor this amount of money purely based on the fact that they have 1050 gpus. Go for the best GPU possible in my opinion.

u/sliplocke · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

Fortnite isn't a difficult game to run. Anything with a 1060 gtx (6gb) runs it on ultra no problem. So, any laptop that has a 1060 and above will be more than enough power. If you're looking for a gaming laptop then 120-140hz display panel is something else you may be interested in. There are a few low budget laptops being released atm with 1660 ti's which are better than the 1060s and just under 2060s.


ASUS ROG Zephryus S w/ 1070 GTX


ASUS ROG Strix Scar II w/ 1060 GTX


Acer Predator Helios 300 w/ GTX 1660ti


MSI GP75 9SD-437 w/ GTX 1660ti


All of the above come from major brands and can easily be googled to find a review of the unit or a unit close to it. They are all under 1500 and could run most triple-A titles at high-ultra settings. They are also low key compared to some other gaming laptops. Also, I watch Lisa from Mobiletech Review, https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCW6J17hZ_Vgr6cQgd_kHt5A . She's pretty straight forward and unbias IMO. Hope this helped! Good luck.

u/matusrules · 1 pointr/buildapcsales

the newer version has a factory undervolt, cools way better and has a slightly different design. it's one of the best if not the best 1660 ti laptop. Here is the one i'm talking about

u/Hollermagician · 1 pointr/GirlGamers

If advise against the 1050 since even when it was brand new it was pretty weak.

Heres a pretty good laptop i found on Amazon;
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_F2fFDb9GB6F7R

The 1660 is not a bad graphics card either thats a fairly new card and if you can get a laptop with that then youd be set. Btw have you considered building a pc instead?

u/Aleximajsa · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

I think this should be more than enough for Total War: Warhammer 2 on 1080p and max settings! I suggest lowering or turning off anti-aliasing and the anisotropic filtering and you should get an average of 60+ fps and above!

Acer Predator Helios 300

Enjoy!

u/TishaBob · 1 pointr/VideoEditing

Here are a couple options I have noticed. I didn't do much in-depth research, these are just two that stood out to me for whatever reason:

Razer Blade 2018: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07HPSR3Z9/ref=psdc_13896615011_t1_B07D8YBNSS?th=1

Acer Predator Helios 300 2019:https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_3?crid=3KKUTPAUSDDM7&keywords=helios+300+2019&qid=1568771802&s=electronics&sprefix=helios+300%2Celectronics%2C221&sr=1-3

I think between the two, I prefer the Razer since it has a simpler design and it's a bit more portable. But I'm worried that being a year old is too much of a compromise. As for the Acer Helios, I've heard it's currently the best bang-for-buck, but my biggest concern is that there are reports of driver-related problems that make it unusable...I feel like spending a little more money for something more reliable is worth it.

Are there any other brands/ models that are better than those two?

And to clarify on what you mean by "low-powered processors," do you mean Ultraportable laptops like the MacBooks, Surfaces of Dell XPS? I wasn't planning on getting one of those anyway.

u/BishopMiles · 1 pointr/Amd

This was the one I was looking at https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_gDHnDbHKV61C7

There is a lot that I like about the 500 bigger screen, freesync, better cooling, I want to assume it's easy to overclock without having to worry about heating issues.

The new 300 had it's cooling issue solved from the previous edition and holds up well to gaming. It has some nice frame rates for the price. This guy gives a great review of the newer version. https://youtu.be/b3E0Niou-i0

u/Hitokage_Tamashi · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

Depends on the model. The new M15/M17 lineup is actually really legit, but it's limited to single channel RAM due to size limitations; this isn't a massive deal, but it'll make the CPU perform slower than it should and unfortunately there's not another slot, unlike on other laptops where OEMs will often just leave the second slot unpopulated. Do you know what your budget is yet? If you can do $1.2k, the Acer Predator 300 is fantastic for the price, especially if you're just going to be using it at home and for like LAN parties or something

u/white_hyppo · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

$1579?

Well Helios 300 with 9750H, 144Hz, 1660ti is comparable by performance and is just $1179
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=dp_cr_wdg_tit_nw_ls

u/MrDraagyn · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

I wouldn't pay more than $800 or $900 though I could see the price being a little over $1000 because it's considered a thin and light. But a 7th gen i7 is wildly outmatched by an 8th gen i7 and a 1060 is pretty well outmatched by a 1660ti or rtx 2060. The Acer predator Helios such as this one
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_aCIiDbJNV075Z

Will probably be a bit more expensive than the gs63 but it will be much more powerful, and newer. But it'll be a bit bulkier because it is not a thin and light.

What is your budget might I ask?

u/lesharcerer · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

what's your opinion on Triton 500 17 9th gen vs Helios 300 17 9th gen. I am new to the gaming laptops arena. i know the helios 9th gen launched this year, what about the Triton, is it a new release too?

I don't game, i am taking a gaming laptop for some heavy CS stuff.

Also, it's a bit unusual, the Triton 500 doesn't have any reviews at all. linking both below.

​

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PT515-51-75BH/dp/B07QVM5Z5H

u/CoachOldTimer · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" Full HD 144Hz 3ms IPS Display, Intel i7-9750H, GTX 1660 Ti 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD, Backlit Keyboard, PH315-52-78VL https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_hBZiDb6378EWQ

u/d3ming · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals