3530
#3 in Internal computer networking cards
Use arrows to jump to the previous/next product

Reddit reviews on TP-Link AC1300 PCIe Wireless Wifi PCIe Card | 2.4G/5G Dual Band Wireless PCI Express Adapter | Low Profile, Long Range, Heat Sink Technology | Supports Windows 10/8.1/8/7/XP (Archer T6E)

Sentiment score: 58
Reddit mentions: 139

We found 139 Reddit mentions of TP-Link AC1300 PCIe Wireless Wifi PCIe Card | 2.4G/5G Dual Band Wireless PCI Express Adapter | Low Profile, Long Range, Heat Sink Technology | Supports Windows 10/8.1/8/7/XP (Archer T6E). Here are the top ones.

Lightning Fast Speed: Upgrade your WiFi card to 867 Mbps over 5G hertz or 400 Mbps over 2.4G hertzMore stable performance: heat sink technology distributes heat away from core components to improve reliability and performance; Built for high-performance computing, such as online gaming and 4K Ultra HD video streamingUltimate range: increased wireless range with 2x external antennas to ensure a greater range of Wi-Fi connection and stability. Detachable antennasCompatibility: Supports Windows 10 Please upgrade to 17025 insider preview build/ 8. 1/ 8/ 7/ XPIndustry Leading Support: 2-year warranty and free 24/7 technical support

Found 139 comments on TP-Link AC1300 PCIe Wireless Wifi PCIe Card | 2.4G/5G Dual Band Wireless PCI Express Adapter | Low Profile, Long Range, Heat Sink Technology | Supports Windows 10/8.1/8/7/XP (Archer T6E):

u/Switchen · 27 pointsr/buildapc

Managed to find a couple options.

Card

Card

Dongle

I don't have any personal recommendations for you, but these ones look pretty good.

u/5812340681 · 16 pointsr/buildapcsales

HAVE I GOT NEWS FOR YOU.

DEAL OF THE DAY.

TP-Link Archer T6E AC1300 PCIe Wireless WiFi Network Adapter Card PC Heatsink Technology https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_ZYRMBb6J8MCZF

u/randolf_carter · 12 pointsr/buildapc

Don't get a USB one. PCI-Express cards are more reliable, have larger antennas that can be adjusted. USB devices can be subject to random disconnects, poor bandwidth negotiations with other USB device, poor heat dissipation, and shoddy drivers. You can certainly find a USB wifi dongle that works for you, but I wouldn't risk reliability on your network connection.

I have this tp link AC1300 card and its working great on my wife's desktop that recently got moved too far to run ethernet to.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016K0896K/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

edit: yes thats the same one you are looking at, it works fine

u/RearEchelon · 12 pointsr/buildapc

5 GHz isn't great at going through walls. If it's directly under you, you should be okay, but my phone switches to the 2.4 GHz network when I go into the bathroom in my apartment. I'd get dual-band just to be safe.

I'm not in Canada, but amazon.ca has this one. It's pretty highly-rated.

u/MoChuang · 5 pointsr/buildmeapc

Just get a USB wifi adapter. Something like this or if you want one thats smaller and less in the way you can get this one. The smaller one probably has less range and lower max speed.

Or if you have extra expansion slots and need faster wifi you can get a PCIe wifi card like this.

NOTE: I haven't done much research on this so the listed products are just examples of the types of solutions available. By no means am I recommending these as the best in their respective classes. I just own TP-link stuff and trust them is all.

u/Matt7hdh · 4 pointsr/SteamOS

If you want to be safe, here is a list of networking stuff that's compatible with Debian. Though I wouldn't worry too much about compatibility issues with wireless cards in steamos. I got this one and it works great even though I don't think it's on the list.

u/ChefBoyBigD · 3 pointsr/buildapc

Cool beans! It's this model by the way!

Let me know if you change your mind

u/Bman854 · 3 pointsr/buildmeapc

No but you could get a PcIE wifi card with while keeping it in your budget.

u/Invigilatorr · 3 pointsr/buildapc

TP-Link AC1300 Wireless Dual Band PCI-Express Adapter (Archer T6E) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_jMT9yb4M2R33H

Excuse the formatting, I'm on mobile atm, I've had this one for a while now and it's delivered great speeds and most importantly it's reliable.

u/crackers10 · 3 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

I bought this one a few weeks ago https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B016K0896K/ref=pe_3034960_236394800_TE_dp_i1
its been working well, easily keeps up with my 150/150 fiber internet through a wall

u/-m_x- · 3 pointsr/pcmasterrace

I also found this It may suit you better.

u/Torschlusspaniker · 3 pointsr/techsupport

most usb dongles suck.

The mini ones really suck.

I have had good luck with linksys and Asus AC devices

WUSB6300 worked well.

You are better off getting an internal card.

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Low-profile/dp/B016K0896K/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1472995505&sr=8-5&keywords=wifi+card+ac

tl;dr: All of those are shit , get a good one.


u/daebro · 2 pointsr/buildapc

I have a Gigabyte Intel Z68 ATX DDR3 2133 LGA 1155 Motherboard GA-Z68A-D3H-B3

Just got upgraded to 5ghz comcast modem and need to get a wireless card that can handle it but I'm not sure what wireless card to get. Some are very cheap and some are really expensive. Any tips?

EDIT: bought one of these: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016K0896K/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

u/DeepHeadSpace · 2 pointsr/USF

There should be a rule against off campus housing using misleading names like that.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B016K0896K?psc=1&ref=ppx_pop_mob_b_asin_title

I have this WiFi card and it's really good. A little more pricey than most but definitely way more reliable and well made. I've seen it do a gig up and down on 5GHz and you probably won't have to replace it years.

u/sephrinx · 2 pointsr/buildapc

I suggest an internal card. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016K0896K/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

There aren't many USB cards that function well with Windows 10 that I have been able to find. I've owned about 5 of them because of this. Switched to an internal card and life is much better.

u/firefiend71 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

I'd imagine that card would work with that board simply based on the PCI slots on the board and the ones on the card. But looking at a new one, [this](https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K /ref=pd_sbs_147_1?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B016K0896K&pd_rd_r=508J7P5CGPPTDYECVX9H&pd_rd_w=uD3e3&pd_rd_wg=5Bq6W&psc=1&refRID=508J7P5CGPPTDYECVX9H&dpID=41RfjuRyrIL&preST=_SX300QL70&dpSrc=detail) card seems like a solid choice. It has better max speeds than your current one for 5Ghz and 2.4 Ghz.

u/glowinghamster45 · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

I'm not familiar with the one you picked up, so I can't really say much on it other than that usually doesn't bode well. The card you linked will be decent, I would still recommend taking a slight step up though. I don't think I've ever spend more than ~$30 on a network card, you don't need to spend $60 to get something quality.

In this day and age, I would say to at least get a dual band n adapter. If you can find a good deal on one, an ac adapter would future proof you a bit better, but it's not totally necessary.

u/Zach1liles · 2 pointsr/techsupport

Might be time for a new NIC, can't find a whole lot of info on your current one but if your other devices are doing fine in your room I would try replacing the card. I have this one and it works great although I use a wired connection now.

u/pecopls · 2 pointsr/bapccanada

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
CPU | AMD - Ryzen 5 1600 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor | $264.99 @ Amazon Canada
Motherboard | ASRock - AB350M Pro4 Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard | $89.50 @ Vuugo
Memory | Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory | $174.99 @ Newegg Canada
Storage | Samsung - 850 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive | $209.99 @ Newegg Canada
Video Card | Gigabyte - GeForce GTX 1080 8GB WINDFORCE OC 8G Video Card | $659.99 @ Amazon Canada
Case | Phanteks - ECLIPSE P400 ATX Mid Tower Case | $84.99 @ Newegg Canada
Power Supply | SeaSonic - FOCUS Plus Gold 850W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply | $139.99 @ Newegg Canada
Operating System | Microsoft - Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit | $116.50 @ Vuugo
Monitor | BenQ - XL2730Z 27.0" 2560x1440 144Hz Monitor | $529.99 @ Memory Express
| Total (before mail-in rebates) | $2295.93
| Mail-in rebates | -$25.00
| Total | $2270.93
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-08-21 13:34 EDT-0400 |

Notes:

  • Moved down to the Ryzen 1600. It's the same chip as the 1600x, with the upside of coming with a stock cooler, and the downside of marginally worse overclocking ability. $300 for the 1600x is a good price though, so if you'd like the extra 100-200MHz in overclocking ability, pair the 1600x with a CRYORG H7. I think the money is better used elsewhere, though.
  • The board you selected has on-board wifi, it's cheaper to purchase the board + wifi card separately (although it's slightly less cool). This is the wifi card I'd suggest.
  • A slightly faster set of RAM (also marginally cheaper)
  • For an extra $100 you can get the GTX 1080.
  • Included an alternate case just for your reference.
  • The Power Supply is super overkill in terms of wattage, but at $120 after Mail-in rebate its a good value. If you'd rather not submit Mail-in rebates, my next choice would be the EVGA G2 550W.
  • Included a different monitor just as reference. This one is much more expensive, but it's 1440p (pretty!). Ultimately, the choice of monitor is something that is hard for an outsider to decide upon.
  • Also, you don't have to buy Windows. A legally installed unpaid for Windows loses very little in terms of functionality vs paid for Windows.

    Overall, this build is actually several hundred cheaper than what you've selected, with the only sacrifice coming from your CPU (and a small sacrifice at that). The savings allowed you to move up to a faster graphics card, and gives you some room to potentially spend more on a monitor if you'd like.
u/Zsilfen · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Check this one out, I have heard that it is good. Might want to look at PowerLine.

u/It_Was_Jeff · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

I was more asking how far the signal has to travel. The big bonus that more expensive cards give you is more range, but if he's only going to be a room away then the range matters a bit less.

If price legitimately doesn't matter and his PC is pretty far away from the router or there are thick walls between the PC and router, this thing gets great reviews:

https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-802-11AC-Wireless-AC3100-Adapter-PCE-AC88/dp/B01H9QMOMY

Never personally used that one, but a lot of people seem to like it. The drivers are a bit wonky though. If that's overkill, I own the card linked below and have never had any issues with it, and for the price I honestly don't know if you can beat it performance-wise. I would recommend it to anyone unless they need some serious range:

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-Heatsink-Technology-T6E/dp/B016K0896K

u/Lastnv · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Use a pci wifi card. Something like this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_I6BPBbJ5VBN1A
It will get you a better connection than using a usb adapter. It just slots into a pci slot on your motherboard, usually in one of the slots below your graphics card.

u/llamasking · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Have you considered a power line Ethernet adapter?

If that is still out of the question, these are some usb wifi adapers and if you want an internal adapter, I'd go with this.

u/red286 · 2 pointsr/bapcsalescanada

Well, then the Archer T9E is a good option. It's AC1900 with 3 beamforming antennas. Should be good for pretty much anything, but might be overkill. I've no clue what Rogers is giving customers these days, it just says "AC", but that could be anywhere from 750 to 5400. Most likely it's 1200 or 1350 though (I'd assume they'd include the same router with each package for simplicity's sake, and the gigabit package has to have a router of at least 1000, but has no benefit from anything over that). You could go for the Archer T6E if you wanted to save a bit of money, since it's AC1300 so it'll still be plenty fast, but as it's a two antenna card, the signal strength wouldn't be as good, though you've said that's not really a concern.

u/blacklegbrian · 2 pointsr/buildapc

To start off with, we need to know what kind of motherboard is in your PC to make sure it has a free PCIe slot. Can you provide us a model? I would recommend this WiFi card ; TP-Link AC1300, as long as you have a free slot.

If you are on Windows 10, it will have a generic driver it will use that will get you online. Then go to the manufacturers website to grab the most up to date driver.

​

Honestly, I would try and run a cable that 30-40 feet if you can make it look tidy.

u/Engine_Jake · 2 pointsr/Twitch

If you really, really, REALLY need to go wifi then you have to at least be able to limit the bandwidth of everyone else. Its really important that you do this, otherwise you're probably gonna run into problems when other people use the connection. I'd suggest having different ssid's. One for everyone else in which they have access to a minimum, limited bandwidth and one for you, with unlimited bandwidth and no restrictions.

I know your concern its about the adapter. I'd personally would use a better one, something like this might be more reliable:

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K/ref=mp_s_a_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1549912557&sr=8-2&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=tp+link+wifi+pci&dpPl=1&dpID=41RfjuRyrIL&ref=plSrch

Just my two cents, I understand your position so if you need any help hit me up

Cheers

u/Caleb10E · 2 pointsr/buildapc

Motherboards with built-in wireless networking aren't very common unless you're buying a MiniITX board or a top-of-the-line ATX board. You need to buy a separate wireless network adapter like this one and plug it into one of your motherboard's PCIe x1 slots.

u/awaythrow810 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

What sort of router/internet speeds do you have? If you're going to do wifi in an apartment, using the 5GHz band is almost a necessity. Asus makes a pretty good model and the TP Link Archer wifi cards are also pretty good. If you have internet faster than 500mbps or plan to in the near future, you may want to spend the extra $10-20 on the AC 1900 models.

u/Miniaturized · 2 pointsr/buildapc

I personally do not have one, so anyone else is welcome to chime in, but these look good to me:

Cheaper one
If you have 5GHz wifi
If you want Bluetooth

The PCI adapters will be more expensive, so if you aren't doing anything that critical you could stick with the USB and save some money.

u/onastyinc · 2 pointsr/googlefiber

Three options.

the first/PCIe one is the cleanest as the device will live in the computer and make the desktop act like a laptop in respect to how wireless networks function.


  • wireless ac via PCIe
  • wireless ac via PCIe

    The second/USB one is pretty much the same but will have less performance due to antenna diversity and the USB interface.

  • Wireless ac via USB
  • Wireless ac via USB


    The third/router is probably the most ideal as it will allow the computer to continue using the onboard ethernet, and give you additional ports to plug other things into. It does have the complexity of having to switch the router into bridge/client mode, but that isn't very hard.

  • Router in bridge mode

    As of now the OnHub/GF equipment doesn't interop directly. They are separate business units, and operate independently. It's possible they will integrate in the future but as of now they are on distinct paths from each other.
u/HyndeSyte2020 · 2 pointsr/buildmeapc

Assuming PCI-E: I just got this one this past week and have been thrilled with it. My isp speed is 1gbps and at a range of roughly 60 feet and four walls, a steel shelf full of WiFi enabled 3D printers and my desk between my desktop and the router I’m seeing ~560mbps.

TP-Link Archer AC1300 WiFi Card PCIe Adapter with Heatsink Technology (T6E) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apip_qNOEmyTBPgtrD

u/FDL1 · 2 pointsr/KSU

I mean, it does have an affiliate code in it. Non-affiliate link: https://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Express/dp/B016K0896K

u/TheDreadfulSagittary · 2 pointsr/buildapcforme

Usually there is some thermal paste pre-applied to metal base of the cooler, or a small amount of paste will be included.

As for tools a screw driver should be all you need (a long one can be useful to reach), an ESD wrist wrap. can be useful but to be honest I don't use it myself, just try to rid yourself of any static electricity (one other easy way to do this is to touch your PC case while the PSU is installed and plugged in, it has a ground connection).

There are PCIe add in cards that you can buy for wifi, something like TP-Link T6E is fairly common.

Feel free as well to hit my up about any specific X570 recommendations come launch.

u/Rayezilla · 2 pointsr/techsupport

could also be iffy router, but I would highly recommend using an internal wifi card instead, like this

u/Madshadow85 · 2 pointsr/HomeNetworking

Just put this in a fresh build for my son. Getting full speeds over my WiFi. 50mb connection. I did read in the comments on amazon to use Asus Broadcom drivers and not the tplink ones. So far so good. TP-Link AC1300 PCIe Wireless Wifi PCIe Card | 2.4G/5G Dual Band Wireless PCI Express Adapter | Low Profile, Long Range, Heat Sink Technology | Supports Windows 10/8.1/8/7/XP (Archer T6E) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_J00uDbKKS27JT

u/CBRjack · 2 pointsr/HomeNetworking

The C7 is an excellent choice. I would pair it with a TP-Link T6E wireless adapter for your PC. If you want a USB adapter, look at the T4U instead.

For your modem, there is always the SB6141 that works well, but I think it's getting phased out in favor of the 6183. The 6183 might be overkill for your connection, but it will last you a long time.

u/JediHighCouncil · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

USB adapters work fine. You could also get an internal PCIe adapter, which any motherboard with an extra PCIe slot that isn't covered by the GPU would support, including the one I suggested in the build.

u/Hi_Im_Noot · 1 pointr/CabaloftheBuildsmiths

I have a question, would this Wifi card be a good choice as well?

u/Deacalum · 1 pointr/buildapc

I use this one, which is also the best seller for these types of cards on Amazon. I've had it for over a year and it's been great. Based on your router and isp plan comments in other threads, this would probably work well for you.

u/bbqsauceasaurusrex · 1 pointr/computers

This is the list from the post. He bought the suggested parts.

Published on Jul 5, 2019

Gaming Benchmarks & Prices for this PC: https://youtu.be/L8hmFm_Z2NM Here is my step by step tutorial on how to build my $600 Spark V2 gaming PC! Links to parts, tools, and resources are below. How to install drivers on this PC: https://youtu.be/uDHeIx9CNxA How to install windows on this PC: https://youtu.be/AfC5ViBiRQM Social Media: INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/scattervolt DISCORD: https://scattervolt.com/discord TWITTER: https://twitter.com/MarcAranibar ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- Parts List: Buy the CPU here: US: https://amzn.to/2RLpfGS UK: https://amzn.to/2IZGktR CA: https://amzn.to/2Xe48mu EU: https://amzn.to/2FINgcH Buy the CPU Cooler here: (optional) US: https://amzn.to/2NmbjVh UK: https://amzn.to/2YpAib8 CA: https://amzn.to/2LuP2BR EU: N/A Buy the MOTHERBOARD here: US: https://amzn.to/2Xa6VZb UK: https://amzn.to/2FJUYU1 CA: https://amzn.to/2NxkQJk (ATX version, cheaper) EU: https://amzn.to/2xjq00m Buy the RAM here: (different brand, same specs) US: https://amzn.to/2LzikiK UK: https://amzn.to/2IXjWkW CA: https://amzn.to/2JjrtJN (single stick, still 8GB) EU: https://amzn.to/2YjTgA8 (2800mhz, still fast though) Buy the GPU here: US: https://amzn.to/2ZXbCal (different model, cheaper) UK: https://amzn.to/2xmm3Z2 CA: https://amzn.to/2RLlVLI EU: https://amzn.to/2JgfXyG (different model, cheaper) Buy the SSD here: US: https://amzn.to/2Ls5ClV UK: https://amzn.to/2XftxY6 CA: https://amzn.to/2RQ59ve EU: https://amzn.to/2xlJstn Buy the PSU here: US: https://amzn.to/2XEqgWp UK: https://amzn.to/2xrGu6x CA: https://amzn.to/2XJW9gi EU: https://amzn.to/2XeVHlW Buy the CASE here: US: https://amzn.to/2XEwuWm UK: https://amzn.to/2xvOTpX CA: https://amzn.to/2NpVKMe EU: https://amzn.to/2IYym44 (Optional) RGB case fans: US: https://amzn.to/2XhH7z4 UK: https://amzn.to/2LsQmW9 CA: https://amzn.to/2XgfNMX EU: https://amzn.to/2J2T82u ---------------------------------------------------------------- PC Upgrades: If you have $25 More to Spend: (SSD Upgrade) US: https://amzn.to/2Nxsvaa UK: https://amzn.to/2Lzj8Ei CA: https://amzn.to/2RONZy6 EU: https://amzn.to/2LptJlc If you have $75 More to Spend: (CPU Upgrade) US: https://amzn.to/2XhOou4 UK: https://amzn.to/2FCNzpB CA: https://amzn.to/2XBPkxr EU: https://amzn.to/2XimLWs -------------------------------------------------------------------- PC Accessories/Building Tools: Handy Magnetic Screw Driver Kit: US: http://amzn.to/2Fdh03o UK: http://amzn.to/2FWsndf CA: http://amzn.to/2FROG3u DE: N/A Bios Speaker (for troubleshooting): US: http://amzn.to/2FokCi6 UK: http://amzn.to/2FokKOC CA: http://amzn.to/2oK2DsU DE: http://amzn.to/2FTLSmv USB Wifi Adapter: (For a wireless connection) US: https://amzn.to/2WsrqE3 UK: https://amzn.to/2JNrNDp CA: https://amzn.to/2M8FXk9 EU: https://amzn.to/2VVLEl8 PCI Card Wifi Adapter: (For a faster wireless connection) US: https://amzn.to/2XCtslr UK: https://amzn.to/2IYnnrw CA: https://amzn.to/2ZXccVz EU: https://amzn.to/2FHN65u Cat7 Ethernet Cable: (For a wired connection, fastest, plug into router) US: https://amzn.to/2W9dShq UK: https://amzn.to/2MfphaM CA: https://amzn.to/2W4XNt0 EU: https://amzn.to/2JK1DkP Windows 10 Home: US: https://amzn.to/2EByu7c UK: https://amzn.to/2HEIIWj CA: https://amzn.to/2YRlbqJ EU: https://amzn.to/2YRIxgc *Here's how to install Windows 10 for free on your own USB drive: https://youtu.be/AfC5ViBiRQM

u/LordCommanderBunny · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

This is a little above your price range but it's a good bang for your buck.

u/MySuperLove · 1 pointr/buildapc

I need help picking a new wifi card

I just switched my internet service to Brighthouse. Our modem/router produces two wifi networks, one listed as 2g and the other as 5g. My Amazon Echo, my cell phone, and my roommate's computer all show the 5g network, but my PC doesn't. The 5g network is significantly faster on his PC than the 2g network is on mine.

https://i.imgur.com/A69tlp3.jpg

I'm a computer noob, but I think this should show you guys what kind of network card I have.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016K0896K/ref=od_aui_detailpages00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I typed wifi card into Amazon and this product is what came up. Will this be compatible with my Windows 10 PC? Will it be able to access the 5g network?

Thanks for any input.

u/CopOnTheRun · 1 pointr/rva

$20 - This pcie wifi adapter. Drivers weren't playing well with my OS, so I had to get another one. I don't have the original packaging unfortunately.

u/mr_mikey11 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

So that is totally normal, the ejectable graphics card? I thought it was an error. hmm... I might try to upgrade again. My wifi card is the TP-LINK Archer T6E AC1300 Dual Band Wireless PCI Express Adapter

u/KoloHickory · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

It is probably some driver/setting error on your pc rather than the pci card being defective, but I cannot help you because I do not know the solution. All i know is that there have been some problems with pci wireless adapters and windows 10 with connectivity/driver issues.

If you want an ac adapter, i recommend looking into this. It will most likely work more "smoothly"

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B016K0896K/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1483486423&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=ac+tp+link+pci&dpPl=1&dpID=41ekGGCFn0L&ref=plSrch

u/argama87 · 1 pointr/microsoft

I purchased a TP-Link AC Wireless card 2 months ago and it has worked flawlessly. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B016K0896K/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I have seen a few older devices that are having issues with the newest windows versions that had no problem in 1803 and before.

u/univisionboyz · 1 pointr/techsupport

try the solution based on amazon review here https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-Adapter-Heatsink-Technology/product-reviews/B016K0896K/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_viewpnt_rgt?pageNumber=1&filterByStar=critical

work for me...

" I have the AC1300 Archer T6E card. On my windows 10 PC it caused crashes and would make the screen go black. I just contacted TP-link support and they provided me with a public firmware version 7.35.317.1. Do a search for the firmware number and it will bring up Asus broadcom drivers. Download those and install them. I will report back if the issues continue but for not it seems to have helped. Asus x99 7.35.317.1 drivers.


Also this is the same card with the same FCC filings as the Rosewill AC1300 card. "

u/volcomador64 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

This is the PCIe wireless adapter that I use in my PC works great. Unfortunately it look like the price has shoot up I got it at half the price it is now.

u/GlassTalon · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

With that low a budget I suggest getting a use Optiplex 790 MT i5 $120. Upgrade the HDD to a SSD and upgrade the PSU $45 and add your current GPU for a good system in the cheap. Plus this [WiFi card] ( https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_DVb8AbQ3ZC409) $45.

$210 total. You'll have enough to upgrade to a better GPU.

u/[deleted] · 1 pointr/buildapc

A $20 Ethernet cable would make your PC very happy, but if you can't then this is what I would recommend since it works well for my friend.

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1526504545&sr=1-4&keywords=pcie+wifi+card

u/BenR31415 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

The wireless card in your partlist will be prone to interference from other devices in crowded areas and other RF devices like mircowaves, but if you don't live in a middle city apartment it'll probably be fine. For better reliability you might want to look at something like this: https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K/

Motherboards with onboard WiFi will cost more than the price of a PCIe wireless card, but they tend to be better quality boards. The wireless performance between the card I linked and something onboard will be pretty much the same.

As for general build feedback, I'd swap the 9700k for the 8700k and take that budget out of the cooler, it'll perform quite a bit better in newer games that are more thread limited. Something like https://pcpartpicker.com/list/JRdCxG

u/MisterMeowgi_ · 1 pointr/buildmeapc

It's a good build for what you want to do. The only thing I would change is the SSD. Storage is kinda similar to the power supply, quality over quantity. This is a much better SSD for slightly more. This is also a better and cheaper wifi adapter.

u/phrostphantom · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Also, for roughly $10 more, this wireless card will get you much further and not need and upgrade for a while. It's AC spec, 1300Mbps max. You would need an AC router to take advantage of that, but the N spec of the other one you listed is getting old.

https://www.amazon.ca/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Selectable-Stability/dp/B016K0896K/ref=sr_1_15?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1506396008&sr=1-15&keywords=ac+wireless+adapter

u/XmentalX · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

I use https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-PCI-Express-Wireless-Archer-T6E/dp/B016K0896K/ well I don't use it currently I am hardwired gigabit but when my internet goes down or such I tether using it.

u/nerdthatlift · 1 pointr/buildapc

TP-Link Archer C7 is very good budget router under 100 dollars. However, you might want to upgrade your network card to AC too. Something like this would still be within budget range.

u/Mksist · 1 pointr/buildapc

I use this one. Works pretty well right out of the box.

u/ddddamn · 1 pointr/buildapc

Guam. And most vendors don't ship here which leaves mostly Amazon. I found this, though. Do you think this should work?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=twister_B01I6O53O4?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

I've never heard of the brand before but the reviews seems somewhat promising... and it's not as expensive as some of the other more familiar brands either.

u/JediPato · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

TP-Link Archer AC1300 WiFi Card PCIe Adapter with Heatsink Technology (T6E) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_C21QAb3DRPRJS
I got this one and I have no issues at all

u/MrSchram · 1 pointr/buildapcsales

Thanks for the info. While this is a USB it seems like a steal for a AC wifi connection.

https://m.newegg.com/products/0XM-00B5-00004

I'm currently reading up on why a PCIE card is better though there seems to be many out there like this one.


TP-Link Archer AC1300 WiFi Card PCIe Adapter with Heatsink Technology (T6E) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_c_api_KNhRAbY1HDN2A

u/jongery · 1 pointr/computers

Nothing will beat a wired connection. And you will never get that download speed on wifi... You have no access to your basement or attic to run ethernet? 100 feet is cheap.... Pair it with a 5 port gb switch for your desk would be a nice upgrade if needed...


With ~40 feet of distance, and everything in between like walls and doors, even with the best USB or PCI adapter, there will be signal loss.

A good way to test and see connectivity is to use your cell phone where your PC is located... speedof.me in your web browser, or the Speed Test Ookla app... Also, I know on android, you can see the properties of the access point you are connected to and see the current speed you care connected at, ( n130, dual band n300, ac900~ish)

The Gigabyte GC-WB867D-I you linked would be a decent choice, especially being it has a better positionable antenna... Anything PCI and that type of antenna would be better than usb.

TP Link could work as well

u/GrimmBeard84 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

TP link and Asus make some pretty good ones. Look for something that is wireless AC rated dont go for the old N standard its dead but still on amazon and stuff. If you are going to be in a spot with bad signal get one that has remote mounted antennas. For general use this one will work just fine though.

​

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=wifi+card&qid=1573006713&sr=8-3

u/verblox · 1 pointr/OculusQuest

I'm going to try ALVR through a hotspot. First I need an 802.11ac card. Which one would be better:

https://www.amazon.com/ASUS-PCE-AC56-Wireless-Express-Adapter/dp/B00JNA337K

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K

One is $20 more expensive, so I'm wondering if it's worth it. The cheaper one actually also supports Bluetooth, which I don't currently have on my PC, so if the ALVR performance is equivalent, it would be a better choice.

u/mathens247 · 1 pointr/buildapc

My current WiFi adapter in my computer will only connect to my schools crap WiFi on 2.4Ghz and I found out the problem is that I need an adapter that can read/handle 5Ghz and both of these say they do but I don’t know the difference between them and was wanting to see if it’s worth getting the more expensive one (Tp-link ac1300)

card one ac1200

card two Tp-link 1300

u/Eternal_Ohm · 1 pointr/buildapc

For RGB according to the manual at the bottom left of the motherboard there's a RGB header labeled "RGB_HEADER1 it should be the third port going from left to right of the motherboard (Assuming motherboard is in upright position) for Wi-Fi you could go with a NIC such as this one https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-Technology-Archer-T6E/dp/B016K0896K?psc=1&SubscriptionId=AKIAJB3PKOUXZY2U5MTQ&tag=pcgamingbui02-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=2025&creative=165953&creativeASIN=B016K0896K

u/nebyl1163 · 1 pointr/bapcsalescanada

Yeah I'm using wireless, and sometimes it'll cut and show no networks detected for a little while, which makes me think its definitely the card. I'm using this right now fwiw.


I'm considering replacing the card with the AC1300 or AC1900 when it completely dies, or just trying out powerwire ethernet but I'm not sure what's best.

u/onliandone · 1 pointr/buildapc

There is the Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming WiFi. But I'd go with a wifi card like https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K/, but ideally I'd evade wifi. If it's absolutely impossible to have a regular cable maybe you can use powerline instead, https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Powerline-ethernet-Adapter-TL-PA4010KIT/dp/B00AWRUICG/? That's way better than wifi.

> Also, any reason I should bump up to the 9700k?

I'd say no. The 9700K is a little bit faster and has 8 cores, while the 8700K only has 6. But the 8700K has 12 threads and the 9700K only 8, which in many cases removes the performance difference. See here, the performance difference is minimal.

u/Eversung · 1 pointr/buildapc

I switched to this from two crappy USB dongles and the difference was huge.

u/MatrixDrag0n · 1 pointr/buildapc

Alright. Your build looks good in of itself.

If you still need to drop the price then the CPU could be a good place to start. (Although with the sale on the i7 with the current build in OP your total comes to around $1260 so I'd say you're fine)

Just want to stress how 802.11ac Dual Band is basically 2-3 times faster than the 802.11n standard (which was like 2013 standard). If your router doesn't support AC, then yeah you could go with that one, but if it does (as most modern routers do), then maybe this or this or the ones mentioned in my previous comment.

Sorry for the late comment, was like 1 AM where I live and well... sleeep

u/unofficialmoderator · 1 pointr/buildapc

It’s doesn’t tell me if it’s 802.11 or not.

This is amazons best seller. Would this be better?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_RqgOBb9YQCHEQ

u/tdog473 · 1 pointr/UCSC

There's no ethernet in several RHs now, if you have a desktop you'll need to install a wifi card into your computer.

Here's the wifi card I plan to buy: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/?coliid=I1W9S6IUSCKLC5&colid=1SR8XZDV06J3N&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

It's pretty easy to install, but if you're uncomfortable with that I could help you once I move in on the 21st, maybe for like 5 bucks or something, but anyone should be able to do after watching a few youtube videos, there's probably instructions included.

For anyone else wondering, here are all the RHs that apparently no longer have active ethernet ports: https://its.ucsc.edu/resnet/networkupgrades.html

u/Mistercrit_ · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

TP-Link is known as one of the best companies when it comes to WiFi cards, so any of their cards are a safe bet.

Personally, I would go with this one, as it has a good price-to-performance ratio in terms of what internet speeds it can handle V.S how much you are paying for.

u/GuyOnABudget · 1 pointr/buildapc

I don't think most people will fill out the bandwidth provided, so this is also decent for cheaper.

u/inputoutput1126 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Here's a USB solution:
EDUP WiFi Adapter ac600Mbps Wireless USB Adapter 5.8GHz/2.4GHz Dual Band 600Mbps USB Adapter 2dBi External Antennas Supports Windows XP,Win Vista,Win 7,Win 8.1, Win 10,Mac OS X 10.6-10.13 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CCMUN8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_7-UBCb7C6X9M8

Or here's a PCI-E adapter(best option):
TP-Link Archer T6E AC1300 PCIe Wireless WiFi network Adapter Card for PC , with Heatsink Technology https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_PaVBCbS48ZYBK

Cheaper PCI-E adapter:
TP-Link TL-WN881ND N300 PCI-E Wireless WiFi network Adapter card for pc https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0079XWMEI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_pcVBCbRPYH5ZK

u/Dan50thAE · 1 pointr/buildapc

Better off with an AC unit over an N, like one of these. While yplink is cheap, I've never heard of febsmart. There are a few other AC units in that price range to choose from.

u/schoolpaddled · 1 pointr/HomeNetworking
u/PinkLEDLamp · 1 pointr/hackintosh

Oh one more thing. What about my Wi-Fi card? That is a bigger deal.


TP-Link AC1300 PCIe Wireless Wifi... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

The card in question. Then what is the best way to install the MAC OS is there a tutorial that shows for my build specifically? I appreciate you answering. I did read over some Hakintosh stuff but felt a bit overwhelmed.

u/dwellufool · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

GTX 2060? HAHahahahahah

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/b3fD9J

thisll do real good and the b450 means you can jump into the next generation Ryzens around the corner if you were so obliged

Get an internal wifi adapter like este

u/PriceKnight · 1 pointr/bapcsalescanada

Price History


  • TP-Link AC1300 Wireless Dual Band PCI-Express Adapter (Archer T6E)   ^PureLink
    ReviewMeta: ★★★★☆ 4.0/5 from 889 valid reviews
    CamelCamelCamelKeepa

    _
    Don't make a Rookie mistake, check the prices.
    ^(Info) ^| ^(Developer) ^| ^(Inquiries) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| **[^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fbru6ds%2Fwireless_router_dlink_dir867_ac1750_highpower%2Feogkqw6%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A
    %0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)**
u/Eternal_Pickles · 1 pointr/homelab

I can only suggest using 802.11ac in good faith (given that you already have an ac router.) I recommend using this.

u/KingdaToro · 1 pointr/Fios

The second best thing to do for him is install a good Wi-Fi adapter like the Archer T6E. Of course, the best thing to do is connect it to the router with Ethernet.

u/dead-inside69 · 1 pointr/buildapc

NOOOOOOOOO! I’ve had both and the chip is better, usbs degrade in connection quality pretty fast. I have this one and I love it to death.

Edit: you just have to download the driver zip file on a different computer to a flash drive, they have the drivers on their website on the manual.

u/Typo-Kign · 1 pointr/buildapc

I have 150 Mbps internet at my place. Do I need a wireless card with 802.11ac 5GHz or is 802.11n 5GHz sufficient for these speeds?

I will probably either buy this 802.11n or this 802.11ac unless anyone has any recommendations or can find any cards that are cheaper on Amazon (I have gift card balance that I would prefer to spend)

u/persondude27 · 1 pointr/buildapc

You buy a physical card that plugs into your motherboard, like this one.

They have very good range (and can easily get a bigger external antenna). They don't suffer from speed limiting issues like USB or powerline. They're compatible with most modern PCs.

The downside is that it's not as clean inside the PC if you have a super good looking build, and you still need strong wifi signal wherever your tower is. Also slower and usually more expensive than just running an ethernet cable to your PC, if that's an option.

u/friedmpa · 1 pointr/buildmeapc

purely for gaming:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
CPU | Intel - Core i5-9600K 3.7 GHz 6-Core Processor | $261.98 @ Newegg
CPU Cooler | Noctua - NH-D15 82.5 CFM CPU Cooler | $89.95 @ Amazon
Motherboard | Asus - TUF Z390-PLUS GAMING (WI-FI) ATX LGA1151 Motherboard | $163.98 @ Newegg Business
Memory | Corsair - Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 Memory | $99.99 @ Newegg Business
Storage | Crucial - MX500 250 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive | $49.95 @ Amazon
Storage | Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive | $42.98 @ OutletPC
Video Card | *Gigabyte - GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB TURBO OC Video Card | $689.99 @ Amazon
Case | Fractal Design - Focus G (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case | $54.28 @ Amazon
Power Supply | Rosewill - 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply | $64.99 @ Newegg Business
| Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts |
| Total | $1518.09
| *Lowest price parts chosen from parametric criteria |
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2019-02-20 13:05 EST-0500 |

for gaming/multitasking:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
CPU | AMD - Ryzen 7 2700X 3.7 GHz 8-Core Processor | $308.99 @ Amazon
CPU Cooler | Scythe - Mugen 5 Rev. B 51.17 CFM CPU Cooler | $51.99 @ SuperBiiz
Motherboard | Gigabyte - X470 AORUS ULTRA GAMING ATX AM4 Motherboard | $119.99 @ Newegg
Memory | G.Skill - Trident Z 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory | $125.98 @ Newegg
Storage | Crucial - MX500 250 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive | $49.95 @ Amazon
Storage | Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive | $42.98 @ OutletPC
Video Card | *Gigabyte - GeForce RTX 2080 8 GB TURBO OC Video Card | $689.99 @ Amazon
Case | NZXT - H500 (White) ATX Mid Tower Case | $71.99 @ Amazon
Power Supply | EVGA - SuperNOVA G2 650 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply | $89.99 @ Amazon
| Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts |
| Total | $1551.85
| *Lowest price parts chosen from parametric criteria |
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2019-02-20 13:08 EST-0500 |

both should be great for 1440p 144hz gaming, the bottom one is very similar to my own build

also wifi card: https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K/ref=pd_lpo_vtph_147_bs_t_1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=8GJ092D3XRA1Q6RH67P9

u/greg_0ry · 1 pointr/buildapc

Hi guys, I am about to build a PC and would like your help on picking the most reliable and affordable wi-fi adapter... I heard USB ones are really convenient but this one's lookin' good: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/?tag=pcpapi-20&th=1

thank you

u/LeInfiniti · 1 pointr/computers

Thanks! Happen to know any good PCI/PCIe cards to use? Oh yeah, would a PCI be better than a PCIe or vice versa? Not quite sure what the difference is..

Edit: I think I'll get this one, it seems to have some pretty great reviews!

u/Some1-Somewhere · 1 pointr/buildapc

You want/need an 802.11ac adapter that supports at least 2x2MIMO - look for something with two antennas. Generally going to be advertised as 867, 1200, or 1300Mb/s.

I'd probably get this, or if you absolutely want USB/save cash, this (but I suspect performance will be worse).

u/20WaysToEatASandwich · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Wait really? I've been trying to figure that out for a few weeks. My Internet is pretty decent.

I have an AC3200 router I'm connected to the 5Ghz band (cannot go ethernet, as it's too long of a distance one floor down and about 120ft or so) . [This is my Wi-Fi card] (https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-PCI-Express-Archer-T6E/dp/B016K0896K). On the overwatch spec monitor it shows an almost constant Ping of 22MS and my Internet speed clocks in at about 80Mbps(10MBps) download and about 8Mbps upload. Sorry for the flood of info but I don't know where else to post this. Do you think I'd benefit from a PowerLine adapter? (house was built in 1996)

u/A3roVero · 1 pointr/buildapc

I think you can get 16GB DDR4-3.2kmhz ram with RGB for cheaper with Corsair Vengeance.
I think you can get a cheaper motherboard and a wifi adapter for cheaper.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MV9BMNY/?tag=pcpapi-20

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Technology/dp/B016K0896K

u/Dragonstar914 · 1 pointr/buildapc

This should be a good option but I would spend a little extra money and get this this. TP-Link is usually the most consistent in budget options and those have good specs.

u/zakabog · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

You would either need a powerline adapter to use a wired connection, a PCI express wifi card for wireless, or a USB wifi card for wireless. If you can't run a cable from your desktop to your router then I'd generally suggest a powerline adapter, and if you can't do that I like an internal wifi card (the PCI express card), but USB does give you more options for placement (especially since you can buy an extension cable and easily change the port it's in and move it between devices.)

u/PureMost · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Is your router the ISP handed one ? Look into changing it. You want an ac WiFi card like this (good value option but there are more expensive better ones)

It connects in a pcie x4 slot in your mobo just like the one you connect your gpu but smaller

u/robin_flikkema · 1 pointr/24hoursupport

B) Yes. But depending on the Accesspoint (read: router) OP is better of buying a card that also supports 802.11ac (maybe even with DFS/TPC) like this one

u/MrMisterMarty · 1 pointr/Steam_Link

I think the other reason I didn't go with the pci-e wireless card is that it could have some interferance since my tower sits in the back corner of a room and the card is about $15-20 more than the dongle.

This one looks pretty good https://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Low-profile/dp/B016K0896K/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1466971163&sr=8-16&keywords=pci-e+network+card+wireless You have any suggestions if I need to get one?

I think if my USB AC dongle was the problem, I would just keep it and run a long ethernet cable since I get one of those fairly cheap.

u/bobby2552 · 1 pointr/techsupport

You could get a USB WiFi adapter (not recommended, would probably be slow), or get a PCIe wireless NIC (network interface card).

This is Amazon's Choice, but searching for "PCIe WiFi card" will get you where you want to be.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_YAcxDb5G0CKTS

u/notwitty_username · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Well, being that you are so close to it, some AC WiFi adapter like this one would do the trick.

u/shmoley999 · 1 pointr/Louqe

I got them from this but something like these should work well

u/im_not_a_boat · 1 pointr/buildapc

Hi, I ordered the AsRock H110-HDS MicroATX motherboard for sky lake processors, and I also ordered this: https://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-Archer-T6E-Wireless-Low-profile/dp/B016K0896K. I was wondering if I have enough room to put this wifi card into the upper PCIE slot on the board, and then put a gpu into the lower slot. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated,thanks!

EDIT: Changed HDR to HDS

u/besweeter · 1 pointr/buildapc

Anything that's above 25 dollars on Amazon, that's the one I have and it works perfectly fine for gaming.

TP-LINK Archer T6E AC1300 Dual Band Wireless PCI Express Adapter https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_7cgqDb6V190KP

u/TypingMakesMeMoist · 1 pointr/buildapc

It really depends on how much you'd want to spend on it.

My friend has this one and it's pretty quick for 20 bucks, but he isn't very far away from the router.

But if you're farther away and looking to spend more, This is the best seller on Amazon

u/Spoonmice · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Yes sir, this is the one I’ve been using for the past few months TP-Link Archer AC1300 WiFi Card PCIe Adapter with Heatsink Technology (T6E) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016K0896K/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_t66IAbTP2Q70J

u/Mind_Killer · 1 pointr/buildapc

I am working on an old system from around 2008. Does the interface on a wireless adapter matter? Could I easily upgrade to a more modern adapter with little issue even with a 10-year old motherboard?

For reference, the motherboard is this one. I'm thinking about upgrading from this wireless adapter to something like this.

u/Geshman · 1 pointr/pcgamingtechsupport

I personally just got this one for $35 US as a warehouse deal and it works amazing. It has the same speed as wired with almost the same ping. And it has better speed/ping than using a powerline adapter. Although this is using my old router's antanaes. Not sure how it performs with the stock ones. Probably almost exactly the same.

As far as what you actually need/want I would assume something like this would probably suit you just fine and would likely work just as well. Or this one which may get better performance.

Edit: Put in Amazon.ca link for first one

u/snailrub · 1 pointr/buildapc

Got my brother this one https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Wireless-PCI-Express-Archer-T6E/dp/B016K0896K/ref=dp_ob_title_ce which is an updated version of the wifi card that someone else posted, and we recently upgraded the wifi router (also very important) to an Archer C7. He said he was getting the full 65ish Mb/s speed that our connection runs on, not sure how his ping was though.

u/77xak · 0 pointsr/buildapc

I've used this USB adapter before and it works very well.

If you have fast internet (Over 400 mbps) and a router that supports these speeds, then you might want a faster PCIe card such as this.