32583
#2 in Internal solid state drives
Use arrows to jump to the previous/next product

Reddit reviews on Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM)

Sentiment score: 80
Reddit mentions: 225

We found 225 Reddit mentions of Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM). Here are the top ones.

Innovative V-Nand Technology: Powered by Samsung V-NAND Technology, the 860 EVO SSD offers optimized performance for everyday computing as well as rendering large-sized 4K videos and 3D data used by the latest applicationsEnhanced read write speeds: Sequential read and write performance levels of up to 550MB/s and 520MB/s, respectivelySecure encryption: Protect data by selecting security options, including AES 256-bit hardware-based encryption compliant with TCG Opal and IEEE 1670Warranty and compatibility: 5-year limited warranty; Windows 8/Windows 7/Windows Server 2003 (32 bit and 64 bit), Vista (SP1 and above), XP (SP2 and above), MAC OSX and LinuxIncluded contents: 2.5 inches (7 millimeter) SATA 3 (6 Gb/s) SSD & user manual (All other cables, screws, brackets not included); Reliability (MTBF): 1.5 Million Hours Reliability (MTBF)

Found 225 comments on Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM):

u/ProffGeek · 91 pointsr/pcmasterrace

I just did a quick search and a 500GB Samsung SSD is only $80 right now.

I copied someone else's comment

u/_GoToGulag_ · 43 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

$130 - Sennheiser HD 599 SE Special Edition, Black

$130 - Sennheiser HD 4.50 Special Edition, Bluetooth Wireless Headphone with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

​

$541 - HKC 34'' (3440x1440p) 21:9 Ultrawide 100hz Curved Freesync VA Panel 8ms GTG Rebranded Viotek GN34C, I think it's a Samsung CF791 Panel

$870 - Samsung LC34J791WTNXZA 34" 3440x1440 100Hz QLED 21:9 VA Freesync Thunderbolt 3

$115 - ViewSonic VX2257-MHD 22 Inch 75Hz 2ms 1080p TN

$650 - Samsung 32" QLED 1440p 144Hz HDR 600 WQHD Curved Gaming Monitor Freesync 2 VA

$315 - LG 27GL650F-B 27" 144hz IPS HDR 10 Freesync

$165 - AOPEN 24HC1QR Pbidpx 23.6" 1080p 144hz 1800R Curved FreeSync 4ms VA

$320 - AOPEN 32HC1QUR Pbidpx 31.5" (2560x1440) 144Hz 1800R Curved VA 4ms Freesync Ships within 1-3 months

$260 - ViewSonic VX3276-2K-MHD 32 Inch 1440p IPS Frameless

​

$270 - AMD Ryzen 7 2700X

$765 - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X

​

$200 - Toshiba X300 8TB Hard Drive 7200 RPM 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5 Inch

$120 - Toshiba NAS N300 4TB NAS 3.5-Inch Internal Hard Drive- SATA 6 Gb/s 7200 RPM 128MB

$315 - Toshiba NAS N300 10TB NAS 3.5-Inch Internal Hard Drive- SATA 6 Gb/s 7200 RPM 256MB

$80 - Seagate FireCuda 2TB SSHD 2.5 Inch SATA

$57/96/186 - XPG GAMMIX 256/512GB/1TB S11 Pro 3D NAND PCIe NVMe Gen3x4 M.2 2280 SSD

$106 - Crucial P1 1TB 3D NAND NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD

$107 - Crucial BX500 960GB 3D NAND SATA 2.5-Inch Internal SSD

$242 - Crucial MX500 2TB 3D NAND SATA 2.5 Inch SSD

$104 - Toshiba Canvio Advance 4TB Portable External Hard Drive USB 3.0, White

$120 - WD Elements 6TB USB 3.0 External HDD Color Black WDBWLG0060HBK-NESN

$95 - Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5" SATA III SSD

​

$81 - Ballistix Sport LT 16GB Kit (2x8GB) DDR4 3000 MT/s (PC4-24000) CL15 SR Gray

$137 - Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR4 3600 MT/s (PC4-28800) CL16 SR Ships within 1-2 months

$73 - Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 3000 CL16 Black Non-prime, ships within 1-3 months

​

Other Components

$110 - DEEPCOOL Castle 240 RGB Liquid CPU Cooler Non-prime

$170 - Corsair H115i 280mm RGB Platinum AIO Liquid CPU Cooler

$35 - Deepcool RF120 3-Pack 120mm RGB PWM Fans with Fan Hub and Extension Non-prime

$805 - ZOTAC Gaming GeForce RTX 2080 Twin Fan 8GB

$198 - Gigabyte Z390 AORUS PRO ATX Motherboard

$120 - Corsair RM750x 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular ATX PSU CP-9020179-NA

$170 - Corsair HX850i High Performance 80+ Platinum Fully Modular ATX PSU

$60 - Corsair Fan Controller Commander Pro CL-9011110-WW

​

$33 - Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming Mouse

$40 - Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired Gaming Mouse

$50 - Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum RGB Tunable Gaming Mouse

$50 - Razer DeathAdder Elite: True 16,000 5G Optical Sensor

$64 - SteelSeries Rival 600 Gaming Mouse, 12,000 CPI TrueMove3+ Dual Optical Sensor

$55 - Logitech MX Master 2S Wireless Mouse, Graphite Ships within 1-2 months

$22 - NETGEAR 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet Unmanaged Switch

$25 - HyperX Double Shot Black & White Pudding PBT Keycaps - 104 Mechanical Keycap Set for Cherry MX

$30 - Corsair mm350 Anti-Fray Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extended XL

$10.50 - SteelSeries QcK Gaming Surface - Medium Cloth

$23 - SteelSeries QcK Gaming Surface - Medium Hard

$135 - Razer Huntsman: Opto-Mechanical Switch

$55 - Logitech C920 Webcam HD Pro (960-000764)

​

$10.91 - AmazonBasics AAA High-Capacity Rechargeable Batteries (8-Pack) Pre-charged 850mAh

$12.48 - AmazonBasics AAA Rechargeable Batteries (12-Pack) 800mAh

$18.89 - AmazonBasics AA High-Capacity Rechargeable Batteries (8-Pack) Pre-charged 2400mAh

$1.49 - Oreos and other snacks :)

u/ssscarecrow · 20 pointsr/buildapcsales

At this price I’d just go with 860 EVO for 6 more dollars.
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_v1MTBb16M9CQT

u/NewYearNewAccount_ · 16 pointsr/buildapcsales

NVMe is MUCH faster than Sata SSD. Is that what you're asking?

M.2 is the connection but there are two types of drives that use this port.

One is SATA ssd (6gbs) which is the same speed as a typical 2.5 sata ssd.

But the NVMe (32gbs) is many times faster than that. (It uses PCI bandwidth instead of sata which is part of the reason its so fast.)

Its noticeably faster if you're doing content creation like editing and such. And while it is slightly noticeable in game load times and day-to-day PC use, most people don't feel the extra $$ is worth the upgrade to NVMe. (I am not one of those people lol. I like speeeeeed)

u/Redd1tTr011 · 15 pointsr/hardwareswap

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fh60AbJWDSR66

$129 warehouse deal...which is usually new/return.

You have to do a lot better than 125 for used ones

u/meatwad75892 · 12 pointsr/mac

Literally any 2.5" SATA drive would work-- HDD, SSD, or SSHD of any brand.


Unless you actually need that 1TB of space at that cheap of a price, definitely get an SSD instead. 500GB for <$90 is a steal for the performance difference.


https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1539620546&sr=1-3&keywords=500gb+ssd


Also, while you're in there... I'd suggest taking the below preventative measure for your SATA cable while you're at it. The 2009-2012 models are bad about cables failing from the bends and/or the ribbon shorting out against the chassis, and replacing drives/moving this cable seems to make it way more temperamental no matter how careful you are.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Amg5w0rlwDo

u/Crazykirsch · 10 pointsr/buildapcsales

OK just to be certain, this is the same SSD as featured here correct?

Is the HOLIDAY18 a one-time use promo?

u/schoolpaddled · 10 pointsr/ChoosingBeggars

I didn't know you could do that!

Send it to me, please!

Oh wait, it's not mine!

PS: looks like you may need to replace SSD cable when you upgrade:

https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Pro+13-Inch+Unibody+Mid+2012+Hard+Drive+Cable+Replacement/10379

Recommend the Crucial or a Samsung 2.5:

https://www.macbookproslow.com/best-solid-state-drive-upgrade/

You don't need the Samsung pro.

This is very cheap compared to what it cost last year:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=twister_B079P94LLX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

u/Mindless_Art · 7 pointsr/mac

Well, first off: OS X 10.11 El Capitan isn't the newest macOS version for your MacBook Pro. Your MacBook pro actually supports macOS 10.13 High Sierra. High Sierra can still be downloaded from the Mac App Store, it is just hidden. Here is the link to it (click this link in Safari only, not in Chrome or Firefox!):

u/ihavenolifeee · 7 pointsr/hardwareswap

This is kind of high for used prices, esp without original packaging. The 860s are about 83 usd on amazon.
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

They often go on sale for less too, ssd prices have been going down lately. EX https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapcsales/comments/9s9s5b/ssd_samsung_500gb_860_evo_6524_with_code_appsave25 for 65 USD new with packaging/ebay buyer protection.

u/Snakeobich · 7 pointsr/DestinyTheGame

I went with this Samsung 860 EVO 500gb SSD.

And this Orico adapter.

It works phenomenally. Cut all of my load times in half, and intra-instance load times are nonexistent.

Highly recommend it.

u/cargous · 7 pointsr/ableton

I have the same 13” mid 2012 MBP and am running 16gb of RAM w/ a 1TB SSD. I also have the same version of Ableton as you. The official specs from Apple list 8gb RAM as the max but it can for sure support 16gb. Based on the specs you provided I’d guess you have the i5 version which comes stock with 4gb of RAM and the 500gb HDD. Your model will support 16gb and you’ll see a significant boost in performance, with Ableton and the computer in general, if you add 16gb and an SSD. If you leave the standard 500gb HDD, I'd assume you'd only see a moderate boost in performance since that's really the big driver of slow performance. I can't speak to the performance of Omnisphere as I don't have a working copy but I do know it made a significant boost for pretty much everything in Ableton and otherwise.

​

My recommendation would be to add 16gb of RAM plus an SSD. They are both relatively straight forward processes as well (links below), just need the right tools and to take your time. Watch YouTube tutorials. Attaching links to the items I have in mine. I'd recommend getting the Crucial RAM and Samsung SSD (which is what I have and has a higher performance rating), but the Crucial SSD will be adequate as well.

​

Let me know if you have other questions on it.

​

INSTRUCTIONS

HDD Swap - https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Pro+13-Inch+Unibody+Mid+2012+Hard+Drive+Replacement/10378

RAM Swap - https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Pro+13-Inch+Unibody+Mid+2012+RAM+Replacement/10374

​

PRODUCTS

Crucial SSD - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0784SLQM6/

Samsung SSD - https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

RAM - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008LTBJFW/

Tool Kit - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01IVKPTP6/

u/[deleted] · 6 pointsr/Maplestory

SSDs have come down in price a lot in the past few years.

Samsung SSDs, like the 860 EVO, are one of the most popular due to its reliability. Though 250GB will probably be fine, the 500GB one costs only $3 USD more for some reason, so get the 500GB.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=twister_B07P5VF5TL?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Man, I remember spending $90 for a 250GB 850 EVO back in 2015...maybe I should just get a 1TB SSD so I can just ditch my HDD altogether.

u/Ouryus · 6 pointsr/Guildwars2

Samsung evo 860 is the latest version and well worth the money.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1543011578&sr=8-2&keywords=samsung+evo

I got a 850 a couple years ago and it's still a lot better then a HDD. I keep my operating system, gw2, and one other game on it. Get a 1-2TB western digital hard drive for other games/file storage.

Also on copying gw2, I did it but had to repair the game for it to work again (only took five minutes).

u/Purity999 · 5 pointsr/DestinyTheGame

This is what I picked up from Amazon, works amazing! Just plug it in, transfer D2 over, bye bye loading times!

Samsung 860 Evo 500GB 2.5... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

ORICO 2.5 USB 3 External Hard... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LY97QE8?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf


My brother did the same thing expect he got this SSD.

Silicon Power 512GB SSD 3D NAND A55 SLC Cache Performance Boost SATA III 2.5" 7mm (0.28") Internal Solid State Drive (SP512GBSS3A55S25) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07997QV4Z/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_aMvYBbPRF3NPX

u/JasonHenley · 5 pointsr/computerhelp

Your motherboard does not have an M.2 slot on it.

You can buy a PCI-E x4 M.2 adapter that fits the 500GB Samsung EVO 970 plus (like this one https://www.amazon.com/EZDIY-FAB-Express-Adapter-Support-22110/dp/B01GCXCR7W/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=pci-e+m.2+adapter&qid=1562715160&s=gateway&sr=8-4), but it requires a PCI-E x4 slot.

Your motherboard has four PCI-E x1 slots (won't fit) and two PCI-E x16 slots (it will fit in this slot but only if you have one free -- i.e. you don't have two video cards).

If you're looking for a cheaper alternative, consider getting a regular old boring SATA III SSD. True, they aren't as fast as NVMe SSDs, but this is $30 cheaper (https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=500GB+samsung+evo+SSD&qid=1562715888&s=gateway&sr=8-3) and for gaming you actually won't notice much of a difference compared to the NVMe drive you spec'ed. NVMe gives you bigger performance boosts when reading/writing large blocks of sequential data, so for example video editing. Source: https://www.online-tech-tips.com/computer-tips/sata-3-vs-m-2-vs-nvme-overview-and-comparison/

u/AesirRising · 4 pointsr/buildapcsales

Have you checked Amazon? They usually have these SSDs along the same price tag. I’ve seen them 85-100$ USD. There’s a Western Digital version of that SSD for about 88$ USD. There’s also a Crucial version of that SSD for about 88$ USD on Amazon. Not sure if it’s more expensive in AUS on Amazon. Hope I helped.

Edit: I’ll link you the items I’m talking about

This is the WD model
WD Blue 3D NAND 500GB PC SSD - SATA III 6 Gb/s 2.5"/7mm Solid State Drive - WDS500G2B0A https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073SBZ8YH/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_I9xPBb4VDW1BD

I personally own the WD one and it’s been pretty good so far.

Crucial MX500 500GB 3D NAND SATA 2.5 Inch Internal SSD - CT500MX500SSD1(Z) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0784SLQM6/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_N.xPBb0HSAM8T

My friend owns the Crucial model and has told me good things about it.

Here is the Samsung model you’re looking for
Samsung 860 Evo 500GB 2.5 inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_AbyPBbF2HH21P

The WD and Crucial models read and write faster than the Samsung model according to the info on Amazon. And they’re cheaper. WD also has a M.2 2280 version of the SSD which is easier to install IMO and it’s the same price.

u/Artesian · 4 pointsr/buildapc

SanDisk as a brand isn't bad, but COULD BE better. See if you can spring for a Samsung drive. It's not like it's C or D tier, but Sandisk isn't A tier that's for sure. The MSI board you've chosen is probably fine; but we've seen some issues with reliability over time - especially with the more budget-focused sub 100 dollar boards.

GPU is a bargain. Great cooling on it. Phanteks is kicking butt in the case market these days. Corsair always amazing -- BUT their TXM line is NOT high quality. It's built by a third party manufacturer last I checked.

See if you can spring for an EVGA G3. Worlds better quality.

u/bgunn925 · 3 pointsr/buildapcsales

Firstly, there's a major difference between being DOA and working for a matter of weeks before failing. The latter is tremendously worse, as anyone without a backup solution has lost all of their data.

Secondly, any hardware manufacturer is capable of some DOA devices. That does not mean Samsung and Adata drives have comparable endurances -- you need to consider the statistics of the distribution, as a whole. We can do a quick analysis with a much larger sample size than your personal experience of owning a single Adata SSD and a single Samsung SSD:

  • Here is the Amazon link for the Samsung EVO 860. It has 33 critical reviews containing the word "fail". Out of 4,372 total reviews, this is 0.75%.

  • Here is the Amazon link for the Adata SU655 -- the same drive that failed for the redditor in the comment I linked. It has 20 critical reviews containing the word "fail". Out of 310 total reviews, this is 6.5% -- about one order of magnitude larger.

    Obviously, this is not a thorough, extensive analysis, and probably does not reflect the actual, absolute failure rates for these devices. But it's probably first-order accurate as a comparison and hopefully you get the point.
u/TheFlashFrame · 3 pointsr/pcmasterrace

This is really the only SSD you should be buying. Don't buy PNY, Sandisk or Kingston, as I've seen them fail myself and with an SSD, once it fails, everything is gone, unlike a mechanical drive.

Its really not that much more expensive, and its far faster and far more reliable, and Samsung has a 5 year warranty on them.

EDIT: I should specify that Samsung is the only SSD brand you should be buying. You can, of course, purchase 970s as well, which are even better.

u/White-t-shirts · 3 pointsr/buildapc

yes, but get 860 evo for slightly cheaper

u/CallMeGifted · 3 pointsr/playblackdesert

On PlayStation you can do an external or internal SSD. Internal is going to be a bit faster because it's not limited by USB, and it also gives an advantage outside of games because the PS4 OS will be on the internal drive so navigating PSN menus etc is faster.

For ease of use and storage space, most people go with an external Samsung T5.

$89 500GB: Samsung T5 Portable SSD - 500GB - USB 3.1 External SSD (MU-PA500B/AM), Blue https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073GZBT36/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_2SVWDbH9TPBBJ

If you want the performance at the cheapest price and you're not worried about storage space, this Sandisk 500GB internal SSD is the best option at $65: SanDisk Ultra 3D NAND 500GB Internal SSD - SATA III 6 Gb/s, 2.5"/7mm, Up to 560 MB/s - SDSSDH3-500G-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072R78B6Q/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_qnVWDbC2C83DW

I have the Sandisk but the Samsung 860 internal is on sale right now at $70: Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_SUVWDbF7JK7ZW

There are 1TB and higher available in all of the above as well.

u/DJRenzor · 3 pointsr/thewallstreet

I am looking for a new SSD as well. Going on r/buildapcsales rn

​

Edit: Shopping done, gonna be picking up this with my various amazon gift cards-https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=twister_B07P5VF5TL?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

u/icyhotonmynuts · 3 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

>this was going for $60 on amazon not too long ago

Oh ya? Show us. I don't see $60 CAD on CamelCamelCamel or Keepa price history for 860 Evo 500GB

The lowest I've seen it sold on been sold on Amazon I see has been for $89.99. Lowest Lightning Deal was $94.99, 2 months ago.

You're thinking of the 860 Evo 250GB that went for $59.99 from August 30th for 2 weeks.

u/MrHornblower · 3 pointsr/blackdesertonline

I waited for a while myself but man it is worth it. Seriously you will be really happy with the purchase.

It's one of those things just make your whole computing experience better. Prices are fairly cheap now I think as well.

$78 - easy choice imo

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

u/clupean · 3 pointsr/buildapc

On Amazon the Samsung 860 Evo is cheaper: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

Mobo: try to buy a B450 motherboard

Do you already have DDR4 RAM?

u/MalfeasantMarmot · 3 pointsr/applehelp

First of all stop using it and shut the computer down. If the drive is on the verge of failing, which it sounds like it is, you don't want to push it over the edge.

Remove the drive from the computer following this guide, put that drive into one of these and connect it to another computer. You can then pull off all of the photos, etc.

While you still have the mac open, put one of these in it. From there just install a fresh copy of Mac OS and you'll be back in action with a computer that will be noticeably faster. It's like night and day performance wise.

u/VA_Network_Nerd · 3 pointsr/ApplyingToCollege

/r/SuggestALaptop is an entire community dedicated to keeping up to date on the latest models and deals on laptops.

I highly encourage you to go ask there.

-----

I am a huge fan of refurbished Lenovo ThinkPad T-series laptops.
These are exceptionally well-made devices renowned for long service lives.

This T430, i4, 8GB, 128GB SSD, 14" @ $219

Might be all you need if all you intend to use is Windows + MS-Office.
You can expand your internal storage by replacing that little 128GB SSD with something like this:

Samsung EVO 2.5" 512GB @ $78

-----

Or, if you really don't want to have to take a screwdriver to a "brand new" laptop, spend a few extra dollars on this:

Refurbished ThinkPad T450, 14", i5, 8GB, 256GB SSD @ $375

Yeah, I know, $375 is getting really close to what you could pay for a brand-new, low-end laptop.
I guaran-damned-tee you that T450 will blow the doors off of any comparable consumer-grade $400 to $600 device you can buy at Best Buy.

Five or six years after you buy it, that T450 will still be ready for more work, while that Acer that looked so nice in the store will be missing keys, with a wonky hinge and a power brick that you have to hold at an angle to charge your laptop.



u/Cdenbaas · 3 pointsr/buildapc

Honestly.... pick up a refurb mass produced computer such as an optiplex or the like and throw an SSD in there. Not sure of availability in india, but that is usually the way to go for cheap builds.

Ninja edit- something like this...

Ninja edit2- ....with this in it

u/RiftBladeMC · 3 pointsr/buildapc

Solid State Drive, it is many times faster than your hdd, (Hard Disk Drive), and it WILL make your computer feel many times faster.

Edit: Your motherboard doesn't have a M.2 slot, so you will have to get a Sata SSD (Such as the WD Blue or the Samsung 860 Evo)

Edit 2: You could get a M.2 to PCIe adapter and a decent NVMe SSD (Such as the Intel 660p), this is by far the best option.

u/Gibber117 · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Probably get the Crucial MX500 for $115.

Make sure you check out the benchmarks before buying so you can expect what you are getting. Most of the ones I’ve seen, shows the MX500 is ranked 2nd only to the Samsung 860 Evo for $145. It’s so close in performance that you won’t even notice a difference, and it’s $30 cheaper.




If you want a faster drive than a regular Sata SSD, then you need a M.2 NVMe SSD. It give you about 3x the speed of a Sata SSD, and it costs about 50%-70% more than a Sata drive. Currently, Samsung and Intel have the fastest NVMe drives on the market, but other companies are releasing faster drives every other month.

Here’s a list of the fastest NVMe drives in PCPartPicker.

u/Turbo757 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Also a ssd could get your comp to run a lot more snappy. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 this is a great deal on a very decent SATA ssd

u/MistaHiggins · 2 pointsr/PleX

Considering the 500GB Samsung SATA SSDs were ~$150 (850 evo) or $170 (860 evo) in January 2018 down to $73 right now, at minimum that's an almost ~50% decrease in just one year.

u/themightymooseshow · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Just figure out what you budget for one would be and go from there. I purchased a "middle of the road" storage wise and was a really decent deal. i also purchased a mounting plate, not required, to assist w installing. here's a link to the one i bought from amazon. prices may vary depending on location of coarse.

​

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

u/eldegal · 2 pointsr/Amd

That ssd is overprice 😢. With 90$ you can get a 860 evo 500gb. I don't know your region but definitely that price of 840 is a big nono

https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=mw_dp_olp?ie=UTF8&condition=all

u/kshucker · 2 pointsr/buildmeapc

A VR build doesn't have to be stupid expensive anymore. Just keep in mind that no matter what you buy is going to replaced with bigger and better parts in a year or two. It's just how pc building works. Doesn't mean what you build will become shitty though. I'm a big fan of setting myself a budget and staying well below it. I prefer to keep my extra money in my pocket, but that's just me. I honestly think a 1080 or 1080TI is overkill unless you want to do some 4k gaming, but then that requires a 4k monitor. Not worth it if you're building a VR rig. Just my opinion.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
CPU | Intel - Core i7-8700K 3.7GHz 6-Core Processor | $339.99 @ Amazon
CPU Cooler | Corsair - H100i v2 70.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler | $107.89 @ OutletPC
Motherboard | MSI - Z370 GAMING PLUS ATX LGA1151 Motherboard | $109.99 @ Amazon
Memory | Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory | $164.99 @ Amazon
Storage | Samsung - 860 Evo 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive | $129.99 @ Amazon
Storage | Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive | $42.89 @ OutletPC
Video Card | MSI - GeForce GTX 1070 Ti 8GB Video Card | $499.99 @ Amazon
Case | Deepcool - DUKASE V2 ATX Mid Tower Case | $34.99 @ SuperBiiz
Power Supply | EVGA - SuperNOVA NEX 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply | $69.99 @ Amazon
Monitor | Asus - VG278Q 27.0" 1920x1080 144Hz Monitor | $294.50 @ Amazon
| Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts |
| Total | $1795.21
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2018-05-21 18:50 EDT-0400 |

u/Snoochey · 2 pointsr/wow
u/RiseFox · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Windows 10 is more optimized for SSD. It will run so much better. This Samsung SSD would be a great upgrade for your PC.

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_YM2UDb022EGNB

u/0nignarkill · 2 pointsr/destiny2

YOU ON HDD STILL???!?!?!! oh god yeah, but also the servers are struggle bussin' so most people can't play it right now so you are not missing much. ALso https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=samsung+500gb+ssd&qid=1569968234&sr=8-1

u/slackinfux · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

This one. $57.99 for a 500GB Samsung 860 Evo will be hard to beat.

u/AlphaLemming · 2 pointsr/Coyotes

As the other guy said, you absolutely should be able to. Obviously you need enough SATA ports on your motherboard but I am sure you have probably at least 4.

A 2TB HDD for file storage + a 500GB SSD is probably what I would shoot for. You can get a 500GB SSD for only $150 these days Link . I strongly advise at least a 500GB, you will be AMAZED at how often you need to delete stuff when you only have 250. The Witcher 3 is about 40gigs, so it alone would be almost 20% of your 250GB SSD. The prices have gone down a LOT in the last two years to the point where 500GB should be the baseline.

u/bill-smith · 2 pointsr/macbookpro

Are you sure the price tag is $500 (if you're in the US)? RAM from OWC is $160. The 8GB RAM kit is less. A Samsung EVO 500GB drive is $150 on Amazon - I believe any SATA III drive will work, and I think I have an earlier model of this one on my 2010 MBP (which takes SATA II, actually). Battery is about $90 from iFixit. That's more like $400 if you're content to DIY.

For the stuff you do, that will be a very noticeable upgrade, especially going up from 4GB of RAM to 8 (I also don't think 16 is necessary for what you said you do).

If you really got that computer from a pawn shop for $250, then you got a very good deal! Putting another $400 or so into it is a perfectly reasonable thing to do. For what you are doing, I bet it will be perfectly usable for at least a couple more years.

u/gregz83 · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Im so not judging your SanDisk SSD (I am).

You can try refreshing Windows but, and please don't take this personally, SanDisk SSD are [email protected]#$%@#$%.

https://pureinfotech.com/refresh-windows-10-clean-installation/

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

u/PriceKnight · 2 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

Price History


  • Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD   ^PureLink
    ReviewMeta: ★★★★★ 4.8/5 from 6156 valid reviews
    CamelCamelCamel - [Info]Keepa - [Info]

    _
    We don't Horse around here.
    ^(Info) ^| ^(Developer) ^| ^(Inquiries) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| **[^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fdgirds%2Fssd_samsung_860_evo_500gb_10515_90_mlc_sata512mb%2Ff3bw5fg%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A
    %0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)**
u/DMarvelous4L · 2 pointsr/macbookpro

I have a Mid 2012 as well and I upgraded the HDD to this. (Don’t think they have 750GB though)..


Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_Pb1PDbCW4T63K

u/cj3636 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

>MSI H110 Pro VH Mobo

No.

Sadly you will need some kind of adapter for the m.2 port.

Just buy a samsung sata SSD drive. (2.5 inch). Plug it in just like a hard drive.

​

an m.2 is even faster. If you want, you can purchase an m.2 to PCIe adapter and the m.2 drive you want. Install the card similarly to a video card.

​

NOTE: Your mobo ONLY supports additional PCIe X1 devices. (Size/bandwidth of expansion slot).

u/hanotak · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Because you're going with a K series CPU you'll probably want to overclock at some point.

You're going to want to get a different cooler- the i7 8700K runs hot, and the hyper 212 evo isn't a very good cooler. It'll barely be sufficient at stock frequencies, and with an overclock it'll certainly not be enough.

​

I'd recommend something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/quiet-BK022-Cooler-6-Pole-Wings135mm/dp/B07BY6F8D9?th=1

​

I'd also add in this ssd:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/?tag=pcpapi-20

​

An SSD improves user experience *dramatically*. You'll want to install windows on it, not the HDD.

u/Dr_Pippin · 2 pointsr/buildapc

SSD prices have dropped drastically, have you looked at the Samsung EVOs? The 860 would be a very good drive for your needs and a great price: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

u/ZacTheGamer100 · 2 pointsr/GamingPCBuildHelp
  1. $500
  2. The games he said were Apex Legends and Sea of Thieves, he will probably play more but those were the main examples

    Also he has the case and power supply

    He also provided the motherboard and SSD

    Samsung 500GB SSD : https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

    MSI Motherboard : https://www.amazon.com/MSI-Performance-Micro-ATX-Motherboard-B450M/dp/B07F7WQDZJ
u/so-p · 2 pointsr/laptops

Considering how cheap SSDs are now, I'd do that first. You'll notice a huuuge difference, even if your old HDD was at its best.

I replaced the HDD in my 9 year old laptop and it takes just 30 seconds to restart and boot back up into Windows 10 now. My PC at work has similar specs to your laptop and gave it the same treatment.

u/xangsun · 2 pointsr/mac

I would recommend Crucial for your RAM and Samsung EVO for your SSD. These are what I used on my 2010 MBP before the logic board started acting up and I had to replace it. The SSD is pretty cheap too at $79.99

RAM: http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/Apple/macbook-pro-%2813-inch%2C-early-2011%29


SSD: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

u/A75G · 2 pointsr/techsupport

install CrystalDiskInfo and check that there are no error on the S.M.A.R.T test.

SSDs are cheap right now u could buy one the diffrence day and night

and for the ram test it with memtest86

Edit: and last thing u can do is to use tronscript this will take long time (overnight is the best time for it) but make the OS bit fast and safe

Edit 2.0: btw the SSD is like this m.2 NVMe or sata is like this

u/Laucy · 2 pointsr/destiny2

I'm not sure what system you're playing on, but I've seen both PS4 and Xbox One users who benefit greatly from a SSD. I haven't gotten the money to afford one yet, but they seem to make a very noticeable difference, typically cutting it down by more than half. This tends to be the next step and/or known solution, which I say because it seems you have already investigated if Internet was the possible culprit. I play D2 on a Xbox One myself, and the loading times definitely feel unbearably long, no matter the activity or destination. 3-5 + minutes. I guess it helps to use that time to grab water or browse my phone during, but they do get annoying, so I understand your frustrations.

I know, it's unfortunate that in order to have any hopes of lessening the duration of these load times, many have resorted to paying out of pocket just to solve this problem, but I'm afraid there's little Bungie can do about it. It's about hardware of the system itself, not so much the game or servers, or even some pesky bug. Destiny's growth and where it is now, means that there's far more the system needs to work on loading than there was before. In fact, I've noticed other users say they've had this problem with other games, as well. Yet, PC players are generally unaffected.

I can't provide much on external vs internal SSD, or if internal affects warranty (which I think I remember that being mentioned before on another thread), but the most common I've seen was by purchasing an external SSD (Amazon; Samsung ones work well or Amazon Basics), and putting Destiny on there. I advise to go for 500+ GB, not below it, and you'll also need an Enclosure.
With every thread I've read about this, loading times went from minutes to now only a few seconds-- every single penny gone into the purchase, absolutely worth it. I'll post a link I saved from users who bought this one and also recommended it, and if it can help give you an idea! 'Hope this is able to be of any assistance.

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_.Qw4BbX96E2J5

(It's internal, but I know there's an external version and there's a bundle that comes with the Enclosure. Either way, again, it may serve as an example to give some sort of idea.)

Edit to add: I've forgotten to bring up that with earlier and upgraded versions of a console, the less that players ran into this problem. But unless you were planning to, say, buy a Xbox One X (which I've seen some say that this was an improvement from the standard X1) or the newest PS4, this can be a far cheaper alternative and something you have more room to experiment with.

u/sevin8nin · 2 pointsr/computers

standard 'laptop' sized hard drive. 2.5" form factor. Since you already did the work to pull it out please please please do NOT put a spinning disk Hard Drive back in there. This is your chance to upgrade to a Solid State Drive (SSD)

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1541455552&sr=1-4&keywords=ssd

​

The cable actually detaches from the drive itself. It looks like you detached the cable from the board. Hopefully that can easily be put back on. There's nothing special to removing the SATA cable from the drive, just pull on that wide black part and it will come out.

u/JagSKX · 2 pointsr/laptops

It will be compatible with any 2.5" SATA SSD. It will not be compatible with 2.5" PCIe NVMe SSDs and it does not have a m.2 port for a "gum stick" SSD.

SSDs have been getting pretty inexpensive lately; before Black Friday sales even started. For example, you can buy the following Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SSD for $83.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1541702348&sr=8-3&keywords=2.5%22+ssd&dpID=31CElO-B3PL&preST=_SX300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

​

Samsung EVO SSDs are generally considered the best brand and series. It also comes with software to clone your hard drive to the SSD. You need to by a USB to SATA interface adaptor to do so though; like the following:

​

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077GT1VCW/ref=sspa_dk_detail_2?psc=1&pd_rd_i=B077GT1VCW&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_p=f0dedbe2-13c8-4136-a746-4398ed93cf0f&pd_rd_wg=ZTq59&pf_rd_r=19H8B94YWC3K57FTVFDF&pf_rd_s=desktop-dp-sims&pf_rd_t=40701&pd_rd_w=7TFLc&pf_rd_i=desktop-dp-sims&pd_rd_r=0765e074-e386-11e8-bb4e-ddb7811c53a7

u/AccurateTemperature · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Looks good. The only thing I'd do differently is maybe get a better cooler like this one or this one. Also, if you can, try to find a Samsung Evo 860 SSD for around the same price. Samsung has made excellent SSDs over the years.

u/PhoenixAlpha204 · 2 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

Don’t feel like finding the link since I’m on my phone but staples, best buy, amazon, memory express, Canada computers all have it. Unless of course you specifically need m.2.

Edit: y’all downvoting because I didn’t link or something? There’s a search bar for each of these stores, come on. https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/?tag=pcp0f-20 Here, happy?

u/NeZnayu · 2 pointsr/xboxone

It’s an all around speed boost for any game and the home screen too. You’d need a drive and case like this:

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_3f2YBb1ZKD6J4

AmazonBasics 2.5-inches SATA Hard Drive Enclosure - USB 3.0 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5RLG2C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_qi2YBbKVBC0R0

u/BaltimoresJandro · 2 pointsr/RingOfElysium

I mean its 2018 guys....SSDs are cheap now. No reason to uninstall this game cause your running out of storage space.

860 EVO with 500gb for $87

> Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_oOjWBbC0GR2N8

Or for a cheaper option...a 240gb Sandisk for $48

> SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB Solid State Drive - SDSSDA-240G-G26 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01F9G43WU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_rPjWBbK69B97X

u/s4g4n · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Powersupply is overkill for your list, save money and get a EVGA 450-550W.

You can just have 1 slot of 8GB of ram instead of 16GB, upgrading later is easy.

Put the extra savings into a 1060 6GB it'll give you that extra boost for 60fps 1080p gaming, the 1050 Ti is good but falls a little shy sometimes in delivering the 60fps you need in AAA games 1080p.

The samsung evo 970 is overkill, you wont really notice its top speed so get a regular 2.5" SATA SSD and get twice the capacity -LINK-

u/BluePotato00 · 2 pointsr/simracing

Sim Racing Hardware:

u/Trey5169 · 2 pointsr/computers

What are you trying to do on this laptop? If the load times kill you, a simple SSD upgrade could be your cup of tea, but this depends on how much storage you need.

The TL;DR here is that a HDD is slow but cheap. You can get a 1 TB HDD for $45 (Note that a 3.5 inch drive is for desktops, and a 2.5 inch drive is for laptops.) But because of the price difference of SSDs, you get about half the storage at twice the price. So if you're storing word documents, and maybe even excel documents, then you can get a small SSD and be done with it. But if you're storing videos or pictures en mass, you most likely can't afford to sacrifice the storage space / price, which means you have to deal with the slower HDD.

Edit: To answer your other question - Buying a used desktop shouldn't be a problem, especially if you're on a very tight budget. But if you can afford it, this seems to be a good computer for the price. You could remove the optical drive (cd / dvd drive) to install a SSD if you want, and have a very small & cheap SSD for boot and programs, and a large SSD for storage. Of course realize that this purchase does not include peripherals, so you'd need to budget for a separate monitor, keyboard, and mouse at minimum. Maybe a PCI-e wifi card or something similar if you need wireless access.

u/vectorvitale · 2 pointsr/Blackops4

If you wanna put games on it, no less than 250GB.

If you can afford it, get an NVMe SSD, they're much faster.

Fantastic SSD for cheap

Spend a little extra, get 3x the performance

u/majoroutage · 2 pointsr/buildapc

You are almost always better off installing your own upgrades than adding them to be pre-installed.

Since you have a dual-channel system, 2 RAM chips are better than 1. Unless you are already planning to add even more in the nearish future.

SSD prices are dropping like a rock, so you're good there too.

https://laptopmedia.com/highlights/inside-thinkpad-t570-disassembly-internal-photos-and-upgrade-options/

After doing a few upgrades to my ASUS laptop, I am jealous of how accessible the components in yours are.


EDIT. 2x8GB DDR4-2400 SODIMMs for $124 + 500GB 960 EVO SSD for $88 = $212.

EDIT 3 removing the part where I got overexcited about the NVMe drive in those photos. Then noticing it's mounted in place of the HDD.

u/KomputerIdiat · 2 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

Which ones are the MCLs? these are explained as confusing marketing since their 3bit MLC is TLC. Are their SATA SSDs just exactly the same as the Crucial, WD, Adata, Kingston, SanDisk, etc.

u/returntovendor · 2 pointsr/photography

While you may benefit from upgrading from 4 GB to 8 GB of RAM, your money will likely be better spent upgrading the hard drive to a Samsung SSD.

I installed one of these on my wife's 2012 MBP and the difference was literally shocking. It felt like a brand new computer in every way.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1519789957&sr=8-2&keywords=samsung+evo+ssd

There are how-to's online and the whole job including disassembly, installation, reassembly, transfer of data, and installation of the OS took probably 2 hours on my own. More than worthwhile.

Also, she has 4 GB of ram and can edit in Photoshop perfectly smoothly. If Apple Photos is MUCH more RAM heavy, that may be the way to go. You can check by opening Activity Monitor and seeing if the RAM memory pressure is going yellow or red, which indicates the memory is being maxed out.

u/My_Police_Box · 2 pointsr/techsupport

For $110 you can get a 25GB SSD such as this. Or if you want to spend a bit more you could go with a 500GB such as this. In the end it depends on how much you have to spend.

u/iWasSancho · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-500GB-Ultra-NAND-SATA/dp/B072R78B6Q/ref=sxin_4_ac_d_pm?keywords=sandisk+ssd&pd_rd_i=B072R78B6Q&pd_rd_r=6e48913a-82f5-47ee-a878-bba6330f0011&pd_rd_w=ouwib&pd_rd_wg=eDL6g&pf_rd_p=64aaff2e-3b89-4fee-a107-2469ecbc5733&pf_rd_r=9ZFFWMG7WH4XJZZRQ87D&qid=1563622854&s=gateway my ssd. Marginally (almost certainly not noticeably) faster speeds, but it's a trusted brand.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=870+evo&qid=1563623512&s=gateway&sr=8-1 Arguably the best SATA SSD you can buy, and is very reasonably priced. Well trusted, better technology than off-brand gives better random seek times etc. Definitely worth having. Maybe 10% faster in general than yours or mine

https://www.amazon.com/XPG-SX8200-Gen3x4-3000MB-ASX8200PNP-1TT-C/dp/B07K1J3C23/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=adata+nvme&qid=1563623699&s=gateway&sr=8-1 The best bang for your buck if you're taking the next step up into the NVME world MAKE SURE YOUR BOARD HAS THE SLOT FOR IT. roughly 7 times the speeds of the first two ssd mentioned. Significantly higher price per gig

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-970-EVO-Plus-MZ-V7S1T0B/dp/B07MFZY2F2/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=970+evo+pro+plus&qid=1563624021&s=gateway&sr=8-1 The flagship. Everybody seems to need one. Marginally better than the previous mention in reality. YOU WILL NOT NOTICE A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE TWO UNLESS YOU ARE SPECIFICALLY TESTING THEM.

u/snoweydude2 · 2 pointsr/destiny2

I've had this one for a few months and it works great. When I first built my PC my 250 GB SSD was roughly the same price as a 500 GB SSD is now

u/flecom · 2 pointsr/iiiiiiitttttttttttt

> you can never tell which one the review or question is actually for

with the reviews under the date it will show the modifiers for the item they purchased... so for example

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

if you look at the reviews for this SSD it will show "Capacity:" and you know what model the review is for

u/YOURMOM37 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

I'm getting this one is it good?

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_DKv2AbF94G342

u/bapcs-3c-checker · 1 pointr/buildapcsales

Type|Amazon|3rd Party New
:---|:---|:---
Lowest|$89.00 on Sep 02, 2018|$100.10 on May 24, 2018
Highest|$169.99 on Jan 23, 2018|$179.99 on Feb 03, 2018

3C link

*****
I am a bot; please send comments/questions to github issues

github

u/Str8Lurk1n · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

From what I can gather this will do the job and slash your load times. You need to load the game onto a SSD hard drive. Whole setup costed me like $107.

Samsung 500 GB Solid State Drive internal hard drive

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The enclosure that houses the SSD and converts it's output to USB and comes with a USB to USB 3.0 cable to plug into your xbox.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00OJ3UJ2S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The enclosure is a few dollars cheaper than the weird SATA cable that allows it to plug directly in. It also protects it and probably helps with keeping dust out.

u/Sharko97 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Would this be a good replacement for the hard drive of the PC in the picture?

u/Mr_Billy · 1 pointr/pathofexile

I got this one for my xps 8910, it made the game events like betrayal ambushs run much smoother and decreased to the zone load times to less then 5 seconds.

​

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

u/HtBeatSnR-PS4 · 1 pointr/buildapc

I went with this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Decent option? Bad? Let me know because I'm still in the return window lol

u/Im_Chick · 1 pointr/buildapc

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

​

This is what I just picked up. Anything I need to know before I install it to keep from ruining my PC?

u/_Aaronator_ · 1 pointr/buildapc

Yeah, it's definitely a nice build. I've built me a new pc half a year ago with almost the same specs.
I would consider a bigger SSD especially new AAA games are huge in terms of storage space and need, imo, a SSD to run smoothly.
And as already mentioned you could really get a smaller case... But if you want to upgrade to normal ATX in time the chosen case is definitely the better choice. (Imo it's also better for cable management, air flow and upgradability).
Remember that you get windows for 10-20 bucks on your friendly key-selling site :)

Edit:(fixed link) pretty cheap 500GB SSD

u/Lighthough · 1 pointr/buildapc

I just bought a 500gb SSD for only 85$, i'd highly suggest getting one for gaming. I'm able to load Ark with 31 mods in just 6 minutes, compared to before it took 25+ minutes. Same with a few other games, everything will load faster, any loading screens/launching game.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

​

Also, i'd grab Monoprice 18-Inch SATA III 6.0 Gbps Cable with Locking Latch and 90-Degree Plug - Blue

​

Should be set to go, trust me its worth the extra speed, and its super cheap.

u/druucifer · 1 pointr/thedivision

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N5RLG2C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

This is what I use. you can probably get away with the smaller, 250 GB drive if you wanted to save a little more. I would only keep the games you actively play stored on it and everything else on an external HDD. I had a bunch of games on the SSD for a while and started noticing more crashes so I transferred every off except the division and destiny and haven't had any issues since. I think it can get a little overheated if there is too much stuff stored on it which causes the crashes.

u/MadnessBunny · 1 pointr/buildapc

Should i wait for tomorrow to buy parts? I see that this ssd is on discount and to me it looks like a great price for being a samsung ssd. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

im also looking for ram and a 1660ti, should i expect good prices tomorrow or might as well order now?

u/archover · 1 pointr/thinkpad

Literally any Thinkpad with Core I processor will be fine, including the X series.

> easy to swap out a HD for SSD?

Yes, if you are half way careful.

> how much are the 250 gb ssds?

Exactly $139.99

u/20minutesfindingname · 1 pointr/PUBGXboxOne

I ended up getting:

Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" SATA III 500GB Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.ca/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1525567267&sr=1-3&keywords=SSD+evo+860

With enclosure:

ORICO 2588US3 Tool Free Screw-Less USB 3.0 2.5-inch External Hard Drive Enclosure Adapter Case for HDD SSD SATA Drive - Black
https://www.amazon.ca/ORICO-2588US3-Screw-Less-2-5-inch-Enclosure/dp/B00IWOZAAQ/ref=pd_lpo_vtph_229_bs_t_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=KPJ4QXV2BX203KN7X2HV

Just like the guy who posted his setup before me, I 10/10 recommend. Its actually insane how much of difference it makes

u/Donut · 1 pointr/flightsim

I apologize for pointing this out, but a world class 500gb ssd is $140. The prices of these came down very quickly after introduction. Compared to a new cpu or video card, they are a extremely good value when upgrading an existing pc.

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_KTA8Ab160WDGG

Yes, this example is not the top of the line, but the performance vs. a spinner is still spectacular.

PS I have a pcie ssd for my OS, a normal ssd for games and development, and a big spinning disk for data, terrain, and media. Works great.

u/ShadowBoogers · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

That depends on what capacity you need, and whether or not you have M.2 slots.

Generally speaking though, Samsung drives are reasonably priced, and regarded as pretty much unbeatable in terms of performance.

Edit: This one's 500GB, $220, excellent performance

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M20VBU7/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_k3n-Ab42HHTGD

Edit edit: For SATA here's a 500GB for $129
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_sjo-AbFFQAH24

u/jcbneuner · 1 pointr/techsupport

I have had great experiences with these Samsung SSD drives. I have two of the 840s in RAID 0 on my gaming rig and one in my laptop and have had them for about 5 years. Zero issues and no signs of age.

EDIT: Also, if you are looking for something cheaper Crucial drives are pretty decent and come with a cloning software trial. However, if I had a pick over the two I wouldn't hesitate to grab the Samsung.

u/GhostBond · 1 pointr/buildapc

> intense cashing
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS3g9-KRteGud5okMoQtHSFZ-3TRDEP8KNFHgbTpsOYdYtPirbr0A

I'm just making a joke on the spelling.

I just replaced the hdd on my computer with an ssd and it's dramatically faster for everything so you're looking at the right stuff. My boot time went from 2-3 minutes to 20-30 seconds, my computer no longer hickups or lags while typing, it was definitely worth it.

The problem is you want something cheap, ultra reliable, and that no one has ever made negative claims about. So...you want something impossible.

An SSD that is as reliable and long lasting (high quality) as it is expensive is the Samsung Pro. But at $140 in the US for 500gb it's a bit absurd on it's pricing:
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-256GB-Inch-Internal-MZ-76P256BW/dp/B078211KCN/?th=1

If you want the usual choice for "high quality but not horribly priced" it's the Samsung Evo 500gb at $80 in the US:
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

The cheapest I would suggest is the Sandisk SSD Plus 480gb which is $60 in the US:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01F9G46Q8/

Todays "cheap" ssd's are actually pretty good. They're way more reliable than ssd's were 5 years ago. You can drive yourself nuts on the internet as every time a new tech comes out someone claims it will "die in a year" or whatever.

If you need cheaper I would get the Sandisk. If you want to spend more money for a higher quality drive the Samsung Evo is what people usually get as it's good quality while reasonably affordable (in the US).

I personally wanted a 2tb ssd, and went with the Sandisk 3d 2tb drive as it was the cheapest name brand drive I could find. The "3d" is supposed to be longer lasting than the tech before it. They've worked fine for me and haven't had any issues with dying or anything.

u/chubbyassasin123 · 1 pointr/buildapc

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_exkSCb074FSHW


Is that ssd good?

u/Sympathetic_Pizza · 1 pointr/buildapc

If you want to stick with samsung you should just get a 500gb 860 evo for the same price as that 256gb 860 pro.

u/willdill · 1 pointr/WeAreTheMusicMakers

https://www.amazon.ca/Samsung-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM-Version/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=ssd+drive&qid=1554935735&s=gateway&sr=8-4

Do you think this would be a good one?

Would you recommend I put the O.S. on the ssd and all my other shit on my hard drive? Or vice versa? How would you configure it?

u/PilotXT · 1 pointr/pchelp

Add an SSD (solid state drive) to your build. This will immensely speed up the computer, I learned this when I built my computer. Asked the same question you’re asking haha. This is a good one!.

u/pointlesslyeducated · 1 pointr/mac

the 2012's workly perfect fine. And i will perfectly do for your mentioned needs, given that you upgrade to an SSD and upgrade the RAM to 16gb.

With these upgrades, im telling you, your 2012 will just be fine for a few more years.

Just learn how to do those upgrades and you will save a shit ton of money.

Instructions on replacing on your hard drive to ssd: https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Pro+13-Inch+Unibody+Mid+2012+Hard+Drive+Replacement/10378

Instructions on replacing your Ram: https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Pro+13-Inch+Unibody+Mid+2012+RAM+Replacement/10374

Amazon link for RAM purchase:
https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-PC3-12800-SODIMM-204-Pin-Memory/dp/B008LTBJFW/ref=sr_1_5?crid=1ZJ4WAV9I0SG0&keywords=16gb+ram+macbook+pro+mid+2012&qid=1570867864&sprefix=16gb+ram+mac%2Caps%2C374&sr=8-5

Amazon link for SSD:
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?crid=2T5P5MNBUE02J&keywords=samsung+evo+860&qid=1572439125&sprefix=samsung+evo+%2Caps%2C417&sr=8-3

u/coleslaw2442 · 1 pointr/Hewlett_Packard

Is your storage SATA or M.2? Because that is a drive that would go in your M.2 port. Most likely you have SATA if you have an HDD.

Edit: Here is a SATA SSD 500GB that I would recommend: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=500gb+ssd&qid=1571658770&sr=8-3

u/Mudkipz2494 · 1 pointr/EscapefromTarkov

Definitely recommend the SSD. As far as Tarkov is concerned, I agree with the above and say reinstall after .12 regardless. I know that's what I'll be doing.

This is what I have and recommend:
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_LNMQDbY2PBBYP

u/Haha71687 · 1 pointr/pathofexile

Get something like this...

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

And your hard drive problems will be nonexistant. If you've never had an SSD you won't believe the difference.

u/xypherrz · 1 pointr/techsupport

Do you see much difference between Crucial MX500 500GB and Samsung 860 EVO 500GB considering the read/write speeds are fairly close but the prices are different?

u/hawkeye18 · 1 pointr/DataHoarder

The Samsung 860 Evo is the cheapest it's ever been today, and it's one of the best SSDs you can buy.

u/ask_me_about_penguin · 1 pointr/buildapc

I missed the sale for the 850 and now they're all OOS =(



Actually I just found this SATA version of 860 for 190 so I guess I could consider that.

u/wetshrinkage · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

You don't want to store your operating system on an external drive. But you definitely don't want to store your operating system on a HDD. You definitely want to be using an internal SSD to install your operating system on. Trust me, your boot and load times will thank you later.

If you can afford it, definitely get yourself one of these in either 500gb or 250gb to fresh-install your operating system and most-used programs.

u/Shwidda · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

I used this one, it comes in bigger sizes too. You'll need an external enclosure too, just look those up they're like $10. Altogether you can get set up for less than $100. You just put it in the enclosure, plug it into your xbox and you're good.

u/Solie_DerpWaffel · 1 pointr/hardwareswap

Just gonna leave this here..

SSD’s have really dropped in price, you can get a new 860 evo for $80, or any comparable drive from good manufacturers like crucial for about $60 for a 500gb drive brand new.

u/xdemon87 · 1 pointr/pchelp

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_XbpZDbCAQZKGB

Will this do ?

u/meest · 1 pointr/Office365

At least upgrade. And then buy an SSD and migrate to that. The improvement in going to an SSD will be noticable.

You can pick up a 500GB SSD for 75 bucks if you're in the US.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=dp_cerb_1?th=1

u/Stave_2 · 1 pointr/hardwareswap

Samsung 860 Evo 500GB 2.5 inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_BfPMBb31ZVX6K

u/SatanIsLove · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

> SSD upgrade on a Pro it's often worthwhile to swap the internal drive rather than use an external

I was looking at this as an internal SSD for my ps4 pro.

Stupid question but will any 2.5 inch work? And is it difficult to replace at all? Originally I was just gonna get an external one since it seemed a lot easier to just plug in and roll with it. But if it makes that much of a difference I would rather invest in whatever gives me a bigger impact.

u/Gnolupac · 1 pointr/buildapc

I forgot to add it but I actually have this SSD - https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

I appreciate the feedback though!

u/the_good_doctor946 · 1 pointr/PS4

I bought this internal ssd along with this enclosure to make it an external drive. Works just as well, but costs a bit less.

u/CaptainCosmodrome · 1 pointr/AnthemTheGame

Loading times are so bad I am deleting the game and reinstalling on my SSD (for some reason it did not). I'll take the hit to my playtime if it helps bring them down.

Console load times are going to be ROUGH.

If you are planning on playing on console, Go get a SSD with an enclosure.

I'll make it easy for you:

SSD: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

Enclosure: https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-Tool-free-Enclosure-Optimized-EC-UASP/dp/B00OJ3UJ2S

u/spamyak · 1 pointr/thinkpad

A 500GB 860 EVO is $87 right now. The reasonably equivalent Crucial MX500 is $85 for 500GB or $55 for 250GB, and it can fit in an M.2 slot if you have one.

The idea isn't "throw away all your hard drives and use SSDs exclusively" unless you are made of money. You just put your OS and your most used applications on a small SSD and store everything else on a hard drive.

u/CosmicCastawayyy · 1 pointr/buildapc

Transferring the drives to your new build is perfectly fine, however, I would look at getting a SSD to be your main drive that your operating system and games etc. are installed on and only use the regular hard drivers for storage space.

edit: For clarification, the SSD drive would be for increased read/write speeds. It would decrease boot time and load time for games etc.

u/leogodin217 · 1 pointr/buildapc

The Evo 860 500GB is on sale right now. $80 at Amazon. For a little more money, you will have a much better experience.

u/aspade1982 · 1 pointr/buildapc

If you are set on an SSD over NVME, I would consider changing your boot drive to Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_7yq0CbWMQ6VDA

u/davidetakotako · 1 pointr/thinkpad

Alright so I guess we are making a bit of confusion here. Both the SSD you just showed me are m.2 type.
The differences are that one is NVMe and the other one is SATA (One is very fast e.g. 1600mb/s, while the SATA one is max 500mb/s).

You can only put 1 of those inside the E490.

The other bay you have, is a SATA type slot.

It means it can support an HDD/SSD such as this model for example:

https://www.amazon.ca/Samsung-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM-Version/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=mp_s_a_1_2_sspa?keywords=ssd+500gb&qid=1559066437&s=gateway&sr=8-2-spons&psc=1&utm_source=share&utm_medium=ios_app

Obviously the speed will be limited (due to SATA port limitation), that’s why in my case I just put inside this slot a simple 2TB HDD. I decided to go with hard disk because if you want a 2tb SDD will be like super expensive:

https://www.amazon.ca/Seagate-Firecuda-2-5-Inch-Internal-ST2000LX001/dp/B01M1NHCZT/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=2tb+hdd+2.5&qid=1559066976&s=gateway&sr=8-3

Summarised:

You can only put one of the SSD you posted inside the m.2 slot, the other slot is only for SDD/HDD in the 2.5”
size.

M.2 SSD can also be: PCIe - NVMe (SUPER fast technology but expensive, speed between 1600/3000 mb/s)

2.5” SATA models SSD/HDD: can only be SATA type, and the max speed for HDD is 6mb/s while for the SSD can be something like max 500 mb/s.

In my case: I have a 512gb PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD (1600mb/s speed, expensive)!
And a 2TB 2.5” SATA HDD, (fairly inexpensive), slow but with a lot of memory to store stuff.

I hope I’m clear enough, feel free to ask more!

u/dehydrogen · 1 pointr/buildapc

What is drive brand, model, and how old is it?

When in doubt, get a SSD. You can find them very cheaply last few days. Newwgg has a 240GB Team Group 3D-Nand SSD for $30 right now. Coupon is EMCXEEPV2 .

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?sdtid=12208756&SID=12279e62e24411e888046a27e9b9ae100INT&AID=10446076&PID=1225267

Amazon is also selling 120GB Kingston SSDs for $21, free shipping.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N6JQS8C/

Amazon also has Samsung 500GB V-Nand SSD for $87. Lowest price ever according to CamelCamelCamel.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S?

u/harrynyce · 1 pointr/vmware

Do yourself a favor and just spring for a disk that's NOT spinning rust. Flash memory prices have come WAY down in recent months and will almost certainly continue to dive. Then you can reliably run multiple VMs off the same drive. I have an old HP Z420 running HPE custom ESXi 6.7 with a pair of these for most of my VMs: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

But I've also got an old 10k RPM WD Raptor (160GB that runs a Pi-hole VM) as well as a 1TB WD Black (running my Bitcoin Core full node) and 1TB Hitachi for ISO storage. Any VMs I run off the WD Black feel liek they take forever to do much of anything and forget trying to run Windows updates on one VM while doing anything else on another VM on the same drive. It's just far too painful. I'd save the little 320GB for backups or something. It's tedious to use any PC these days without an SSD.

EDIT: That being said, what SCSI Controller type are you running on your VMs? VMware Paravirtual, LSI Logic Parallel, and so on. That might affect performance. Perhaps this will help lead you in the right direction, sorry I don't have more specific suggestions to try: https://blogs.vmware.com/vsphere/2014/02/vscsi-controller-choose-performance.html

u/bostwickenator · 1 pointr/Lenovo

Like @HugsNotDrugs_ says. Any 2.5" SSD will fit they really are almost universal. Just buy this one https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3. You'll have to get some kind of caddy to hold the second hard-drive if it's going in some kind of multibay. If you don't regularly need more than 500GB then I'd say get a USB external harddrive instead of fussing around installing one in place of your CD-ROM.

u/BosonTheClown · 1 pointr/buildapc

You might consider swapping out the Microcenter drive for a Samsung drive. Running $73 on amazon right now: Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_Nj68BbT9YAFX0

u/asavvypirate · 1 pointr/buildapc

I'd go Samsung.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/

Especially considering Crucial's support site has the following welcome message on their SSD page:

"You may have read about a recent report describing a potential security vulnerability in our MX100, MX200 and MX300 products as well as another manufacturer’s products. While this vulnerability can only be exploited by an individual with physical access to the drive, deep technical SSD knowledge and advanced engineering equipment, we do recommend you update your drive's firmware for additional protection. You may also consider implementing a software encryption option as an alternative method to protect the security of your data. Please select your drive from the drop-down menu below to initiate the firmware update."

u/nisebblumberg · 1 pointr/techsupport

The issue is surely the hard drive you swapped. It wouldn't surprise me if the drive could either be in the process of failing or has a lot of failed sectors. Highly recommended to perform this exact fix but this time with a SSD. You will love the results as it increases the speed of a computer by about 10-15 times with the same hardware.


Given they've become extremely inexpensive as well in the recent years: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1539782613&sr=1-3&keywords=solid+state+drive&dpID=31CElO-B3PL&preST=_SX300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

u/AnusMcCarthy · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

If you do need to get another one, this is the drive enclosure I got. With my Samsung 860 it's made everything load about 80% faster. It's also made Star Wars BF2 incredibly speedy loading in.

u/petitjejune · 1 pointr/mac

Thanks - I’ll go with 8 GB: Corsair CMSA8GX3M2A1333C9 Apple Certified 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333 MHz (PC3 10666) Laptop Memory 1.5V https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005JRH9V2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_uljYBb0DTXMJP

I’m looking at this SSD: Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_4cjYBb2A4MCT4

Typing it out.. I think I will end up using my laptop like a desktop (skipping the dock and leaving everything plugged in), and getting a life proof case on a new iPad Pro.

u/QueenOfTheKittens76 · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

These work great for the Xbox:

Samsung 860 Evo 500GB 2.5 inch... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

AmazonBasics 2.5-inches SATA Hard... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5RLG2C?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

Cut my load times in half

u/tokenwalrus · 1 pointr/software

When a perfectly functioning laptop begins to slow down, it's almost always the hard drive. They are the most affected by heat and laptops don't have good heat circulation. My advice would be to replace the internal hard drive with a solid state drive like this. But this means you'll either have to fresh install Windows, or use a PC to transfer data from old drive to new one.

u/WATCH_DOGS_SUCKS · 1 pointr/simracing

Just upgrade your storage.

__

Internal Drive

I'm assuming you have a 2013 model, but on any version of the PS4, replacing the internal drive is easy. It really only gets a little complicated if you want to back up your data beforehand, which you'll need to do if you want to keep your saved screenshots and video clips (though game save data and system settings will be backed up to the cloud if you have PS+, but make sure they're uploaded first). Keep in mind though that if you are thinking about re-downloading everything instead of backing up-- accepting the lost of your screenshots and video clips in the process-- this also means re-downloading all of your games.

__

The choice of what kind of drive you upgrade to is up to you.

  • If you want to considerably reduce your load times across the board, you could opt for a 1TB SSD. Sounds expensive, but SSDs have had a drastic decrease in cost over the years, so a fast, 1TB drive to cut down your load times isn't unreasonable.
  • Whether you want to get the most affordable upgrade possible or if you prioritize storage size and cost over speed, a standard HDD will do the job. NOTE: The drive options in the HDD links go past 2TB, but those larger drives are 15mm drives instead of 9mm. Long story short, nothing past 2TB will fit in a PS4 without modifications.
  • For a mix of speed and storage space / budget, you could pick up the in-between option, a hybrid drive. There's a bit of nuance to these drives, but if you're looking for the best of both worlds with a single drive, a hybrid drive does offer increased performance without sacrificing storage space.

    _

    To change out your PS4's internal drive (after backing up), turn off your PS4 and change out the drives. You'll have to get the PS4 update software from here, but, do not download it from the blue button, that's a different file than what you need. Scroll down to this part of the page and click on "Perform a new installation of the system software." Read through the instructions there, and you'll download the system software from the link under step 2. Then, turn your PS4 on in Safe Mode and install the system software.

    There, your system's drive is upgraded and installed, now you just restore from your PS+ cloud save or your physical drive backup.

    _


    External Drive

    If you don't want to deal with all of the work of changing out your internal drive, or maybe you want to run a dual-drive system, you can use an external drive.

    A good USB 3.0 drive makes a great option for bulk storage. This way you won't be limited by what can fit in your system, but more importantly, you'll have the option to separate slower bulk storage from a faster internal drive.

    If you included the above external drive with, say, a 500GB or a 1TB SSD, you can have your OS, capture data, and frequently played / bigger games on a faster drive, giving your better load times across the board, whilst still having a secondary bulk drive for your game collection. This is personally what I'd recommend.

    But again, if you're just looking for an easy way to increase you system's storage capacity without dealing with hard drive swapping or OS installation, you could just get a large-capacity external drive.

    __

    The Point is

    Instead of getting rid of games and getting new ones, just increase the amount of space you can use to store them.
u/AintCARRONaboutmuch · 1 pointr/hardwareswap

Just a heads up, you're 850 Evo price is way off, you can get the newer 860 Evo 500GB for $83 https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

u/jchamb2010 · 1 pointr/techsupport

Unfortunately you can only extend a partition to other partitions that are neighboring the one you're looking to extend.

​

To be honest you may want to consider purchasing a new, larger drive as having 3 OSs on a single 128 GB SSD is always going to be a very tight squeeze SSDs are fairly inexpensive now.

As an example here's a Samsung 950 EVO for less than $90:https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

​

I recommend Samsung because they have an amazing migration utility that you can use to move your windows partition off of the existing drive on to the new SSD so there wouldn't be any need to reinstall windows. (Other vendors may have a similar utility, I've just only ever used Samsung and have had great success)

u/Jynxmaster · 1 pointr/buildapc

Should run Skyrim just fine, even with ENB/mods. The motherboard also looks decent, but that SSD seems way overpriced.(might just be the pcpartpicker goofing up)

Cheaper SSD: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

u/Wolfpoc · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

Samsung 860 Evo 500GB 2.5 inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_71JRBbKM16077

Sabrent 2.5-Inch SATA to USB... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OJ3UJ2S?ref=yo_pop_ma_swf

This is what I ordered.

u/Generico300 · 1 pointr/techsupport

They typically come in either 2.5" form factor (which looks like this), or what's called an M.2 form factor (which looks like this). You'll need to open up your laptop and see which one it has. Then buy one like that. Obviously the branding might not be the same in your case, but the general size and shape will be.

u/meuser405 · 1 pointr/buildapc

Hey guys, my friend brought a used Dell XPS 8700 computer for her side hustle as photographer/videographer. She has budget of about $500 for upgrade. She wants to run Adobe suites, Color grading apps and some simple animation (text and such) with After effects, MS office apps,web browser,chat app (Skype/Discord). Ultimately she wants to have 3 monitors so she can run multiple apps at the same time.

I have software background, don't know much about hardware but I am the only "computer guy" she knows.

Its windows 10 machine and has Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz and other stock dell component.

I was thinking of suggesting upgrading these three

ASUS AC1200 Wireless Bluetooth 4.2 PCIe/Mpcie Adapter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0713RRZMB/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_ykaIDb4ZDEE3W $34.99 (for faster Wi-Fi and Bluetooth because dell one is really bad)

Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D6E5JMQ/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_JYaIDbJZCAVQP $139.99 (more ram for multiple apps, it only supports DDR3 ram)

Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_nlaIDbJWFPEJK $79.99 (for boot and installing program only, format and use the existing HD for storage)

But I am struggling with which graphic card to suggest, it has dell power supply (I think 460 watts, might be wrong, don’t have PC with me so can’t tell), NVIDIA GeForce GT 635 card which supports 3 monitor but really struggles with everything else.

Here are 3 graphic card that it say it works with 450w and has good reviews, but I don't know which one to suggest.

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1660 OC 6G Graphics Card, 2X Windforce Fans https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P76G428/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_gnaIDbMGBH0AR $229.99

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1660 Gaming OC 6G Graphics Card, 3X Windforce Fans https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P689CXR/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_WnaIDbQQBPCR8 $239.99

MSI Gaming GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 192-bit HDMI/DP 6GB GDRR6 HDCP Support DirectX https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07N824KNV/ref=cm_sw_r_tw_dp_U_x_toaIDbNAYN7PV $279.99

Which graphic card do you think will work best? Do you guys have any other suggestion? Do you see a bottle neck or compatibility issues? Do you think that the best use of her money? It’s my first time messing with hardware and it is someone else money so I am really nervous. Thank you in advance for your help.

u/Rogue__Jedi · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

SSD's changed my life. The model and size depends on your budget.

I currently have a Crucial MX300(way faster than a hardrive but slower than my Samsung) and a Samsung 950 Pro. Here is the Samsung 960 Evo (newer)



u/TypingMakesMeMoist · 1 pointr/buildapc

Dont blame you at all! Building a pc is a unique experience that really let's you see what's going on.

On the SSD note. I've always been a big fan of the Samsung Evo series. I currently have this Samsung Evo 850 500gb but honestly 500gb Is a bit overkill unless you plan on putting a ton of games or documents on it. I have a couple 1tb drives hooked up and I've never used more than half of this SSD. But it has served me well. I'd suggest the 250gb version since you already have a sizable data drive. Just remember if you go with it, when you go to install windows, make sure only the SSD is plugged in. It'll save you some head aches.

Happy building!

u/DryAioli · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

Thank you for your help, kind stranger !

u/hmaarrfk · 1 pointr/Dell

That is weird. I think the way they should have set it up is using the 32 GB SSD as a "cache" drive for the 1TB drive. This should be mostly transparent to you, the user, but it seems they misconfigured it during the re-install. If configured properly, you would only see a 1TB drive, and you would have no clue it was a SSD+HDD hybrid.

It takes quite a bit of time to install fresh windows. Maybe 1-2 hours somebody experienced. If you aren't, then contact their premium support team, which you should have had. They should send someobyd within the week for this kind of job. If you aren't experience, seriously consider returning it, and buying an other one (to restart the clock on your 30 day return policy).

If you want to continue with your current hardware, you will want to:

  1. Update your bios very early ones had bugs. I have 1.6.2. Works. The even newer ones seemed problematic.
  2. Download the intel RAID driver, and put it on a USB.
  3. Download an updated version of Windows 10.
  4. Within bios, set your hard drives to RAID mode. This will erase everything.
  5. Install Windows 10. It will likely have a hard time finding your hard drive, that is because it needs the RAID driver. So you will need to find that driver.
  6. Continue with the install as normal.

    Now honestly, this is ALOT of work for very little reward. Modern operating systems are almost built around SSD with their "search for everything" paradigm. Without one, you are basically living in 2010.

    I suggest you buy a 256GB SSD from Samsung $120, and just install all of windows and your main programs in that. Only use yoru 1TB for storing things you don't need. If you have the $$$, just buy the 512GB or 1TB SSD drive. There are also other brands, but price to performance isn't as good IMO.

    You could also buy this SSD for $140, but it would take the space of your 1TB SSD. The SSD is also much slower than the other one I mentioned. With this one, make sure you remove the smaller 32GB from your system.

    All the best.
u/Django117 · 1 pointr/FinalFantasy

I personally have an i5 8600k, ASRock Z370 Pro 4 Motherboard, and 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz (Runs at 2133MHz default. Have yet to overclock it to 3000MHz). However, I upgraded before the Spectre/Mekltdown issue. You might want to go with a Ryzen chip instead. Sadly, upgrading to DDR4 is likely to be expensive given the current state of RAM prices.

For your hard drive I would recommend this Samsung 860 Evo: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1523373038&sr=1-3&keywords=SSD

Samsung makes solid SSDs and that thing is at a pretty good price. I would suggest putting your OS installation and games that are graphically intensive on it. Put your other storage and other easier to run games on your HDD.

u/SapphireDestiny · 1 pointr/computers

Assuming 500GB is enough space, just buy an SSD, pop her in, install windows, and it will be better than new.

You can get cheaper SSD's if you need. I can write out a guide on getting and installing all of this if you need.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=ssd+512gb&qid=1563509037&s=gateway&sr=8-3

u/Thatfartstinks · 1 pointr/macbookpro

Nice! Thank you for the information! I just ordered a single 8GB stick so now I'll be maxed out at 16GB. I might wait until the holidays/post holidays for the SSD. I was looking at the Samsung EVO 860 500GB one: Here. Thoughts on battery replacement? Are you up-to-date with the latest MBP? I wouldn't even know what to get if I were to buy a brand new one. Hence why I'd like to keep this thing around as much as I can. It's seems that this particular MBP is the the bottom model that can take new MacOS updates when they are released--haha.

u/adamborecki · 1 pointr/audioengineering

Agreed! At recoding.LA, we use several “internal” SSD with an SATA to USB cables for mobile data, and it works great

Links below


Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_XXCmDbSNSTHY4

StarTech.com SATA to USB Cable - USB 3.0 to 2.5" SATA III Hard Drive Adapter - External Converter for SSD/HDD Data Transfer (USB3S2SAT3CB) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HJZJI84/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_7YCmDbZ1EV31R


Also, remember to backup your data! Any hard drive can die at any moment for no reason at all

u/crazymonkey202 · 1 pointr/wownoob

Buying an SSD will be a huge difference. I'm a fan of the Samsung Evos, they cost a little bit more than other brands, but I've never heard of any problems with them and I've heard of other brands having problems. The 1TB is $70 off right now on Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

u/AK-Brian · 1 pointr/overclocking

Alarming noises are generally not good news when there's a hard drive involved.

Some drives will provide advance notice of mechanical or media failures in the form of a SMART error. Download a program like CrystalDiskInfo (direct link to Windows download), which will show you the status information generated by your drive. If you see a Health Status which shows up as yellow or red (eg, "Caution"), this typically means that the drive is either unable to read or write a specific portion of the disk, or is failing in some other way (spin-up errors, etc).

Mechanical drives don't last forever, unfortunately, and laptop drives are especially prone to failure. They're constantly being moved about and jostled, and in my experience they tend to be less robustly constructed due to the inherent size and weight limitations.

If you do find that your drive is showing errors or signs of failure, back up your data. In fact, back up your data regardless. Use a cloud storage service like BackBlaze or iDrive or Livedrive, etc. Even free services such as Google Drive, Dropbox or OneDrive may be enough to save your important documents or photos, if you don't need a complete backup. A portable USB hard drive is another good option - for $50-100 you can pick up a small 1-2TB external drive. Most include software to help you mirror or otherwise create a backup copy of your data, as well. Being an external drive, you can also keep it somewhere safe (literally, inside a safe, or at someone else's house for safekeeping) in case something happens like a house fire, water damage, theft, etc.

Lastly, you'll want to swap out the laptop's failing drive. Depending on how old the laptop is, you might be able to install a solid state drive to replace the original mechanical drive. There are many benefits to going with a solid state drive - no noise, less power usage, less heat, resistant to drop damage, extremely fast file access. The only downside is that they are more expensive than traditional hard drives for the same equivalent capacity. A 1TB mechanical drive may only cost $50 while a solid state might cost $110, for example. If you don't need a big drive, you can find good 500GB SSDs for about $60-70 or so. One example is Crucial's MX500. Another is Samsung's 860 EVO.

The process of copying your drive's contents onto a new SSD or new internal HDD is a bit trickier, especially with a laptop. Some have the ability to use two hard drives, but others only have one slot, which means you'll need a way to connect both drives at the same time. The solution? A little USB adapter cable. This will let your computer access the new drive, allowing you to create an exact copy (clone) with a program like Macrium Reflect. After you've cloned your drive, you can remove the old drive, place the new drive inside, and be back in action.

u/penguin123455 · 1 pointr/bapcsalescanada

Not sure this is a good price, but its a reliable drive for significantly less
Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" SATA III 500GB Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) [Canada Version], Black https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_tTAlDbCAWFTQE

u/DivineDecay · 1 pointr/mac

Get one asap, seriously, you won't believe the difference it makes. You'll never be able to go back to a HDD. Prices for SSDs probably aren't going to get significantly lower in the next year.

You can literally buy a 512GB SSD for about $50 on Amazon right now, though the best idea would be to go with a Samsung 860 EVO version at $77.99 as they're far faster and more reliable as well.

u/proverbialbunny · 1 pointr/learnpython

Maybe your running a slow SSD? Mine on PCIe 2.0 (sata) maxes out at around 550MB/s up and down constant, which is as fast as my motherboard will allow for. Years of use and no slow down. I've got this.

Before my current SSD my previous one would slow down to 20MB/s after years of use. It's a massive 20x speed increase from the previous gen ssds.

The next gen PCIe 3.0 ones run at gigabytes a second (see), and the current ones coming out for PCIe 4.0 run at around 5.5GB/s, a 10x speed increase from my generation.

Not all SSDs are equal.

u/Ultra-xSavage · 1 pointr/thedivision

I’m thinking loading times more than storage

Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB 2.5 inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E500B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_ob5lDbRRE53C
That one?

u/SpicyRice99 · 1 pointr/laptops

I'd go with the first option there, and if the 1tb HDD seems slow you can easily swap it out yourself with a SSD for much cheaper than the second option, such as this one:

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S

The rest seem to be a worse value imo.

Feel free to ask more questions, I enjoy helping others!

u/JayWhyOkay · 1 pointr/buildapc

I mean the 860 EVO m.2 is fine. It runs stably on RAID and does what you want. It's just why pay more for a form factor when you can get the exact same performance from the regular 2.5 inch drives?

The 860 EVO M.2

https://smile.amazon.com/Samsung-MZ-N6E500BW-SATA-Internal-MZ-N6E2T0BW/dp/B078218TWQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1519177597&sr=8-1&keywords=860+evo+m.2

The 860 EVO 2.5Inch

https://smile.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1519177647&sr=8-2&keywords=860+evo

Literally the only difference is the shape. If you're sticking with the 860 series, just get the cheaper of the two. These are US links, so keep that in mind when shopping for the Canadian equivalent.

In your usage with UE4 and After Effects, 32 GB isn't necessary, but in my experiences it's darn nice to have. Get 32GB if you can! :)

u/toplessflamingo · 0 pointsr/computertechs

Install a Solid State Hard drive like this one https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B0781Z7Y3S/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1541368535&sr=8-3&keywords=samsung+evo

​

It will make your computer run much much faster.

​

Install windows 7 or 10 on it. By the way, you can use a windows 7 license for Windows 10.

u/saiyate · 0 pointsr/computers

#1, Upgrade to Windows 10 right now. There is ZERO reason to be using Windows 8, It's all but deprecated at this point. It will detect your Windows 8 key and convert it to a 10 key. Download the iso, do an "In Place Upgrade" by mounting the iso (double click it) then run setup. Download HERE. Make sure you have a good 60GB of space for rollback if needed.

#2 Since Windows 7, drivers and libraries are cached. What you see as 4.5GB in use is not correct at all. There is likely less than 3GB actually in use, the rest will dynamically move out of RAM the MOMENT you need the RAM for something else.

#3 Don't use antivirus, there is no need these days. Windows Defender is fine. Install Malware Bytes if you need to do some cleaning, then uninstall it. (which will free up more memory)

#4 open up task manager, go to the startup tab, and see what you have that opens on startup. Disable crap you don't need.

#5 RAM is astonishingly cheap right now, but because of chinese tariffs, may be going up. You can grab another 16GB for $60. you have two slots free, Do it up. Looks like 1333Mhz DDR3. $60 for 2x8GB DDR3

Edit: #6 and if you don't have an SSD get one now, they are also astonishingly cheap. Get a Samsung, use the live data migration utility with a USB to SATA adapter. You can literally copy the entire OS to the SSD while the computer is running. Then just rip out your mechanical drive, and install the SSD in it's place. Done. Lighting fast computer. Samsung 860 Evo 500GB/ USB to SATA/ 2.5" to 3.5" adapter / Samsung Data Migration Utility

u/DreyfussFrost · -1 pointsr/ffxiv

You'll barely see a difference. A hybrid drive is basically just a small SSD attached to a large HDD that keeps a copy of data the computer/console requests often on the SSD portion. If 14 is the only game you play, then sure, you wouldn't need 2TB and could afford to put every last bit of data on solid state, but if you play other games too then you'd have a quarter the capacity for the same price, and only slightly better performance.

Or if money is no object, just get a high capacity SSD.