30928
#11 in Internal solid state drives
Use arrows to jump to the previous/next product

Reddit reviews on Kingston 240GB A400 SATA 3 2.5" Internal SSD SA400S37/240G - HDD Replacement for Increase Performance

Sentiment score: 39
Reddit mentions: 112

We found 112 Reddit mentions of Kingston 240GB A400 SATA 3 2.5" Internal SSD SA400S37/240G - HDD Replacement for Increase Performance. Here are the top ones.

Fast start up, loading and file transfersMore reliable and durable than a hard driveMultiple capacities with space for applications or a hard drive replacement

Found 112 comments on Kingston 240GB A400 SATA 3 2.5" Internal SSD SA400S37/240G - HDD Replacement for Increase Performance:

u/dr3d3d · 11 pointsr/PleX

Your budget is generous not "cheap" so with the goal of $1000 plex server here is what I would do...

EDIT: THIS WON'T TRANSCODE 4k... however thats ok because 4K transcoded are washed out... use high bitrate 1080P looks just as good if sitting 4' or further away.. if you want 4k for the HDR then use a player that can play 4k hdr(almost any tv does now.. i have a $600 65" TV that does it just fine)

​

u/autumn-morning-2085 · 11 pointsr/india

Nice price for a 240GB SSD: Kingston A400 240G
Bought one.

₹3199 (₹2880 after the 10% ICICI Discount). I see /r/india mentioned onlyssd.com a few times for the lowest SSD prices, but this offer seems to be better than the lowest price there (and also too lazy to enter details on new site).

Or 120GB SSD @ ₹1700: WD 120G

u/monkeybusiness124 · 8 pointsr/teslamotors

Kingston 240GB A400 SATA 3 2.5" Internal SSD SA400S37/240G - HDD Replacement for Increase Performance https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_EmsMDb8GY84MZ

This is $32 for a 240gb external SSD. i think it is worth having for such a little cost. No idea where you are getting $100-200, as that’s what I paid for my 250gb SSD back in 2013. Then you dont ever also have to worry about slow write speeds or emptying it every month or so

u/jxn_w · 8 pointsr/teslamotors

I bought a Kingston SATA 250GB SSD with a SATA to USB adapter. Works great.

SSD

Adapter

u/dfiner · 7 pointsr/pathofexile

If you can't swing $30 on an SSD (this one is 240 GB, so it can easily hold windows AND many games on it) to vastly improve your quality of life in your hobby, then you have other problems, and you should probably be using your time gaming either working a part time job, extra hours at your main job, or going through your stuff selling what you don't need on ebay/craigslist. The example I found took all of 5 seconds to find, I'm SURE you could find a better deal or a cheaper one out there with a modicum of effort. SSDs have been VERY affordable ($50 or less) for 3-4 years now, and mainstream in gaming PCs for at least 7. Some people have been using them for over a decade. It's about as reasonable to expect developers to cater to PCs without SSDs as it would be to expect developers to make all their new games run flawlessly on a Playstation 2.

Having financial stresses when you can do something about it (and having the free time to play games means you CAN do something about it, even if you're disabled there's ways to earn money even online) is going to needlessly contribute to anxiety and depression. Here's some ideas if you need some:

  • Donate plasma or blood (many places actually pay you for this, especially if you have a needed blood type like O)
  • Take paid surveys online
  • Go through your old junk you never use and sell some of it on ebay/craigslist
  • Offer to do some menial work for a neighbor or friend (cutting the grass, watching a pet, housesitting, etc)
  • Fight the urge to buy games for ONE steam sale (this is admittedly the hardest, but let's be real, 90% of the games people buy during these never get played)
  • Chose to buy ONE less game over the course of the year to vastly improve your enjoyment of all the other games you play for the next 5+ years.
u/zakabog · 7 pointsr/pcmasterrace

That'll cost you $50 for USB or $30 for a SATA SSD.

I have dozens of drives I've collected over the years, but with storage being so cheap it's easier to transfer your data to a new device rather than rely on a drive so near the end of it's life. Keep the old drive in a bin if you want to keep it for the lulz, but I wouldn't actually use it in my build.

u/FAERayo · 5 pointsr/starcitizen

Oh cmon... ssd cost are near 50€ for a 240GB more than decent ssd, it doesnt need to be the best neither the highest amount.

​

Since you talk in L, i'll send you uk link for 43 Pounds: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Kingston-SA400S37-240G-Solid-State/dp/B01N5IB20Q/

​

With this, any argument against the ssd is automatically overkilled.

​

It's like saying no game should be developed with only HDD's in mid. or no game should be developed with GTX 1060 in mind, they should be playable with a Nvidia gt 9600 from 2005.

​

Btw: You don't need SSD, it's recommended SSD because the loading time will get long, pretty much like GTA V case.

u/Hrhnick · 5 pointsr/mac

Yes. And while you’re upgrading grab this 240GB SSD for $33: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/

Your computer will feel like a new machine.

u/mini4x · 4 pointsr/windows

If you have the means my suggestion would be buy an SSD and reinstall Win 10 on that. Even a budget SSD sill smoke those Barracudas.

I don't know anything about this drive but Kingston is typically a 1/2 decent brand and this is cheap.
https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q

At the end of the day you're still rocking at a 10 year old PC though, s results may vary.

u/theriotr · 4 pointsr/homelab

So this won't meet all of your requirements; but if Cheap is #1; then it might be a workable solution.

​

The HP Microserver is about the size of a toaster, standing up on it's end - so it's space efficient & uses AMD's Mobile processors for reduced power requriements: Pairing that with a couple of half height INTEL nics and a cheap SSD, I had PFsense up and running in under an hour. My internet speeds are about the same as what you quoted above. As far as build time, it took me longer to open up the microserver than it did to install the software; and then learning PFSense has been an adventure; but it sounds like you're already familiar with that. The microserver has an onboard NIC, if you add the two Intel half-heights you can support a local network +DMZ in whatever flavor you want. Sounds like you might need those to be SFPs - but if you can reuse the ones from your old Firewall it might be a workable solution.

​

For the parts below your looking at about $130.00 - maybe less if you have an old SSD laying around? or opt to use an older hard drive?

​

This is what I bought:

​

https://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-ProLiant-MicroServer-Turion-II-Neo-N40L-1-5ghz-4gb-RAM-4x-Trays-Sound/293026779637?hash=item4439c1d1f5:g:9nUAAOSwTO9aN~VZ:sc:FedExHomeDelivery!70448!US!-1

​

https://www.ebay.com/itm/LOT-OF-2-INTEL-EXPI9400PTBLK-PRO-1000-SERVER-ADAPTER-Half-Height-Bracket/372650340117?hash=item56c3b0ef15:g:EDMAAOSw6~VZxC15:sc:USPSFirstClass!70448!US!-1

​

https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sxin_2_ac_d_pm?keywords=ssd&pd_rd_i=B01N5IB20Q&pd_rd_r=21440a5c-1495-4f5d-ac1e-e1a1cd70cba5&pd_rd_w=GCh7t&pd_rd_wg=iTFs8&pf_rd_p=5cc8abfe-8f78-4f34-b19f-d09d6ea0dca4&pf_rd_r=82JE7208JTNJ1DN96224&qid=1557770695&s=gateway

u/Fanu12 · 4 pointsr/totalwar

30usd for 240GB SSD is not expensive (or 18usd for 120gb model)

https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_3?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1549449972&sr=1-3&keywords=240gb+ssd

yes, if you need more storage, go with HDD - but dont then complain how games load slower on it

SSDs even ship on cheapest laptops now, I'd consider them standard

u/twitchtvtulegit · 3 pointsr/Random_Acts_Of_Amazon

Ay happy birthday kiddo!

NOODLES! 🍜

This would be very helpful, thanks for contest :) Kingston SA400S37/240G SSD A400 240 GB Solid State Drive (2.5 Inch SATA 3) https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_IGfDCbGBT9P88

u/KopfJ4ger · 3 pointsr/computers

Edit: Also, your current graphics card is not removed. I've drawn a box around it in red. It may not be functional, and it's certainly not worth using anymore, but it's there.

You don't need to factory reset it.

  • Download a windows installer and put it on a USB drive.
  • Buy a cheap SSD. This one is fine for $30.00
  • Disconnect the current hard-drive and connect the SSD instead.
  • Insert your USB and install windows. (you may have to change the boot priority from the BIOS, but it should boot the installer from the USB.
  • You should now have a usable Windows 10 computer. You don't even have to pay for Windows yet. If you're real budget conscious, you could try to extract the Windows key from your old hard-drive. I've done this successfully twice.
  • Browse r/hardwareswap until you find a GTX 1050ti for under $100. I saw one go for $75 3 days ago.
  • Install that.

    Now you have a perfectly fine gaming PC. You'd have to spend $500 to build something that will outperform this $100-$130 version.

    If you really don't want it, you can drop it off at my place. I'll put it to use. ;)
u/Marcqtp · 3 pointsr/buildapcsales

> Unless you’re just getting it for a boot drive get the 240gb one for $30 on amazon.

Same price as Bestbuy actually, both are $29.99 but yes it's true given you're prime (& who isn't?), Amazon has free, 2-day shipping so definitely an advantage over Bestbuy's ~$5 standard 5-7 days shipping.

Either way, it's a steal... I remember just a year or so ago these were easily $300-400 drives..

u/A_RED_BLUEBERRY · 3 pointsr/laptops

Do you have your data backed up? If so, using another computer and a USB flash drive, click here and download the media creation tool by clicking the "Download tool now" option. Plug in your USB flash drive and run the executable and follow the prompts, make sure you select the right version of Windows (probably 64 bit) and make sure you select the "USB flash drive" option, it will take a while to finish downloading everything onto the USB but once it's done. After it finishes, while your laptop is off, plug in the USB flash drive into your laptop and boot it up. After you press the power button start pressing your boot key repeatedly, it's different for every PC, it could either be delete, F10, or ESC. Once you're in BIOS, you'll have to select your USB as the primary boot device, then save and exit. You'll know you've done this correctly if you get to the Windows installation screen. Once you're there, there will be an option to "Repair this computer," click it and follow any prompts. If your installation of Windows is corrupted this should fix it.

If it still won't boot up your HDD is most likely causing the problem and should be replaced with an SSD. They can be found for dirt cheap on Amazon. I've personally used this one and can vouch for it, it's not the fastest SSD on the market but it gets the job done and you most likely won't notice the difference. However, this drive is 7mm thick and most 2.5" HDDs are 9.5mm thick. This can cause issues in some laptops so you might want to look for an SSD that is 9.5mm thick. If it comes to this, just install the SSD and boot from the USB drive like above but instead of repairing you'll be installing it normally.

u/gotroar · 3 pointsr/hardwareswap

Hers an an adata for $29

ADATA SU635 240GB 3D-NAND QLC SATA 2.5 Inch Internal SSD (ASU635SS-240GQ-R) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PLNNDL2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_8EVxDbM9KNQXF

I got this Kingston for $30 the other day but now it's $32

Kingston 240GB A400 SATA 3 2.5" Internal SSD SA400S37/240G - HDD Replacement for Increase Performance https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_CGVxDbEW2EPQV

But Amazon has more options for $30

u/ImpossibleWarden · 2 pointsr/buildapc

This is a good one I found on amazon.in. 240 GB should be more than enough for your OS and basic applications, and you already have HDDs for overflow storage.

Side note, any specific reason for going with two 500 GB drives instead of one 1 TB one? A single drive will probably be cheaper and cause less headaches.

u/doggxyo · 2 pointsr/freenas

I use two Kingston 240gb SSDs in mirror once booting from flash drives were no longer being recommended. I know 240gb is way too big for what I need, but compared to smaller sizes - it didn't make sense to me to buy smaller.

My Dell R720XD has internal SATA ports but they are disabled... and I didn't want to dedicate two drive bays for boot disks - so I bought a pair of these SATA to USB cables, and haven't had an issue. One is attached to the server's internal USB port and the other SSD is inside the chasis too, plugged into a back USB port - and the cable is fed through an empty PCIe slot.

u/youshouldbeonarch · 2 pointsr/24hoursupport

I'd try it, but be warned; the reason I said not to keep powering up and down is because you might have a failing drive on your hands, the more you power-cycle, the more of of a chance you'll lose your data.

The drive costs $29.99 currently btw https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N5IB20Q?tag=hawk-future-20&ascsubtag=tomshardware-deal

u/Stevictory · 2 pointsr/forza

Hmm, so it looks like it is a 7200rpm HDD so that should not be an issue. If you're passing vehicles and getting the fps drops, it could be the RAM not being fast enough/big enough to store the new data.

On the bright side, SSDs are cheap these days compared to 5 years ago and you can pick up a 240GB one strictly dedicated to FH4 and a few other games for 30 bucks.

If I were you, I would try upgrading RAM first to and see if the issue still persists since it is at the minimum of the minimum requirements. The HDD running at 100% is a bit concerning to me as well. Hence, maybe both may be the best route. This RAM and this SSD would run for 110 total.

And if you do get an SSD, make sure to get a sata 3 cable and ensure to plug it into the sata 3 port on your MOBO


Edit: Also, quick clarification question. Is it consistently at 100% or is it variable? If its variable that's fine as it is simply loading new areas and then stopping once loaded. Variable = 1-5 seconds in this case. In that sense, you may just need the RAM upgrade.

u/DonnyJoseph0 · 2 pointsr/buildmeapc

Tight budget, best option is to build off a decent used system.

i5-4690, 32GB DDR3 (!?), 320GB HDD; $154ish

MSI GTX 1050 Ti Low Profile; $180

Kingston A400 240GB SSD; $29

The i5-4690's single core performance comes close to a Ryzen 5 2600, which should contribute to a decent FPS on 1080p. Combined with the GTX 1050 Ti you should be rocking 60 FPS minimum on Medium 1080p, if not better.

The SSD is optional, but makes things so much snappier I couldn't recommend doing without it.

u/maybepants · 2 pointsr/bapccanada

https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/list/QHFRnH

The Deepcool Tesseract has 2 fans, and is a bit cheaper than the Corsair. I've built in it, and it's a solid budget case.

The EVGA - BQ 500W is perfectly fine for your build - it's even a bit overkill if you're not using a dedicated GPU.

I removed the keyboard from your list just because.

Your #1 priority upgrade should be a SSD boot drive. Smallish SSDs which are perfect for Windows boots drives are cheap and plentiful. You can get a 120GB SSD for under $40, or a 240GB drive for $55 or so.

https://www.mikescomputershop.com/product/8446261


https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01N5IB20Q/

u/TheRufmeisterGeneral · 2 pointsr/AskTechnology

Yes, an SSD would make it boot fast and overall act like a comfortable machine (unless the CPU is really super bad like old Celerons).

That said, $60 for 120GB is a bad deal. Here is a 240GB SSD for $47: Kingston A400 on Amazon.

That said, the most important thing to check is the service manual, or whatever document/review you can find that shows how to open up the laptop. Sometimes, laptops can be incredibly difficult to open up enough to get to the drive, and sometimes they use weird (ultrathin?) form factors for the harddisk. It's a good idea to check before buying, that the harddisk can be replaced.

Edit: A further frugal storage tip: go to aliexpress.com and search for "usb sata" and get something is cheap enough to hook up the old harddisk to the laptop using USB, so you have a few hundred GBs of extra, external storage if you need it.

u/Jonesy492 · 2 pointsr/AnthemTheGame

I never played the demo, so I can't comment on that. I would pick up a ssd from amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=ssd&qid=1550436077&s=gateway&sr=8-5

$30 and you will be able to fit 4+ games on it. It will make you life in this game 100x better.

u/MaXimus421 · 2 pointsr/computers

I just bought a 240 GB Kingston for $27 on Ebay. It's around the same price on Amazon

SSD's are pretty cheap right now.

u/DHarkKnight10 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5” Solid State Drive SA400S37/240G - Increase Performance https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_nsU2Bb5Q6ZPTT

This is what I use. Under 50 bucks plus it’s a 240gb so you can put any additional programs in there if you want

Edit: the 120gb is 28 bucks and Kingston is a pretty reliable brand

u/Muvanji · 2 pointsr/CanadianHardwareSwap

That a little much considering i can get a 120G from Amazon new for 31.99
The Read/Write for the Hynix is 530/200 while the A400 is 500/320 so around the same performance but one is new.

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=twister_B01N3104P8?_encoding=UTF8&th=1

u/The_Dude_Named_Moo · 2 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

240GB variant is even cheaper on Amazon at $47.99 with free shipping for prime members


https://www.amazon.ca/Kingston-Digital-240GB-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q?th=1

u/FreezingIrony · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0795W86N3

The version with SSD costs $620, but the version without costs $510. Is the SSD really worth $110?

What makes theirs so special? Or I'm I not noticing an additional feature?

Edit: Should I buy the $510 version without an SSD and add a cheaper SSD or should I just get the $620 version which already has an SSD.
https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q

This ssd for instance is only 30 bucks

u/Hail_Hydra_ · 2 pointsr/technology

There are some laptops out there for sure that have SSDs soldered in (usually chromebooks and newer macbooks), but if it has a traditional HDD you should be able to replace it with an SSD by opening the case and unplugging the old one. Laptops can have both SSDs and HDDs if they have enough room inside but I don't think it's very common, I know some newer gaming laptops have both so you get the speed of the SSD for the OS and games but still have plenty of storage on the HDD and in some cases people replace the optical drive with a secondary SSD/HDD. You're running McAfee on the computer that's slow? That could definitely be the problem there. I don't know how well it actually detects viruses but as far as performance goes it's a dealbreaker for me. I just helped a buddy take that off of his brand new Dell all-in-one because it was borderline unusable out of the box and basically all I did was uninstall McAfee. There are honestly better options out the available for free like BitDefender or even Windows Defender is pretty good. Here's a guide I like to look at that compares different AV like that.

https://www.tomsguide.com/us/best-free-antivirus,review-6003.html

BitDefender Free is what I use personally. Malwarebytes is pretty great as well, it helped me save my buddy a few hundred dollars and a few days of time that Best Buy wanted to scam him out of. Here's a decent SSD for the price, not the best and not the most storage but for $30 you can't beat it.

https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_2?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1549160964&sr=1-2&keywords=kingston+ssd

You could always get a bigger one or better brand too just depending on how much you want to spend.

u/Colton82 · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

CORSAIR FORCE Series MP300 240GB NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD Solid State Storage https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07D98DZ38/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_J.qACbT014JVR

Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5” Solid State Drive SA400S37/240G - Increase Performance https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_larACbMJ19AFB


And about the WiFi, housing setup right now would take a 25 foot and 50 foot cords stapled to the ceiling. Will more then likely set it up but would still like the WiFi cards just in case

I’ll look into the monitors for sure

u/TarmacFFS · 2 pointsr/sysadmin

> I don't know why you wouldn't just buy a cheap used system which would be way faster than this dinosaur.

I don't understand this. When I look up these processors on CPU benchmark I'm seeing a single CPU score of about half of my Desktop's Ryzen 2700X, and that was not a cheap system to build.

The cost of a decent 240GB SSD is like $32, so for $100 I could replace all the Raid 5 drives and then have a server that will do more than I need it to while keeping this out of a landfill.

I don't see why it's worth throwing away. I got it for free so for $100 total I have a 16 core machine with 48GB of ECC RAM.

Am I missing something?

---

Edit: I wanted to add a reply I made to someone else regarding the power consumption:

> I plugged it into a Kill-a-Watt and it pulls 300W max at idle, and 400W at 100% utilization. This is both PSUs and the display that is never on. I live in Oregon where power is $.11/kwh.

> That's 2,600 kWh/year at idle and 3,500 kWh/year at full tilt. Let's pretend it never turns off and I use 100% CPU 8 hours a day, which is wildly overestimating.

> I'm looking at spending max $311 a year, or a measly $26 a month.

> You tell me what instance I can get for $26 a month on Azure that will do anything let alone let me stream 1-3 Plex streams, act as a backup server, and run multiple minecraft servers.

> Am I missing something here?

I feel like I'm missing something here. Maybe I'm wildly overestimating the power of these CPUs, but I'm expecting at least a 2x performance increase over the single FX-6300. Maybe I'm missing a decimal point in my power consumption calculations.

I'm confused as to why people suggest I toss it though.

u/SilvaDragon · 2 pointsr/FORTnITE

That hard drive isn't an SSD, is it? I'm guessing the game is loading resources when you start a mission, and that spinner just can't keep up. Grab a cheap SSD and re-install the game on that. It will change your world.

240Gb Kingston SSD for $25

u/iulioh · 1 pointr/italy

Mia madre ha bisogno di un nuovo computer e visto che tutto quello che fa è facebook e youtube ho pensato a questo:https://www.eprice.it/d-11862618

Lo schermo è FHD quindi quantomeno qualunque cosa voglia vedersi la vedrà bene, la velocità non è un problema ma la memoria potrebbe quindi ho pensato di abbinarlo a questo: https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B01N5IB20Q/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


Avete qualche consiglio su qualcos altro per far in modo che non diventi oscenamente lento dopo un po di utilizzo?

Ovviamente gli metterò teamviewer cosi posso risolvere qualche casino ma visto quello con cui ho a che fare preferirei prevenire piuttosto che curare...

u/Andreas0Cool · 1 pointr/buildmeapc

Because I want to keep the budget as low as possible will these work together?

I know the CPU is kinda weak but still. If I went any higher it would probably need a BIOS update but I don't have any other CPUs. So should I buy these? No higher price tag. If you want recommend me other pieces at the same price, that are better. All will be purchased from Amazon.de


u/coldweb · 1 pointr/buildapc

1
2

This should be a good start.

u/Blu7jay · 1 pointr/buildapc

Its a

NZXT H500 ATX Computer Case, CA-H500B-BL, Black/Blue


MSI X470GPLUS Performance Gaming AMD X470 Ryzen 2 AM4 DDR4 Onboard Graphics CFX ATX Motherboard

EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC Gaming, 8GB GDDR6, Dual HDB Fans & RGB LED Graphics Card 08G-P4-2172-KR

Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5” Solid State Drive SA400S37/240G - Increase Performance



AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Processor with Wraith Prism LED Cooler - YD270XBGAFBOX




EVGA Supernova 650 G3, 80 Plus Gold 650W, Fully Modular, Eco Mode with New HDB Fan, 7 Year Warranty, Includes Power ON Self Tester, Compact 150mm Size, Power Supply 220-G3-0650-Y1




G.SKILL 16GB (2 x 8GB) Ripjaws V Series DDR4 PC4-25600 3200MHz Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C16D-16GVKB




Seagate BarraCuda Internal Hard Drive 2TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5-Inch (ST2000DM006)

u/NotGodlike · 1 pointr/hardwareswap

Not bad but for just 3 bucks more and with a lot less reviews about the drive failing is the Kingston 240 gb ssd

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N5IB20Q/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

u/Pyronomy · 1 pointr/buildapcsales

You could get a Kingston 240gb for $2 cheaper on Amazon if you're uneasy about this brand.

u/b4da__ · 1 pointr/buildapc

1

2

3

Will putting this SSD and GPU into that computer be a problem? Is it inefficient?

u/FishyFixh · 1 pointr/gamingsuggestions

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00165RLL4/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A18WXU4I7YR6UA

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071GD77V6/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=AEHA1AAWZIC3L

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008LTJJM2/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A26PVB3960EU85

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N5IB20Q/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_4?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017E0LKDE/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_5?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M9ACTPY/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_6?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M360WG6/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_7?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00RORBQNW/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_9?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Ok, here it all is, can you tell me if they are compatible, and even if you cant do you feel like i should exchange some of the stuff for cheaper parts, i mainly want to play: ARK, Rust, Overwatch, SkyrimSE, Borderlands 2, Shadow of War, Nier Automata, PUBG, CSGO and GTAV, If you feel like the build is too much for these games what do you think i should change? (I dont mind having graphics on low, i'm not a good graphics type of guy, so if you feel like i should have something else that wouldnt let me run on HIGH settings i dont mind (: )

I re-responded because you couldnt see what i had on my cart XD

u/ooi_ · 1 pointr/buildapc

Can't say I have either, although looking at reviews online it seems to be a fairly solid choice. Reckon it would be worth going up an extra £5 or so and going for this kingston SSD instead?

u/Psykout · 1 pointr/buildapc

I agree with anonymooise, SSD isn't somewhere to go for the cheapest option because if something goes wrong you lose all your data and then have no support options. This Kingston SSD should fit your needs and is only a few quid more. https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N5IB20Q/?tag=pcp0f-21. Other than that I love it. A great budget build.

u/BillMRF · 1 pointr/buildapc

here's the kingston ssd, i didnt have any specific 120gb ssd in mind it's just that the kingston ssd is slower than most i looked at

P.S. Forgot to mention i also have a 1tb hdd

u/freakingwilly · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

What's your price range? For $90ish, you could get a 240GB SSD and a 2TB HDD.

240GB Kingston SATA SSD - $30 on Amazon
2TB Seagate HDD - $60 on Amazon

The 1TB Seagate is $10 cheaper, so if you went with that, it would be $80 instead... roughly the cost of the 1TB Seagate FireCuda on Amazon.

u/madbr3991 · 1 pointr/computer_help

It's trying to boot from a network. This means that the hard drive is either dead or the windows install on the hard drive is dead. This could be a good time to replace that drive with an ssd. You can get a 240gb ssd on amazon for $30

Kingston 240GB A400 SSD 2.5'' SATA 7MM 2.5-Inch SA400S37/240G https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_fUORCbB3BH5S6

u/penagwin · 1 pointr/homelab

What is this for? Learning, displays/kiosk, Multiple Workstations/Gaming (linustechtips style), etc?

I'm going to assume that you aren't pegging the CPU's and that each VM will only be moderately used for my recommendations here (most common for people starting out into the homelab/server space)

With any VM system, the more ram the better. Some people here will tell you 64GB minimum, honestly depending on what you're doing 4GB might be plenty. If you want a middle of the road option, then 16GB to 32GB would be decent.

Most any CPU supports virtualization. How good of a CPU you need really depends on the workload. If you aren't pegging cores with each vm then any recent quad core CPU is plenty.

You VM's need to be on SSD's. No if's and or buts. Just get something cheap like this for 30$. If you need more space then you can add a HDD for extra space, but honestly you likely won't need it.

-----

On the GPU/USB side, is each monitor expected to be interacted with? Is there a separate keyboard/mouse for each one? How much latency are you okay with?

If you're okay with latency then a single GPU should be fine, just find a cheap one with enough ports that you need.
Otherwise you're looking at GPU passthrough, which requires a GPU for each system. Used RX 480/580's should work and be cheap.

If you want a seperate keyboard/mouse then you'll want USB PCIE cards so you can do passthrough with those.

Generally, this isn't worth doing. It's usually easier, faster, and/or cheaper to have a seperate system for each monitor if it's for intensive loads.


------

All of this said, any random old laptop can handle VM's, it really depends on what you want to do.

u/Zagerer · 1 pointr/buildapc

Hello! Currently, I have an ASUS X556UV-XX280T which has some years of use on it. I added a 240GB SSD but somehow it died. I have never had an SSD before but I don't think they last less than 90 days, so now that I want to buy another one, I'm debating whether I should buy one of the same (or ask for warranty to Kingston), or if either this one or this other would both fit and last longer. Could you help me pick one? I intended to get one for some games and to accelerate my PC (I found out the current HDD is really slow, tested everything) but now I intend to have it as main for everything as well as later migrate to a PC and if it somehow is able to work for a PC too, then that would be awesome though not needed.

u/political_bot · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

You might be going overboard in a few areas and a not far enough in others.

Things I think you need to improve:

  • Get an SSD in there. Even a small one just to keep the operating system on. Seriously they're cheap and will make the computer feel 5x faster https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=ssd&qid=1574471003&sr=8-4 . And if you're really willing to shell out get a big one to help reduce loading times in games https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-SSD-PLUS-Internal-SDSSDA-1T00-G26/dp/B07D998212/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=ssd&qid=1574471061&sr=8-5 .

    That's it really, that computer looks plenty good, and some things I think you could cut back on:

  • The CPU cooler. If you really want the computer quiet then the Dark Rock is a good option. But if not a CPU cooler that's half the price should do the job just fine.

  • Are you planning on overclocking? If not that motherboard is a little excessive.

  • Same question with the processor. The base 9600 isn't bad by any means, and if you aren't planning to overclock it might also be a good choice. It also comes with a cooler included IIRC. Some other people are recommending Ryzen as well which is a solid choice. But you need different motherboards for AMD processors.

    I see some others on here recommending a higher wattage PSU. I disagree, you don't have a huge power draw 500 W should be fine. Just make sure you get one with a good reputation. Bad PSU's can burst into flames and fry your computer.
u/zacharylow · 1 pointr/PUBATTLEGROUNDS

Kingston A400 SSD 240GB SATA 3 2.5" Solid State Drive SA400S37/240G - Increase Performance https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apip_HbN2gc94cDTJk

u/PatrykEIDiablo · 1 pointr/playrust

SSD's are not that expensive you can get 125GB or 250GB one which are not too expenisve and you load the game in 3-4 mins

Heres a Kingston SSD for $21.99 (120GB)

https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q?th=1&psc=1

You can get cheaper ones easily, I use that SSD but 250GB for $31.99 and have Windows running on it and several games like Rust or Battlefield 4

u/Justin_milo · 1 pointr/mac

Kingston 240GB A400 SATA 3 2.5" Internal SSD SA400S37/240G - HDD Replacement for Increase Performance https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_xs2ODbE1Y5TCB

u/gazaldinho · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

I got the Kingston SA400S37/240G SSD A400 240... https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N5IB20Q?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

Then a cheapish 2.5" SATA USB 3.0 enclosure for it.

I've heard the Samsung drives are great though.

u/ArtIsWeird · 1 pointr/buildmeapc

Thanks so much for your input, it's very appreciated. One question though, why not go with a Kingston SSD like this? Seems better and cheaper (at least where I'm located).

And the case's included fans + the stock CPU cooler will be sufficient? And quiet?

Thanks again!

EDIT: Also, this build ends up being at least $1100 here in Europe :/

u/ryguy867 · 1 pointr/buildapc

8gb of ram should be fine, but If you might decide to play some other games as well I would get 16gb, but definitely get at least ddr4-3000 ram. I’d get a 240gb ssd like this one just to be on the safe side. Idk much about wow but if it’s a 15 yr old game like you said the 570 should be fine for 1080p 144fps. The 2200g should be ok if you want to just play wow, but it doesn’t have hyper threading and has only 4 cores. If you can spare the money, get a 2400g (it has hyper threading)

u/l1nd0gg · 1 pointr/techsupport

Yeah the drive is dead, best you can do is get a new one for about £26 off Amazon for a 240GB...

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_qSz7CbPDY51B7

u/WhateverTechBits · 1 pointr/hackintosh

Speaking of said ssds, if you look up on amazon there is this ssd going for 30 bucks
This one

u/mattfreyer45 · 1 pointr/computers

Yeah SSDs have come down in price by a lot . It does leave a little to desire in the write department but as an OS drive where it's going to be mostly reading data. Here's the link if you're interested. https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=mp_s_a_1_6?keywords=ssd&qid=1556762476&s=gateway&sr=8-6

u/superbread · 1 pointr/hardwareswap

Sorry! There's also this one, but it seems to be pretty avg to me. Also, dang. When I originally sent him the PM it was still available. Sorry about that.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=cm_sw_r_wa_apa_i_FC12CbY8PQBNQ

u/CoreFour1996 · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

>I have also been told that it would be easier to buy a prebuilt and then slap a graphics card into it, is that something I should do? What computer should I use to do it?

Yes, a used PC and a cheap GPU would be the best thing for your price range.

The best thing I can find is this Dell Optiplex for $100. According to this, the best GPU you can fit in the Optiplex 745 is a Zotac 1050ti mini which goes for 170 and should be able to give you 100 fps at 1080p on every game you listed.

You should upgrade to this SSD and potentially upgrade the PSU.

u/Laziest_gamer · 1 pointr/IndianGaming

Limit thing is kinda problem as I do loads of downloading,copying,moving,etc.

​

Copying manually do seems faster as creating image will take time and can't be updated.

​

amazon ssd wd --- What about this one? and this -- amazon choice kingston

also why should I pick this despite 2k difference -- amazon samsung

​

u/GodzillaKun11 · 1 pointr/buildapc

Not really, I'd recommend going this route instead.

Kingston 240GB SSD and Seagate 2TB for around the same price but 1TB more storage.

u/fuzzheadtf · 1 pointr/joinsquad

Glad it solved your issue, hoping in the future we will have a more effective way for EAC to sort thru all the pak files for slower HDDs - its a problem of having an ever increasing file size for Squad install, and the need for anti cheat to verify files on bootup that causes the slower processing time. So A12 we did alot of optimisations but the sheer amount and size has ran us into this problem.

Alternatively if you have extra cash and were looking to do a hardware upgrade anyway, SSD's are an excellent performance boost to not just windows booting but all apps and games in general, the perf benefits are plenty and thankfully they are now quite affordable.

$30 USD well spent.

https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_3?crid=2IQHJZ9AH7UNE&keywords=ssd%2B240gb&qid=1550952004&s=gateway&sprefix=ssd%2B240%2Caps%2C195&sr=8-3&th=1

u/Ethoxi · 1 pointr/HardwareSwapUK

Don't think you'll get £45 when you can get this for £40 off amazon.

u/Qester · 1 pointr/bapccanada

I bought the RAM, and Motherboard you recommended, as well as the power supply. Would this SSD also work within the build (looking to get a bit more ssd storage but did not make that clear in my initial post) https://www.amazon.ca/Kingston-Digital-240GB-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=256gb+ssd&qid=1564109561&s=gateway&sr=8-3

u/ikifar · 1 pointr/techsupport

I would highly recommend switching to an ssd it made such a huge difference for me! look at my task manager I used to get around 40% disk usage but after switching to an SSD:

https://imgur.com/EAzt4p6

If you do not need much space you can get a SSD cheap:

https://www.amazon.ca/Kingston-Digital-240GB-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=ssd&qid=1563980710&s=gateway&sr=8-4

u/MTOKA · 1 pointr/playrust

https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q?th=1&utm_source=share&utm_medium=ios_app&utm_name=ios_share_flow_optimization&utm_term=enabled

Get another stick of DDR4 ram dude. Preferably with matching clock speed and bandwidth as the one you have currently. Also, your CPU is a little dated, you’ll most likely need a new mobo with a more current chipset to support current gen CPU.

u/ToastyPancake1 · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

I would recommend this one as the games you suggested don’t take up much storage so put a few games and apps so it will load up quicker.

u/TheLastSnipper · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

|Component|Title|Price|
|:-|:-|:-|
|CPU|Ryzen 5 2600|$132 (Amazon US)|
|GPU|XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS XXX 8G|$179 (Amazon US)|
|RAM|(2x8GB) Team Vulcan 3000|$74 (Amazon US)|
|Motherboard|Gigabyte B450M DS3H|$70 (Amazon US)|
|Storage|Kingston A400 SSD 240GB|$31 (Amazon US)|
|Storage 2|Empty Storage|$0 (Amazon US)|
|Power Supply|Corsair CX550M|$69 (Amazon US)|
|Case|Fractal Design Focus G|$51 (Amazon US)|
|Monitor|Acer XFA240|$179 (Amazon US)|

Generated by BuildCores on August 18, 2019 12:49 AM

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/RXTrxr/redragon-k552-r-kumara-wired-gaming-keyboard-k552-r-ca

https://pcpartpicker.com/product/TdDzK8/redragon-mouse-m601



For all of you experienced builders out there: don’t worry! I’m using a new app called BuildCores that still doesn’t have some core features so I have to add links for keyboard and mouse.

For OP: sorry that I went a bit over budget! It’s worth it though.

u/socokid · 1 pointr/buildapc

Depending on what you are doing with the machine, that difference in RAM speed is virtually meaningless. Suggesting it means you're "screwed" is absolutely ridiculous.

That Kingston SSD is your average, cheap SSD with a 3 year warranty, so you're fine there as well.

I wouldn't listen to those that want you to spend more money that you do not have for little reason. You have a nice machine there, and have fun!!!

u/andre_lac · 1 pointr/techsupport

That happened to me in 2017 because of poor hard disk drive management on Windows 10 side. The definitive fix is getting a SSD (It can even be a cheap one to have just the system installed) I found a great deal for you: https://www.amazon.com/Kingston-240GB-Solid-SA400S37-240G/dp/B01N5IB20Q/ref=sr_1_2_sspa?keywords=ssd&qid=1563120843&s=gateway&sr=8-2-spons&psc=1

u/thinkscotty · 1 pointr/buildapc

Looks wonderful. You'll get way more than 30fps in most games. My suggestion, though is that you ABSOLUTELY need to add an SSD. I don't consider it optional these days. Install windows and your most used apps on the SSD and use the Seagate HDD for storage. It will make the computers much, much snappier and more responsive than any other upgrade you could do. I'd go so far as to say you'd be better off with a cheaper processor if it means you can afford an SSD. You'll get double or triple the speed for application opening, boot, and many other things as well. Once you go SSD, you don't go back.

Just a cheap one, even a small ~120GB SSD will get the job done. Here's a 240GB one that's pretty basic but will absolutely be enough, for just $75. Or this one which is the same size and has better performance and reputation for $88.

Hope this helps!

u/bapcs-3c-checker · 0 pointsr/buildapcsales

Type|Amazon|3rd Party New
:---|:---|:---
Lowest|$46.31 on Sep 04, 2018|$43.84 on Aug 28, 2018
Highest|$122.00 on Apr 26, 2017|$138.00 on Feb 24, 2017

3C link

*****
I am a bot; please send comments/questions to github issues

github

u/theotherdanlynch · 0 pointsr/buildapc

> advanced 3D rendering in solidworks

Not going to happen unless you don't mind waiting for hours/days. That a Core i5 4570. It's less powerful than a Ryzen 3 2200G.

You're also going to need to purchase a copy of Windows.

This computer will be slow no matter what you do to it, so buy the cheapest 250GB SSD you can find. Something like this.

u/Brotat0o · 0 pointsr/DestinyTheGame

So, would this SSD be a good choice?

u/shroudedwolf51 · 0 pointsr/techsupport

Considering how you can buy a 240GB SSD for only $30, $35, or $35, no it isn't. In fact, I know I've seen them go even cheaper, but that would require more than about a minute's worth of effort to search.

And, even then, you can just delete the data that's taking up the space.

Edit: And, those prices scale down pretty well as you increase capacity. My 1TB SSD with far more reliable speeds and nearly double the warranty was $115. And, prices have really come down, too. My previous SSD, I paid 2.5x for it and it had 1/4th the capacity. Sure, it's not quite the same GB per dollar ratio as my $205 8TB spinning rust drive, but SSDs are certainly affordable. Even in budget builds.