36363
#3 in Internal solid state drives

Reddit reviews on Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM)

Sentiment score: 65
Reddit mentions: 179

We found 179 Reddit mentions of Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM). Here are the top ones.

Innovative V-Nand Technology: Powered by Samsung V-Nand Technology, the 860 Evo SSD offers optimized performance for everyday computing as well as rendering large-sized 4K videos and 3D data used by the latest applicationsContinuity tester/Wire tracerSecure encryption: Protect data by selecting security options, including Aes 256-bit hardware-based encryption compliant with Tcg Opal and Ieee 1667Warranty and compatibility: 5-year limited warranty; Windows 8/Windows 7/Windows Server 2003 (32 bit and 64 bit), Vista (SP1 and above), XP (SP2 and above), MAC OSX and LinuxIncluded contents: 2.5 inches (7 millimeter) SATA 3 (6 GB/S) SSD & user manual (All other cables, screws, brackets not included); Reliability (MTBF): 1.5 Million Hours Reliability (MTBF)

Found 179 comments on Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM):

u/[deleted] · 151 pointsr/pcmasterrace

>5% off an SSD

It's not exactly Black Weekend, but I got 35% of an 1TB Evo 860 last week and the sale is still going (it's on BestBuy and Amazon, Amazon is a few bucks cheaper somehow) - that's roughly $130.

u/KabyBlue · 28 pointsr/buildapcsales

This ain't it chief...

Was <$100 a few days ago HERE...$100 or less for 1TB or no deal -- at this price, might as well go for the Evo 860 or MX500 🤔

u/gamebrigada · 19 pointsr/hardware

Yup. That still doesn't discount that you are comparing a sales price to an MSRP. Factually, the 860 EVO didn't even last a month at MSRP before it was discounted 12% on amazon.com. Why would this be any different?

u/Bubaroo3 · 16 pointsr/GamingLaptops

I would do the following to be sure your laptop will last you several years:

  1. Download software to monitor the temp of you CPU and GPU, personally I use MSI Afterburner
  2. If your CPU temps are higher than 85C, consider undervolting using this guide
  3. If your laptop is hooked up to an external monitor, get a laptop stand like this to increase airflow
  4. Every 6 months or so, remove the bottom panel of the laptop, and use compressed air to clear out dust from the internal components

    Aside from that, I would also recommend replacing your slow 1TB HDD with a 2.5" SSD. I own a Y740 myself, and I replaced the HDD with this following this guide
u/jcarberry · 16 pointsr/buildapcsales

Unless you need the small form factor, this should perform identical to the cheaper 2.5in SATA drives.

u/Jeffrobuc03 · 10 pointsr/buildapcsales

Decent drive but a QVO not EVO which is much faster and be had at Amazon for $139 now if want a faster drive.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078DPCY3T/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

u/apmauj · 9 pointsr/uruguay

Ofertas previas al viernes afro:

u/plywoodgames · 7 pointsr/buildapcsales

It looks like amazon matched (well, beat by a penny). Slightly different mfr#: B&H # SAMZN6E1T0BW MFR # MZ-N6E1T0BW, amazon #MZ-76E1T0B/AM.

I am on the lookout for a damn fine deal on a quality 2TB SSD.

u/Mindless_Art · 6 pointsr/mac

> How can I speed it up?

One thing you can do is to upgrade its RAM.

Your iMac supports up to 32 GB RAM, according to this source:

u/kansasjeremy · 6 pointsr/hardwareswap

i know it's sold out right now, but 850 evo 1tb refurbs have been going for about $200 on best buy lately:


not to mention 860 evo 1tb brand new is $330

u/ShapeOfAUnicorn · 6 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

I'm building a new high end pc from the ground up. Should I be taking advantage of any of these sales? I feel like the mouse and power supply are automatic purchases but I'm a newbie so I wanted to see if I can get any help here first. Sorry if this is filling up the discussion post.

SSD

I read that the crucial's aren't good because once you reach 75% capacity it dramatically slows your pc down? Also, don't know if external SSDs are recommended but should I bite on that SanDisk?

Samsung 1TB 860 EVO

Crucial P1 1TB m.2 SSD

SanDisk 1TB Portable External SSD

Power Supply

Corsair RM850x, 850 Watt Gold Certified Fully Modular Power Supply

Cooler

I don't even know if I will need a coouler, and if I want to go liquid cooling route, and I don't care about RGB, but for a high end pc I'm assuming I should buy?


Corsair H115i RGB Platinum AIO Liquid CPU Cooler

Mouse

This seems like the best deal on a mouse no?

Logitech® MX Master 2S Wireless Mouse

RAM

Was actually looking for 32GB RAM, should I pass since if I go AMD mobo route, having to use more than 2 will cause a slowdown right?

Ballistix Elite 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR4 3600 MT/s

u/chilighost · 5 pointsr/PS4Pro

I installed the Samsung 860 EVO 1TB and it's been great. Seems very fast to me.

​

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB

u/maddenman2000 · 5 pointsr/buildapcsales

If you do need a new SSD you'd be better off getting 1TB instead:

Samsung has the 860 EVO M.2 1TB for the same price as two of these.

Same with Microcenter (in-store only) but with the SATA III version.

Amazon for $168.

To be honest, you might as well wait two months for Black Friday. Chances are if they're this low now, especially given how many places have them on sale for this price, it'll be much cheaper on Black Friday.

u/whale-tail · 5 pointsr/mac

I'm talking about an internal SSD. The 2.5" models use what's called a SATA connector (the same type your current hard drive should use). Using it through USB will not only be much slower, but also mean that you have to carry around the external storage which is a pain in the ass.

The best way to think about SSDs is that they're basically really fast hard drives with no moving parts. They're just better in every way, and in this day and age it's hard to be without one.

Edit: here is what I'm talking about when I say internal 2.5" SSD.

u/gregz83 · 4 pointsr/pcmasterrace

You can try removing 3rd party programs (monitors, boosters, etc.)

In a more extreme case you can try doing a Windows 10 Refresh, which will remove any bloatware running under the hood:

https://pureinfotech.com/refresh-windows-10-clean-installation/

Even though you said otherwise, I will tell you anyway that most people are going to look at that 5400RPM game drive and point to that has the culprit:

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/

u/RicoViking9000 · 4 pointsr/Dell

Samsung 860 Evo. Probably the best sata SSD. Choose your size.

If you want to save a bit of money, search 'Crucial MX500.' You won't notice the performance difference in real use, it's within 5% of the samsung

u/EnglishKidChin · 4 pointsr/playstation

Yes any 2.5”. The real question is why that drive ... it looks pretty crappy. You can afford a pro then why cheapen the experience.

Get this one...

u/FtDLulz · 3 pointsr/Overwatch

Yeah, even higher speed 7200 RPM HDDs will get this. I'd actually recommend getting a 1 TB SSD whenever you do upgrade (this one's actually only $128 right now, which is a pretty good deal on an SSD) as it's actually one of the best upgrades for a computer to speed it up.

My Overwatch has that model problem (along with borders and stars not loading completely) when it's on my HDD but on my SSD it never happens.

u/GhostBond · 3 pointsr/buildapc

If you have a regular hdd, you can replace it with a regular ssd that is the same size like a Samsung Evo:
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/

The other form factor that your machine may support is "m.2". It's a much smaller form factor built around ssd's much smaller size than hdd's.

What you really need to do is look up what your machine supports.

u/Imbigazoid · 3 pointsr/buildmeapc

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
CPU | AMD - Ryzen 7 1700 3GHz 8-Core Processor | $279.49 @ Amazon
CPU Cooler | Corsair - H110i 113.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler | $109.99 @ Amazon
Thermal Compound | Arctic Silver - 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver 3.5g Thermal Paste | $7.25 @ Amazon
Motherboard | MSI - X370 GAMING PLUS ATX AM4 Motherboard | $116.16 @ Amazon
Memory | G.Skill - Trident Z RGB 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory | $238.50 @ Amazon
Storage | Samsung - 850 EVO-Series 1TB 2.5" Solid State Drive | $349.99
Storage | Samsung - 960 EVO 1TB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive | $445.41 @ Amazon
Case | Corsair - Crystal 460X RGB ATX Mid Tower Case | $131.99
Power Supply | EVGA - SuperNOVA G3 750W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply | $119.99 @ Amazon
Case Fan | Corsair - SP120 RGB High Performance 52.0 CFM 120mm Fan | $19.98 @ Amazon
| Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts |
| Total | $1818.75
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2018-03-24 12:03 EDT-0400 |

PCpartpicker didn't find all the amazon links.

Case Amazon link: https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Crystal-Tempered-Glass-Compact/dp/B01LA2LB7W/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1521906800&sr=8-2&keywords=460x%2Bcorsair&th=1

SSD Amazon link: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1521906876&sr=8-1&keywords=860+evo+1tb

With some pretty easy overclocking, messing around with XMP settings in BIOS and voltage, you can very easily push the CPU to 3.8 Ghz, People claim to push it to 4.0 Ghz though say it seemed to be a little unstable.

If you haven't cleaned out your PSU, you should. If it's younger than 5 years it's definitely still good. 100$ saved.

Windows can be obtained for free, only disadvantage is a small Windows 10 watermark on the lower right corner, and some of the OS customization settings are locked. It doesn't bother me, and it certainly doesn't convince me to spend 100$ for customization.

M.2 nvme SSDs are many times faster than a SATA SSD, for a boot drive you won't see a huge difference in boot time, but file transfer and such it definitely shines.

The extra fan is for an exhaust for the back of the case. You'll need a fan hub Here: https://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-System-Cables-Black-CPF04/dp/B00VNW556I/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1521908068&sr=1-3&keywords=fan+hub Forgot about it :/

Ive built with this case before, and it comes with a nice SSD mounting array behind the motherboard, a kinda annoying but spacious PSU basement and great air flow. tempered glass oooo

Buy zip ties. like 50. Zip ties are your friend and so is your fully modular PSU

If you want help with your CPU overclocking, you can pm me, or look up a guide on overclockers forum. Really helpful people over there.

I made it all Amazon, because of prime, which is can save you a lot of shipping. With the cheaper vendors, its cheaper for the part, but the shipping would put you over budget.

u/Z-P-G · 3 pointsr/thinkpad

I no longer have my T420s, but here are a few things that might help:

  • The modified v1.43 BIOS for the T420s with the WiFi whitelist removed is here.
  • The Intel Wireless-AC 7260 should work by following the directions in the post here.
  • The Samsung 860 EVO is an excellent SSD choice.
  • The SDA and SCL pins on the T420s motherboard are shown here. It is possible to clear the supervisor password by shorting those pins as shown in the video here.
  • There are a number of other good resources for the ThinkPad T420s here.

    Hope this helps a bit.
u/GrimmBeard84 · 3 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Looks like you dont have an access cover so here is a quick video showing you the process looks pretty easy on your laptop. Id go for a samsung evo SSD 1tb drives can be had for 150 or less.

Link to how to video for your laptop https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lKwimS6u54

Link to the SSD I recommend but any will do. https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=1tb+evo&qid=1572921042&sr=8-3

u/ffca · 3 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Mine take a couple minutes. It used to be around 10 seconds. Then in March, I removed that SSD, got Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apap_poZI8jesMxMD9 ...fresh install of Windows and...

Still slow boot time. WTF?

Boot time was so fast when I first built my PC 2 years ago. Still runs amazing though.

u/TThor · 3 pointsr/buildapc

For faster web browsing and general multitasking, you want: Fast ram, fast/multicore CPU, and fast storage.

I don't see an SSD on your parts list, so that would by far be the biggest bang-for-your-buck improvement you can add to your computer.

Get a solid state drive to use in conjunction with your hard disk drive, reinstall your Windows operating system onto that SSD, and move all important/frequently used software/files onto that SSD.

Here is the SSD buying guide to help you choose which SSD to probably buy: https://www.reddit.com/user/NewMaxx/comments/9yv0c6/ssd_buying_guide_wip/

For top performance, I would recommend the Samsung 860 EVO (in whichever size you want, but the bigger the storage size the better it will perform). If that is too expensive for you, there are always other options, such as the ADATA Su800.

---

Note, an SSD will improve your loadspeeds on everything, but alone is unlikely to improve your LoL framerate much. For that you will likely need a new CPU, new RAM, and a new motherboard to put it all in.

u/jtoomim · 3 pointsr/btc

> Which confirms our calculations, that data storage requirements would be huge (5PB). But at the same time he does state that it would cost around $200 per month. Now we did a quick search, but failed to find such a rig being offered at such low prices.

As I mentioned in the correction, 100 Mbps is (barely) enough to handle 30k tx/sec. 1 Gbps would give plenty of headroom. That's around $60-100/month right now, though availability is currently still limited.

You can buy a 32 core server with 128 GB of RAM for under $600 right now. SSDs cost about $150/TB, so a 50 TB of SSDs would add about $7,500. So that's $8,000 for the basic hardware. Amortize that over 5 years, and the HW costs are about $133/month. Add in the $60-100 BW costs, and you're looking at around $193 to $233/month with today's hardware prices

When I did this calculation 3 months ago, I think I was assuming that a home hobbyist user would just use prune=xxxxx and wouldn't bother storing the full blockchain, so I omitted it from my cost calculation. But I still included the HDD array for storing the blockchain in the text description. Oops, sorry. The HDD array is unnecessary and I shouldn't have mentioned it.

If you are looking to rent a dedicated server from a cloud provider, it's going to cost a lot more than this, of course. Datacenters with 99.99% uptime guarantees are expensive places, and are no place for a budget hobbyist node.

u/ClevelandOG · 3 pointsr/NBA2k

You can minimize the luck factor and have an advantage over everyone if you get an SSD.

I only have an SSD because I speedrun on ps4, (if i didnt, it wouldnt be worth it) but it refreshes the auction house way faster.

Edit: here is the one I have if you care.

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_EniBCbEVV114H

u/Azn03 · 3 pointsr/PS5

Anything on Amazon like this and here's a guide for you to swap it out. It's super simple.

If you want to clone the HDD you have now because you have games and stuff you don't want to delete I would suggest to buy a HDD cloner. Its really easy and I've done it multiple times for just cloning when I did upgrades.

Personal note: $139 for 1tb SSD was like $500 back when it released. I don't even think if they had 1TB SSD. Crazy. If I wasn't already at 1TB I would buy, but I'm going to just wait for the PS5.

u/bewareofmoocow · 3 pointsr/buildapcsales

Trying to fill a 2.5 inch storage slot. Is the Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB still worth double the price of Seagate FireCuda 2TB Solid State Hybrid Drive Performance SSHD on sale for $60?

u/bapcs-3c-checker · 2 pointsr/buildapcsales

Type|Amazon|3rd Party New
:---|:---|:---
Lowest|$177.99 on Sep 02, 2018|$197.99 on Aug 30, 2018
Highest|$329.99 on Jan 23, 2018|$627.59 on Jun 25, 2018

3C link

*****
I am a bot; please send comments/questions to github issues

github

u/ParkerWGB · 2 pointsr/macbookpro

Good to hear about the ram! That’s the next thing I do on my Mac.

Samsung 850 series is a solid SSD. Have one in my gaming pc but only a 250gb.
It’s also currently on sale on amazon

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B078DPCY3T/ref=dp_ob_neva_mobile

If not that crucial also makes good SSD’s
Let me know if that works out for ya

u/_Master_Shake · 2 pointsr/buildapcsales

The 2.5" 860 Evo 1TB also has the 20% off. $112.37 - 20% = $90 + tax. Select buy used.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078DPCY3T/

u/Nostalgic_Noah · 2 pointsr/buildapc

If you end up getting an m.2 ssd you'll need to make sure it's compatible with your mobo. It'll either come in an m.2 sata or m.2 nvme ssd. The 1tb 860 Evo falls right in your budget

u/Defora · 2 pointsr/ConanExiles

Yes you can, are but those are expensive. I got myself 1TB Samsung 860 evo https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T

If/when I need more space I will get external sdd (link has both hdd and sdd listed) https://www.gamesradar.com/best-hard-drive-for-ps4/

u/White_Phoenix · 2 pointsr/MonsterHunterWorld

SSDs aren't as expensive as you think - prices have been falling drastically. I highly suggest saving up for one - something like a Samsung 860 EVO

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T

1 TB is $147, whereas a 500 GB is a bargain price of $77.99!

u/red286 · 2 pointsr/bapccanada

Well, if you're not doing any gaming or content creation (video/photo editing), there won't be a huge difference (at least, not after a few runs, it takes a while for it to determine what should be cached).

For reliability, I'd probably recommend an SSD, but not a TeamGroup one. Something like a Samsung or WD or Crucial would be a better option if you're concerned about reliability.

u/lucklouie · 2 pointsr/PS4

I bought this one when it was at $129 and couldn't be happier. It's on sale right now too.

Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_9tS3Db393AT1P

u/Uoon_ · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Thank you a lot, I'll probably get something like this one. It has a lot of storage, something I've ran out of twice over the time I've had this PC, and it'll connect with ports my motherboard already has.

u/SSGSS_Bender · 2 pointsr/PS4

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=ssd&qid=1555423720&s=gateway&sr=8-3

Best one for the money by far. It's what I use on all of my gadgets, including my PC, PS4 Pro, and Xbox One X. It's what I put in every PC I build for Friends and family. There are cheaper options but you start losing out on performance.

u/Doggcow · 2 pointsr/hardwareswap

There's a 1tb 860 for 167 Amazon


Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_tw7PBb2QF5NWW

u/SadnessIsTakingOver · 2 pointsr/computer

Get an SSD. That is going to improve performance so much. It's honestly the best bang for your buck upgrade. You can also always move the SSD to a new desktop or future laptop as well so it's not money wasted.

I have personally put SSDs in older laptops for my self and family and we've all been happy with the results. It makes the computer fast as far as load times and daily tasks go. It's not going to speed up heavy CPU intensive tasks. But if you watch videos, browse the internet, do simple things like that, it's night and day.

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_6OKBCbY64VS6V

This is one I've bought 2 of so far. Great performance for the money and plenty of storage. Old spin type HDDs are such a huge bottle neck. Especially in laptops where they put slow spin HDDs to conserve battery usage.

Step 2 would be ram upgrade, but it's not going to be as dramatic as the SSD upgrade. If you have 4gb of ram just leave it be. If you find a good deal on a 4gb stick for like $20 or less on Facebook market or something like that I'd upgrade it. I wouldn't put a whole lot of money into the computer. The only reason I recommend the SSD is because traditional HDDs are such a huge bottleneck that once lifted , makes even an i3 shine. And like I mentioned earlier that SSD you can use in future computers.

u/cohen_dev · 2 pointsr/apexlegends

I got the Samsung 860 EVO. I bought the 1 TB, but I'm sure the 500gb will work just as well.

u/anderworx · 2 pointsr/mac

I've upgraded a MacBook Pro 2015 with a Samsung EVO 860. Worked great.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T

u/gummibear049 · 2 pointsr/buildmeapc

I agree, especially with all the sales going on right now.


Instead of a cheap 240GB SSD + cheap 1TB HDD, you could fit a [1TB Samsung EVO SSD $128] (https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T) and still be within his budget.


That way don't have do deal with 2 different storage units.

u/sh4mm · 2 pointsr/suggestapc

The thing about 1060s right now is that every prebuilt has one in them so the companies and move on to bigger and better fish, it's not a bad card by any means.

I've never played WoW, but I do know these specs massively surpass the recommended:

I7 8700

1060 3gb

16gb DDR4

120gb SSD

1TB HDD

@ $1000 on Amazon

Get a 1tb Samsung SSD for ~130 or 2tb SSD for ~300

Here's a benchmark with an i3 8100 and a 1060 3gb running WOW on Ultra.

You can expect better framerates with the better CPU. I3 8100 vs I7 8700

u/sp1n · 2 pointsr/IndianGaming

This isn't the drive you're looking for, but I ordered an 860 EVO 1TB for $128. ICICI charged me 9600 rupees for it, which means their exchange rate is exactly 75 right now.

Now if you go to Amazon and try to ship that same SSD to India, they charge $128 + $60 for import fees and shipping. At 75 per dollar, that comes out to 14,100 bucks.

That same drive is currently 18,300 on onlyssd.com.

Black Friday deals are crazy. The drive is 25% cheaper even after acche din import duties. Definitely look at all your options before buying locally.

u/JParks777 · 2 pointsr/buildapcsales

Not eBay, but Amazon has 1TB 860 for 128.

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_PLD9BbAX9R7BF

u/Rvby1 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Wanting to get a 1TB SSD for my PC. I don't have a specific budget set, but I'm trying to go for the cheapest option that doesn't make major sacrifices to quality. I had the 860 EVO recommended to me, and I had the Western Digital Blue and Crucial MX500 recommended if they are more than $5 cheaper than the EVO.

Could I get a second opinion on them? Thanks!

u/Alpr101 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Definitely no to the SSD. I bought a 120HB ssd ~3 years ago but I'm just upgrading (well, adding a 2nd ssd) to a 1T ssd. It's $127 on amazon right now. You could still keep the 120gb ssd and use it only for windows boot (like what I'm doing).

u/DatTestBench · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

The 860 Pro comes at a hefty premium compared to the 860 Evo (I have no idea why tbh) . See for yourself : 860 Pro (and it's on sale at that), 860 Evo

u/AesirRising · 2 pointsr/buildapcsales

This is its regular price. It’s the same price on Amazon as well. Not worth

u/XsunnshinneX · 2 pointsr/hardwareswap

My friend, you're way high on current SSD prices Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_hU9VBbNESCEJM

u/Xenoflower7 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

For save more money you can buy used version at amazon

1tb samsung 860 evo ssd only 139.99 usd

https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_1_olp?ie=UTF8&qid=1539818635&sr=8-1&keywords=1tb+samsung+860+evo

CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Laptop Memory Model CMSX16GX3M2A1600C10 price only 99.99 usd

https://www.amazon.com/CORSAIR-Vengeance-204-Pin-SO-DIMM-CMSX16GX3M2A1600C10/dp/B0076W9Q5A/ref=sr_1_4?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1539818786&sr=1-4&keywords=16gb+2x8+sodimm+ddr3

total only 239.98 USD...

Now you can have fast laptop with low budget upgrade

Good Luck Bro

u/Jmessaglia · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Great build, but combine the ssd's
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T?ref_=fsclp_pl_dp_2

monitor is overpriced as well
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07598HLB5/?tag=pcpapi-20

And the card is overpriced by 50 dollars a ROG strix card is alot less
(here is a card i couldnt find the strix on pc part picker)
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/ZWnG3C/msi-geforce-gtx-1070-ti-8gb-video-card-gtx-1070-ti-gaming-8g



Please contact me if you need anything else :)

u/cenzoznec · 2 pointsr/DestinyTheGame

Just put a Samsung 1TB Evo 860 in my PS4 (internal). What a HUGE difference. No more loading while riding my sparrow between places, I land on a planet 20 seconds before my fireteam, no UI lag anymore. What a difference! Only $160 on amazon. https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1540310518&sr=8-1&keywords=samsung+evo+860+1tb

u/ABCDigitalBlog · 2 pointsr/techsupport

I agree...SSD should boot windows in seconds. If you have an evo...many of those have 3-5 year warranty. Go get a clone from the store, send in your old drive then return the new one if you like after repair...or keep it since 1TB Sam or WD (Sam is better) is 150 (175) or so now a days.

https://www.amazon.com/USB-eSATA-SATA-Duplicator-Dock/dp/B00KT3BEAS/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1540519731&sr=8-3&keywords=startech+cloner

​

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=twister_B079P94LLX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

​

u/frogshit · 2 pointsr/buildapc

I'm sure you've already looked at them by now, but I'll at least link you just in case it makes it easier. Here's a 1TB 860 EVO that will have the same general performance (we're talking millisecond differences) and save you $100. You can go even cheaper too with other brands & sales.

u/SolomonSilver · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Dont worry, it's impossible to know everything about everything.

That is a traditional hdd hard drive. It has a physical spinning disk.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=mp_s_a_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1550443546&sr=1-2&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=samsung+860+evo&dpPl=1&dpID=31-hn6s1QYL&ref=plSrch


This is an internal ssd. It takes the place of an hdd. They cost more per gb than an hdd.

What a lot of people do is they buy a smaller ssd and put their operating system and commonly used programs on it and then have an hdd at the same time to hold their documents, bigger files, less used programs etc...

There are 2 main types of ssd.

2.5 references the size. Of this size you only need to worry about the SATA. There are other versions that are faster but cost a lot more money

M.2 optane is the second main type. It almost looks like a ram stick and plugs directly into the motherboard like a ram stick. It is faster but a lot more money. In my opinion they aren't worth it.


u/magus424 · 2 pointsr/AnthemTheGame

Careful to be sure it's a slim one; I use this 1TB model and it works great.

u/Psylotrum · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Doesn’t exist

Edit: if price doesn’t matter
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_Cu4WAbYJDG5X0

u/PriceKnight · 2 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

Price History


  • Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD   ^PureLink
    ReviewMeta: ★★★★★ 4.8/5 from 5796 valid reviews
    CamelCamelCamel - [Info]Keepa - [Info]

    _
    We don't Horse around here.
    ^(Info) ^| ^(Developer) ^| ^(Inquiries) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| **[^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fcx3s42%2Fssd_samsung_860_evo_25_sata_iii_1tb_internalssd%2Feyi9h0a%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A
    %0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)**
u/REDLINE70689 · 2 pointsr/PUBGXboxOne

Got an ssd for my PC and figured I’d test it out on the Xbox before putting in it there.


My ssd didn’t make it to my PC lol not only does it help with PUBG, but load times in a lot of games benefit.

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apip_ipCXflemgfEW4

With this enclosure

Sabrent 2.5-Inch SATA to USB 3.0 Tool-free External Hard Drive Enclosure [Optimized For SSD, Support UASP SATA III] Black (EC-UASP) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OJ3UJ2S/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apip_VSK1vlJ4IRvgp

Piece of cake to set up. Put the drive in the enclosure (very easy), plug into usb, add games.

Edit- played PUBG on internal hard drive for test and live, vs ssd for both and the benefit is noticeable.

u/zaco230 · 2 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" SATA III 1TB Internal SSD: Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" SATA III 1TB Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) [Canada Version] https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_lFflDbMYR5WGX

u/Russkiymedved · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Sorry about not including more details in the original post. I've included additional info below.

​

  • Currently I play the following games: Cities skylines with some mods, Call of duty, grand theft auto, Skyrim, and Fallout. I would like my build to have the capability to play current games on moderate graphic settings at a minimum.
  • Computer science work would include several machine learning courses which I believe will be more GPU intensive than CPU intensive. I don't think it will stress the CPU more than gaming.
  • I have the following monitor and SSD with windows 10 currently loaded:

  1. https://www.amazon.com/ViewSonic-VA2446MH-LED-1080p-Monitor-HDMI/dp/B074F28QNS/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?crid=1UQJOA2OWJ37X&keywords=viewsonic+24+inch+monitor&qid=1563037573&s=gateway&sprefix=views%2Caps%2C131&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1
  2. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078DPCY3T/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  • Lower noise would be preferred.
  • I would like a case with no lighting but have components with RGB capability.
  • I would prefer a keyboard built for typing as opposed to gaming.
  • I will not be doing any streaming or video editing.
u/White-t-shirts · 2 pointsr/buildapc

To my knowledge, i may be wrong, some of those issues are false, although you could contact Corsair and they might send you a mounting bracket. Also here is a bonus 860 Evo for cheaper than the 850 1TB

edit: if you're editing a fair amount and dealing with heavy/large files then a NVMe drive might not be bad, such as 960 evo.

u/jg1212121212 · 1 pointr/PleX

Wow, SanDisk ultra 1tb drives are down to $125?? Thats a great deal. I didn't realize 1 TB SSDs had dropped so much in the last few months. Got to love Amazon price tracking on camelcamelcamel

https://camelcamelcamel.com/SanDisk-SSD-PLUS-Internal-SDSSDA-1T00-G26/product/B07D998212?context=search

https://camelcamelcamel.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/product/B078DPCY3T?context=search

​

u/Hi_Voltg3 · 1 pointr/buildapc

Actually, I just realized my link doesn't have my newer SSD and I am actually running another monitor as well now.


My 1TB is this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078DPCY3T/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

u/Vhalken · 1 pointr/buildapc

I've never used a SSD. Would it be better to get the Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 inch that's on sale right now, and drop HDD entirely?

Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078DPCY3T/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

u/ToonamiNights · 1 pointr/buildmeapc

You can get 2x8GB Ram 3200Mhz for 129.99 right now on Amazon

And a 1TB SSD Samsung Evo for $147.99 on Amazon

Or upgrade the CPU to a 2600x or a 2700x

Graphics card upgrade you could get an RX580 8GB for $190 on Newegg

u/notaneggspert · 1 pointr/buildapc

What's the best value 1TB SATA SSD?

$125 Silicon Power 1TB SSD 3D NAND A55


  • TLC 3D NAND flash and SLC Cache technology
  • 1,500,000 hours/3 year warranty


    $128 Samsung 860 EVO 1TB

  • NAND Flash Samsung V-NAND 3bit MLC
  • 1 GB Low Power DDR4 SDRAM Cache Memory
  • 1,500,000 hours/2,400 TB written???(also seeing 600TB)/5 year warranty

    $134 WD Blue 3D NAND 1TB PC SSD

  • 1,750,000 hours/500 terabytes written/5 year warranty


    I need a new SSD for games my current 500gb EVO 850 that runs my OS is full from mostly games. I know it's bad to run SSDs filled to the brim since they have less cache/space to move data around to more evenly spread out wear on the drive. So I want to move all my games over to the 1TB SSD so I can actually edit photos/videos off the 500gb C: drive. Currently photos/videos on an SSD and I'll move a working folder to the SSD when actually working on a project.

    My understanding is that MLC memory is more durable than TLC memory. Is there a significant difference between the two drives? Looks like they have pretty similar read/writes in real world performance. A little confused how the Samsung has 3bit MLC that sounds like what TLC is. I know it really probably doesn't matter at all. I'm leaning towards the Samsung since it has a longer warranty and my 850 hasn't given me any problems.
u/AkumaRicky · 1 pointr/buildapc

Is this RAM and SSD compatible with my mother board MSI B85M-E45?

u/AbradoIf_Lincler · 1 pointr/mac

I would highly recommend it. The replacement is quite easy and I actually did it myself. I’m not huge on being able to repair computers but the ifixit guide lays it out nicely. You will need a external hard drive that is formatted to a Mac and then back it up using the TimeMachine, but the process was quite simple. Here’s the SSD that I bought that has worked wonders for me.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B078DPCY3T?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_mob_b_asin_title

u/bulloko · 1 pointr/buildapc

My monitor? Huh... That never crossed my mind. I thought my 145hz was good.
So look at a gsync one?

I was looking at
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T earlier

u/whwt · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

The Samsung EVO 860 is a solid drive. IT is 2.5in form factor and quite affordable.

I have used various iterations of them for a few years and never had a problem.

Here is one I bought exactly 1 year ago. lol

u/chrishtatu · 1 pointr/buildapc

thank you so much I'll look into the Noctua cooler! Last question sorry to bother you, do you think a M.2 ADATA XPG SX8200 would be worth the upgrade over the mx500 or 860 EVO?

u/Barksie · 1 pointr/ValveIndex

> Do you think it's worth saving a bit of money and using the same case?

It's really up to you, you can get a decent case for like $70 these days https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07TC76671?tag=pcpapi-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1

Fans are cheap and you can literally buy them at any electronic store.

> Same question, but for my PSU.

Should be fine but hardware does fail at some point. For being 6 years old, you should clean it out really well with air or just replace it. Here's a decent PSU that won't break the bank https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RF237B1?tag=pcpapi-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1

> Storage

get yourself an SSD to replace the Hard Drive. SSD's are starting to become cheap now https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T?tag=pcpapi-20&linkCode=ogi&th=1&psc=1

> Reactivating windows on the newly built PC

I'm not super tech smart but I think the license is tied to the MOBO or CPU? If anything, you can find Win-10 Pro keys cheap

u/Merk1nz · 1 pointr/buildapcsales

Good call bro, for real. The 1TB is $82.08 after tax, go get it, good deal.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T

u/figgzz007 · 1 pointr/laptops

Your laptop has two slots open. One M.2 slot and one 2.5" drive bay. You can get an NVMe SSD and it will work on the M.2 port. You can also get any 2.5" SSD and it will work on the 2.5 drive bay. Any SSD you buy would be a good suit for the laptop. Just make sure you don't cheap out and buy the cheapest off-brand SSDs in the market as they might not have the best reliability and you might lose your data if they break.

Some recommendations I would make -

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-970-EVO-1TB-MZ-V7E1T0BW/dp/B07BN217QG/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=samsung+970+evo&qid=1575082546&s=electronics&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&sr=1-1

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_7?keywords=samsung+860+evo&qid=1575082644&sr=8-7

https://www.amazon.com/Crucial-MX500-NAND-SATA-Internal/dp/B077SF8KMG/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=crucial+mx500&qid=1575082778&sr=8-1

u/-delt4ninj4 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Okay,

You've really only got a couple of options.

u/99K9s · 1 pointr/Lenovo

Yes, it has a 2.5 inch sata slot. You can install an HDD or another SSD.

I bought this Samsung. Very fast, just not as fast as the m.2 SSD on the boot drive. It will surely go on sale Black Friday.

It's an easy install. The SATA cable should have come in the y540 box. The bracket is inside the laptop bay. Any 2.5 SSD or HDD should work.

Edit: I have the same laptop as you

u/Cubegod69er · 1 pointr/FallenOrder

This ssd (on sale now) Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

And this enclosure Sabrent 2.5-Inch SATA to USB 3.0... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OJ3UJ2S?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

u/Javier100604 · 1 pointr/computers

Of course if you need anymore info on the certain usb, ssd, and laptop here is the model number and links of the products..

Acer nitro 5 model number: AN515-42-R5ED
Laptop
Ssd: Samsung 860 EVO
Usb: Windows 10 installation USB

u/Alarthon · 1 pointr/Seaofthieves

What I would do is get an external enclosure like this then you can get any ssd up to 4TB, something like this. This way you are future proofing yourself a bit for upgrades.

u/sumrndmredditor · 1 pointr/buildapc

I would go DRAM TLC over QLC for a primary drive. I just don't see the value in them when TLC is not that far away in price and capacity (the 1 TB 860 EVO vs QVO is basically the same). While QLC gives you lots of SSD storage for "cheap", you lose out harder than TLC during the initial phase when you hammer it with all your installs and over time as the drive reaches capacity. Get an ADATA SU800 series/TEAMGroup L5 3D or a Crucial MX500/Samsung 860 EVO depending on your price bracket then work forward from there. QLC should really be reserved for a secondary drive, and even then I'd still argue you're better off just picking up more TLC drives (with or without DRAM) if you're gonna use it as another program/game drive. Leave the QLC for your other data storage.

I do also recommend just gathering your storage over time instead of buying it all outright at the beginning. From the very first time I built for myself to now, I have 5 drives currently in my Zenic Scion of Callisto:

  • 1x WD Caviar Blue 500 GB
  • 1x WD Caviar Blue 1 TB
  • 1x Crucial MX300 750 GB (ZSoC's boot drive)
  • 1x Crucial MX500 1 TB
  • 1x WD Black SN700 500 GB

    That 500 GB Cav Blue was my original drive from the first build of the Desktop of Theseus. The only drive missing there is a 240 GB OCZ ARC 100 that I had put into the DoT during an overhaul which is now just sitting on my desk. Whenever I would overhaul my build, I would throw in newer storage with higher capacities/performance. The older drives would then be cycled to less important roles like file and media storage as the newer SSDs took up the slack. You should only need to replace drives when they're obsolete or when they've failed, otherwise just keep adding capacity to your headers.
u/Moby1997 · 1 pointr/buildapc

Looks pretty decent. Only two things i'd recommend is finding better RAM (i'd highly suggest Corsair Vengeance) as well as an SSD if you can afford to fork out a couple extra bucks.

The reason I suggest going SSD is the price has came down pretty significantly and you'll see much faster loading times for certain games (in my experience PUBG, Wargame Red Dragon, and ArmA III have all benefited from an SSD). If you plan on playing Arma 3 by chance you'll definitely want one, I recently upgraded to a Samsung Evo 1TB SSD and the game has no stuttering anymore and it also loads a hell of a lot faster.

​

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T

Edit: Just realized you already have an SSD in your build, I completely missed it. I'd still suggest going with the Samsung Evo, it has higher read/write speeds.

u/platnum20 · 1 pointr/elex

They aren't so bad if you can catch one on sell, Amazon is selling a 1TB Samsung 860 Evo for $170, which is $0.17/gigabyte. Still not a small sum, but prices are getting better.

u/pencilbagger · 1 pointr/buildapcsales

M.2 is a different connector and form factor that requires an m.2 slot , the drive uses the SATA standard to communicate with the computer but doesn't use traditional sata power and data cables and instead plugs directly into the motherboard.

They make adapter boards for m.2 if you don't have it, both sata for sata m.2 and pci express for nvme m.2 drives, but with the traditional 2.5 inch form factor 860 evo being about the same price you would be better off getting that one if you really want an 860 evo since that one will plug into regular sata data and power without the need to buy an adapter. there's not really any reason to buy an m.2 sata drive if your motherboard doesn't support it, unless you plan on upgrading soon to something that will have m.2 slots

u/OwThatHertz · 1 pointr/ASUS

No worries. That doesn't really help but if you could show me where you found it I might be able to dig deeper.

For clarity, a PCI Express (or PCIe) slot is where expansion cards like your graphic card go. They are very fast when it comes to transferring data. A PCIe slot has "lanes" of data it can transfer. An x1 slot has one "lane". An x16 slot as 16 "lanes". Each lane can transfer 8Gb/s, if I remember correctly. That's some background info.

Now let's talk drive types. You've got Hard Disk Drives or HDDs, which come in different capacities and physical sizes. The two common sizes these days are 2.5" (usually found in notebook computers) and 3.5" (usually found in desktop computers). Larger physical size does not necessarily equate to larger capacity. Capacity is usually expressed in gigabytes (GB) or terabytes (TB). An HDD is one of the slowest forms of media commonly used today, but it's cheaper per GB/TB than solid state drives. (SSDs.) HDDs today use the SATA "bus", which is a specific way to transfer data. Your PCIe slots are another way to transfer data, but we'll come back to that.

Then you've got SSDs. The most common size still being produced is 2.5". These are much faster than HDDs. SATA SSDs are roughly 5 times faster than HDDs for reading and writing data. This means faster boot times for your system, faster game loads, and faster file copies.

A few years ago, M.2 SSDs came out. M.2 is not necessarily faster than 2.5" SSDs. This depends on which bus they use. If they use the SATA bus, they're around the same speed as 2.5" drives. That said, they're far smaller and use less power, so they're better for laptops and, frankly, everything else except for speed. That said, we also have M.2 NVMe drives. NVMe is a special type of memory (like your computer's RAM) that doesn't wipe itself each time you reboot your computer, which means it can be used for storage. Also like your RAM, it's very fast - about 4 times faster than a SATA SSD, which is about 5 times faster than an HDD. That means an M.2 NVMe SSD is roughly 20 times faster than an HDD.

Because of this faster speed, the SATA bus just isn't fast enough, so they use the same bus as your PCIe slots. They can use 4 lanes of the PCIe bus. They can be plugged into an M.2 slot if your motherboard supports them, but you can also buy an inexpensive PCIe card (which will fit into a PCIe slot, if you have one available) if your motherboard does not have an M.2 slot. Here's an example of a cheap card that I've found to work well. You mount the M.2 SSD to the card, then install the card in a PCIe slot. That said, if the only PCIe slot you have available is x1, it's kind of pointless to do so. Remember how I said it is roughly 4 times faster than a SATA SSD? And remember how I said it uses 4 PCIe lanes? Well, if you only use 1 PCIe lane, you're not going to see those same performance gains. At that point, you're better off using a SATA SSD. They do make them in the M.2 size/format. The Samsung 850 Evo is an example of a decent one. (Note: the 850 Evo is also made in the 2.5" size/format, so be cautious which one you buy if you go that direction. Also, note that many PCIe cards (and M.2 slots on motherboards, for that matter) only support NVMe/PCIe M.2 SSDs OR SATA M.2 SSDs but not both. The PCIe card I linked above will only work with NVMe/PCIe SSDs, for example. Therefore, the Samsung 850 Evo I just linked wouldn't be compatible with it.

I hope that helps to clarify. Feel free to respond with more info or questions if you have them.

u/Old-IT-Guy · 1 pointr/techsupport

I like the Samsung 860 Evo series. Data migration wizard they have works well. Just remember to get a Sata to USB3 cable if it’s a laptop. If it’s a Desktop you’ll need a tray and extra Sata cable. The wizard completely clones drive while Windows is running.


Here are links for parts and drives

Sata to USB 3 cable link

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0716JKJ68/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_tai_pRPCCb

Tray and extra Sata cable

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07JW41FJS/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_tai_YUPCCb

Samsung 860 Evo 1tb

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_OLSCCbPC4Y2JM

Hope this helps you

u/KLONDIKE007 · 1 pointr/buildapc

thank you for the reply, I didn't know I could have both the ssd and hard drive working at the same time. good to know about the tape/velcro option works. Looks like the mounting bracket is only 6$ though.

I know the 500 gb option would be a huge help on the budget, but I don't know how to setup the folders perfectly to manage space and the last thing I want is to run out of space. can you confirm that buying this would work in my computer?

ssd: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T

​

cable: https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-18-Inch-Cable-Locking-90-Degree/dp/B009GUXU52?ref_=fsclp_pl_dp_1

​

mounting bracket: https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-Mounting-Bracket-drive-CSSD-BRKT1/dp/B0090UG55A

u/eRa_Tension · 1 pointr/Windows10

I know you're asking what to do about it other than buy an SSD but there really isn't anything significant. I'd recommend buying this while it's still on sale if you can. I just got mine Sunday and coming from a 7200rpm HDD, it made it almost feel like a new system. It boots in about 15 seconds now and I can open anything right away.

u/GooZanTee · 1 pointr/buildapc

You need to get a different SSD, I'm pretty sure that one is for laptops by looking at the connectors. Plus one with sata connectors is one I would trust more, like this one https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_3?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1543546323&sr=1-3&keywords=1tb+ssd.

Plus its $70 cheaper! Other than that this looks like a decent build to run most games at medium to high settings with a decent framerate, depending on your monitor!!

u/Kimbroix · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Looks good but I would look into a bigger SSD. I have a 512 and still want more :(

You can get a 1tb Samsung for $150. More space than both your SSD and 2.5 combine

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=samsung+ssd&qid=1557413875&s=lawn-garden&sr=8-1

u/wax2142 · 1 pointr/buildmeapc

Hey dude, Singaporean here as well! And For you I'll recommend getting a new case and Motherboard +CPU.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1W3wurvEJFEEZkES875Os6DHOT2RuYqFDGB9Bl1iH2ZA/edit?usp=sharing

here is a spreadsheet that I use for people I help to build PCs for, with prices for stuff from Sim Lim (because having local warranty is good). But yeah, this is just for reference. You can always try amazon esp to save abit on older Ryzens and RAM but RMA may be a bit of a pain just so that you are aware. But for cases, the techware Nexus is pretty solid choice and I think it's only $50 SGD.

https://www.tecware.co/nexus

​

IIRC it's the same case that Aftershock uses on their more budget lineup.

​

In any case, If I were you, I'll either wait for the Ryzen 3000 series if I want local warranty, or if I dont mind shipping from amazon and potentially having to deal with overseas RMA, wait for Ryzen 2000 sales on amazon after the 3000 series launches. Or get the 1600 from amazon now. since the prices of those have been crazy cheap these days and TBH it wont bottleneck your RX 580 anyways.

SSD wise, how big do you want it? a 500GB WD Blue 3D is like $100SGD now, so not too different from say a 500GB 860 evo once you add in the conversion rate + Import Tax+ Shipping. But if you wait for a sale on the 1TB 860Evo, those could be quite nice, since I've seen amazon sell those for 130USD during sales, which is quite cheap considering the lower performance 860QVO is like $200SGD right now from local distributors (and the failure rate on Samsung SSDs are so low that the RMA risks are minimal). as for the 860 evo, no reason to buy one of those in SG now since for almost the same price you can get the Adata XPG SX8200 Pro but with performance matching or surpassing in some areas, the much vaulted 970 Evo.

​

Edit: Just saw the WD Blue 3D 1TB for $115USD on amazon.https://www.amazon.com/Blue-NAND-1TB-SSD-WDS100T2B0A/dp/B073SBQMCX/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1LPKB9DX5EIHI&keywords=wd+blue+3d+1tb&qid=1557331485&s=gateway&sprefix=WD+Blue+3d+1tb%2Caps%2C354&sr=8-12

u/benman27 · 1 pointr/computers

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Yi.2CbW39S6Q2 will this work?

u/Poodly_Doodly · 1 pointr/Beatmatch

The difference is huge. But it is much more cost-effective to buy one with an HDD and swap it out yourself for an SSD, instead of buying one with an SSD already in it. Depending on how large your library is, something like this could work.

Not only is performance much better with an SSD, but there is also less risk involved. HDDs are more susceptible to damage from drops and motion. Buying an older computer with an HDD means that that hard disk has been used before, and you have no idea how they treated it.

u/TheDreadfulSagittary · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

For upgrades you might pickup during the sale. First off if you have some budget leftover during the sale I'd recommend picking up 2 of these and one of these. The 120mm replaces the one that comes pre-installed in the back of the case I recommended, the other 2 fill in open spots other in the top or front of the case, depending on where/how you decide to install the cpu water cooler.

I could also recommend changing the ADATA 1TB SSD for one from Samsung.

You can also look for a more expensive motherboard, but whether or not that is better than what I already recommended is probably hard to tell if you don't know anything about them. In general the more expensive the better, but that's not the greatest guideline. You can message me the day of the sale for advice as well, but I can't guarentee I will be around to respond.

u/tattooQsss · 1 pointr/suggestapc

The K model CPU is only good for overclocking if you’re into that. The SSD upgrade is sweet, but I’d buy the Omen and a 1TB SSD separately for $100-125 while they’re on sale to save money and add it to the system. Super easy! I could send you guides or DM you.

Edit: This SSD deal is incredible for $127 and likely faster than the SSD in an iBuyPower PC.

u/Weird_With_A_Beard · 1 pointr/JDM_WAAAT

Yes. Both cache and parity are optional, but they both are good things and can be added later. Cache haelps speed things up and using an SSD for cache speeds it up more. I use a separate SSD (unassigned device) for my downloads/unpack which also helps a great deal.

This Samsung is very good and at it's lowest price ever. https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T

u/don2468 · 1 pointr/btc

>> $50 average fees and backlogs of weeks
>
>
> yeah, that's exactly how bitcoin is supposed to work when there is more demand for block space than there is supply. you have an issue with that?


lol, from the guy who was saying $128 dollars for a 1TB ssd is not cheap

> but even this particular scenario, without utxo growth, there is still storage growth and 150mb/10min - 1tb ssd drive (already not cheap) would only last ~50 days. 1gb blocks (our actual target to overtake VISA) - only 6 days.


& the icing on the cake


>> $50 average fees and backlogs of weeks
>
>
> yeah, that's exactly how bitcoin is supposed to work archived


as I had surmised earlier, you cannot be taken seriously and are a waste of my time. good luck!

u/retnemmoc · 1 pointr/buildapcsales

Because OP didn't list one.

The Samsung 860 EVO 1TB is still listed on amazon for 127.98 and it's currently out of stock.

u/martin1592 · 1 pointr/techsupport

Oh yeah sorry, I already installed these drivers, they're all correct now!

I bought the SSD straight from Amazon, but I'm from South America so returning it is sadly not an option.

I had never had any issue with hardware so far, but it's definitely possible. I just want to make sure it's a hardware problem before buying a new one, and confirm I'm not missing anything.

u/KarmaPolice10 · 1 pointr/PUBGXboxOne

Obviously don't know everyone's budgets here, but I would more highly recommend getting Samsung's internal + enclosure if you're willing to spend a little more.

​

It's $127 and 1TB of space, making it more future proofed. 256GB will barely get you anywhere these days with the size of games as they are. There's also a 500GB for $72.

Samsung EVO 1TB

​

I just think that 256GB size is too small even with the low cost. You're not going to want 2+ of these when you realize how great they are, but how few games it can fit.

u/legos45 · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

If you need a NVIDIA graphics card, how about the Acer Nitro 5 Spin? It is below budget. It has:

  • i5-8250U 4-core processor

  • 8 GB of RAM

  • 256 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD storage

  • 1080p 15.6" touchscreen display (pen compatible)

  • GTX 1050 4 GB graphics card

  • Weight of 4.9lbs and battery life up to 10 hours

    The laptop runs Windows 10 Home. Light games and partially-GPU demanding software won't be an issue. Sadly, a smaller SSD, but you can replace the hard drive with a 1 TB SATA SSD if you want to.
u/marbymarbs · 1 pointr/videography

Are they special in any way or can I just plug in a Samsung Evo 850 in there?

u/JagSKX · 1 pointr/laptops

The following Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD for $163 should be fine for your needs. Samsung SSDs are generally rated as the best out there whether it's SATA or the more expensive and higher performance NVMe.

​

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-Internal-MZ-76E500B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1540241920&sr=8-3&keywords=ssd%2Bhard%2Bdrive%2Bsata&dpID=31CElO-B3PL&preST=_SX300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch&th=1

​

I'm just waiting for 4TB SSDs to become more affordable at less than $500 for long term storage of large files.

u/WATCH_DOGS_SUCKS · 1 pointr/simracing

Just upgrade your storage.

__

Internal Drive

I'm assuming you have a 2013 model, but on any version of the PS4, replacing the internal drive is easy. It really only gets a little complicated if you want to back up your data beforehand, which you'll need to do if you want to keep your saved screenshots and video clips (though game save data and system settings will be backed up to the cloud if you have PS+, but make sure they're uploaded first). Keep in mind though that if you are thinking about re-downloading everything instead of backing up-- accepting the lost of your screenshots and video clips in the process-- this also means re-downloading all of your games.

__

The choice of what kind of drive you upgrade to is up to you.

  • If you want to considerably reduce your load times across the board, you could opt for a 1TB SSD. Sounds expensive, but SSDs have had a drastic decrease in cost over the years, so a fast, 1TB drive to cut down your load times isn't unreasonable.
  • Whether you want to get the most affordable upgrade possible or if you prioritize storage size and cost over speed, a standard HDD will do the job. NOTE: The drive options in the HDD links go past 2TB, but those larger drives are 15mm drives instead of 9mm. Long story short, nothing past 2TB will fit in a PS4 without modifications.
  • For a mix of speed and storage space / budget, you could pick up the in-between option, a hybrid drive. There's a bit of nuance to these drives, but if you're looking for the best of both worlds with a single drive, a hybrid drive does offer increased performance without sacrificing storage space.

    _

    To change out your PS4's internal drive (after backing up), turn off your PS4 and change out the drives. You'll have to get the PS4 update software from here, but, do not download it from the blue button, that's a different file than what you need. Scroll down to this part of the page and click on "Perform a new installation of the system software." Read through the instructions there, and you'll download the system software from the link under step 2. Then, turn your PS4 on in Safe Mode and install the system software.

    There, your system's drive is upgraded and installed, now you just restore from your PS+ cloud save or your physical drive backup.

    _


    External Drive

    If you don't want to deal with all of the work of changing out your internal drive, or maybe you want to run a dual-drive system, you can use an external drive.

    A good USB 3.0 drive makes a great option for bulk storage. This way you won't be limited by what can fit in your system, but more importantly, you'll have the option to separate slower bulk storage from a faster internal drive.

    If you included the above external drive with, say, a 500GB or a 1TB SSD, you can have your OS, capture data, and frequently played / bigger games on a faster drive, giving your better load times across the board, whilst still having a secondary bulk drive for your game collection. This is personally what I'd recommend.

    But again, if you're just looking for an easy way to increase you system's storage capacity without dealing with hard drive swapping or OS installation, you could just get a large-capacity external drive.

    __

    The Point is

    Instead of getting rid of games and getting new ones, just increase the amount of space you can use to store them.
u/cephelix · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

32gb seems to small and modern games are large. Why not just get a regular SSD? Prices have become more reasonable and it's large enough to store OS, games and then still have lots more space

u/ssupafuzz · 1 pointr/DestinyTheGame

I’m curious why you’d want to go external instead of replacing the HDD with an SSD. A 1TB internal SSD is only about $150. It’s a little more work to install obviously and you have to redownload all your games but it’s worth it IMO and is something I’m heavily considering doing myself.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T?ref_=fsclp_pl_dp_1

u/arckepplin · 1 pointr/AnthemTheGame

I've been using a hybrid HDD/SSD drive ever since I upgraded to a pro. There was a small yet still noticeable difference in performance, but now for Anthem I've finally decided to go full SSD. Did a lot of research before deciding on this one:

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB

​

Haven't installed yet... I'll be doing that this weekend. If you want, I can be back for an update after I test it out a bit, although obviously it will have to be on other games.

u/HeyJesseAe · 1 pointr/buildapc

If I'm getting this SSD do I need this mounting bracket to mount it in this case?

u/BringOutYaThrowaway · 1 pointr/LukeMianiYouTube

I own a 2011 iMac 27 - so I'm happy to help.

Your specs are fine in terms of processor, RAM, and GPU.

Really, the best bang for the buck, on THIS unit, is the drives. The main board has 2 SATA3 ports, and you should take advantage.

You need to get a decent SSD (1TB units are far cheaper now - DON'T GET A QVO MODEL), and I got an 8TB hard disk for the second drive. I didn't do Fusion this time. I use my iMac as a Plex server, and it ROCKS as that.

NOTE: If you take out the mainboard - take off the CPU heatsink and replace the thermal paste with good stuff (MX-4). Spread it thinly, clean your fins/fans, and you'll notice much quieter fans.

If you add a SATA3 drive, or replace the stock drive, you'll need the temperature sensor for each drive you add or replace. Amazon has it - let me know if you need a link to the right one.

u/Metalsand · 1 pointr/Games

> Also, for gaming, M2s vs standard SSD's are virtually worthless. You might save 0.2 seconds tops, for a drive that costs 3-4x what an equivalent SSD would be. I'm not sure where you seeing them at only 1.5x price.

Bear in mind that not all M.2's are designed equal - there actually exists M.2 form factor storage media that are actually SLOWER than the better SSD's on the market. This is because the smaller form factor is attractive for compact devices such as Chromebooks and Laptops. Chromebooks in particular, because of how the OS works, don't even include a SATA slot - they are M.2 only.

You'd be particularly wrong nowadays, because Intel started releasing medium performance nVME (in terms of nVME speeds) for $100 per TB. It has read/write sequential of 1800 equally in the 1TB model, and 1300 in the 512MB model. In comparison, a Samsung 1TB EVO SSD (which I would consider standard high-performance) costs $137 and yields 550MB/s sequential, and of course due to SATA max speeds, any SSD is limited to 750MB/s sequential since the max speed of SATA is 6Gb/s.

In that scenario, it would cost you MORE money to get a third of the performance, because the Intel 660p nVME I was mentioning only costs $95.

The nVME I have installed can reach max read speeds of 3,400MB/s (sequential), which is 4.5 times faster than the max speeds of the SATA bus itself, and about 68 times faster than an ordinary HDD. You're not wrong that if we assume they're using the best SSD on the market to compare, the speed difference won't be massive. However, the SSD will conversely cost far more to achieve those speeds. You would be right two years ago when nVME was still hella expensive, but it doesn't remotely hold true today.

u/yasha_ · 1 pointr/buildapc

Right now I'm trying to choose storage for my first PC build. I've seen a lot of "NVMe M.2 are not worth it if you are just doing gaming." Which is fine with me, I don't mind getting the 2.5'' SSD. Except right now I am looking at the Samsung 970 EVO 1TB SSD and the Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD and they are both on sale and the difference between the two is only $30. I was wondering, at this price range is the 970 EVO worth it? If it was at max price I would definitely not buy it, but right now it looks like this is a pretty good deal.

TL;DR

Looking to buy Storage. Should I get the Samsung 970 EVO 1TB SSD or save $30 and get the Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SSD Is the 970 EVO worth it at this price?

u/Slancha · 1 pointr/PS4

Dope! I'll probably do a little more research on how that one works with other devices (PC/Mac) and how well it works with my SSD

u/HelloThereamcat · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

It really depends on your use case, but yes it would, still not on par with the MSI's 1.5tb worth of ssd storage. Also good to note: The Ram Kit, was 160 usd new (on sale right now), The 860 Evo is 200 new, and the 970 Evo Plus is 130 new. The used computer had nearly 500 dollars in upgrades in it

u/Dvick85 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Difficult?

No, ideally you would keep your current HDD & add a SSD.

On this ssd you'd activate your windows copy or upgrade from a win7 to 10 via win7key.

My results when googling the average read/write speed of a 7200 rpm HDD is ...

For a modern 7200 RPM drive it ranges from about 80-160 MB/s today. 4k is the speed at reading/writingreally small files (4 kB in size). On many larger drives this is the smallest cluster size, so it's the lower speedlimit.

Granted that's a 5 year old statement from tom's hardware. ( first google link)
___

Even the exact same model version @ amazon in the SSD variety boasts :

Speeds are consistent, even under heavy workloads and multi-tasking allowing for faster file transfer. The 860 EVO performs at sequential read speeds up to 550 MB/s* with Intelligent TurboWrite technology, and sequential write speeds up to 520 MB/s.


Check it out over here : Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_cLNnDbA987G0B

____

Upgrading to ssd is godly, Boot speed from PC-off to using it < 15 seconds.

If anything I do takes longer then 30 seconds it's an indicator that an issue is present.

So, for as little as 4bucks for the next 30 days you could save your time and experience a world without loading times. Segsy.

Blazing fast. do itttttt

u/0reader · 1 pointr/Lenovo

So for an example's sake: would this evo 860 ssd be compatible with the laptop if put in the hard drive slot? And is installing it be the same way as installing a hard drive? And do I have to check the screw holes for the drives?

u/RangerPretzel · 1 pointr/videography

You're limited to the maximum throughput of USB3.0 or 3.1 (depending on which model you have and which ports you have on your PC.)

USB3.0 has a max speed of ~500MB/s

USB3.1 is ~1000MB/s

If you need more throughput than that, then you should look into getting an NVMe drive and connecting it directly to the motherboard (assuming that your motherboard has those connectors.) NVMe drives can push to well over 3000MB/s

EDIT:

Sabrent USB 3.1 to USB-A adapter ($10): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07Q4921YC/

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB ($130): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/

This is a cheap solution.

u/ascZend · 1 pointr/buildapc

I'm in the early stages of building my replacement gaming desktop and looking at SSD options. I will need at least 1 TB and prefer the M.2 form factor for simplicity, but I'm not opposed to 2.5" drives. I don't necessarily need NVMe for my use case, but the deals today on Samsung's lineup are tempting:

​

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB 2.5" SATA - $129.99

Samsung 860 EVO 1TB M.2 SATA - $154.99

Samsung 970 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe - $169.99

Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB M.2 NVMe - $217.99

​

The 860 EVO 2.5" is within $2 of its all-time low, and the 970 EVO and EVO Plus are both at all-time lows. It's $25 more to go from 2.5" SATA to M.2 SATA, and $15 more on top of that to go from SATA to NVMe. Is it worth it to go NVMe or should I stick with SATA? Price isn't a big concern, I'm just looking for good value.

u/Teraneurysm · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

This would be a good choice, and 256Gb is definitely lacking if you have tons of games on your library

Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB 2.5 Inch SATA III Internal SSD (MZ-76E1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_vRzlDbEWZ219F

u/Jaffool · 1 pointr/buildapc

You can get 1tb SSD for a similar price to your 250gb SSD/1tb HDD. This one for example.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078DPCY3T/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_zg0jDbAJA91KK

Get a 16gb (2x8) ram package instead of two 1x8 just for the deals, and I'd look for at least 3000hz speeds.

I haven't heard many things about the 590 but IIRC it's not worth the incremental gains compared to a <$200 580. If you're only doing 60hz 1080p gaming anyway, the 580 will be more than capable.

u/capfan67 · 1 pointr/Minecraft

These days, the PCs I build have only SSD. ..and yes, good SSD drives radically improve performance, both game/application performance and OS performance.

The obvious down side is that they're significantly more expensive than mechanical drives.

u/tmitifmtaytji · 0 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Um, not enough to buy a mechanical keyboard. They are the same drives:

Samsung m.2 1TB 860 EVO $297.99:
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-860-SATA-Internal-MZ-N6E1T0BW/dp/B07822Z77M/

Samsung 2..5" 1TB 860 EVO 289.99:
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Inch-Internal-MZ-76E1T0B-AM/dp/B078DPCY3T/

You must be thinking of NVMe drives.

u/MK_Terry · 0 pointsr/computer

Wow I didn't realize SSDs have gotten so cheap.

u/yltercesksumnolE · 0 pointsr/pcmasterrace

You can totally score a 1tb SSD on amazon around your price point and while you can can a crappy offbrand one for less, you can score aSamsung 860 EVO for just a little more

u/GlassDeviant · 0 pointsr/Windows10

Upgrade. 1TB 2.5" and M.2 SSDs are so cheap now. Fits the OS and all my programs with plenty of room to spare, then all the data files can go on the HDD.

Some examples I looked up just now (for reference):

Crucial 1TB M.2 $99

Samsung 1TB 2.5" $140

Samsung 2TB 2.5" $280