17359
#4 in External hard drives

Reddit reviews on WD 4TB Black My Passport Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN

Sentiment score: 30
Reddit mentions: 82

We found 82 Reddit mentions of WD 4TB Black My Passport Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN. Here are the top ones.

Auto backup with Included WD Backup SoftwarePassword Protection with hardware encryptionTrusted drive built with WD reliabilityUSB 3.0 port; USB 2.0 compatible; System Compatibility: Windows 10, Windows 8.1, Windows 7; Requires reformatting for Mac OS X operating system3 year manufacturer's limited warranty

Found 82 comments on WD 4TB Black My Passport Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN:

u/fhs · 15 pointsr/Games

I bought the WD digital at $94.
I must admit though that the 2TB is the better sweet spot for price/space, since 4 is overkill.

Here's the model: https://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Passport-Drive-USB-3-0-WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN/dp/B01LQQH86A

Also, I could probably have went with a cheaper brand, since reliability isn't so important for this use case.

u/Jlopezane · 15 pointsr/PlayStationPlus

If you can, invest in one of these. Best $100 I’ve ever spent and now I longer have to worry about deleting games.

WD 4TB Black My Passport  Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_Vq21Bb5P5K3N5

u/rico9001 · 14 pointsr/DataHoarder

I personally don't care for Seagate because of Blackblaze mostly but also the horror stories I hear from time to time. I'm a longevity buyer or BIFL (buy it for life). I work in a datacenter and know that drives are never bifl but I do my best. Recently I looked for a large drive for my brother to put in his laptop. Seagate was the only drive available for the larger sizes in his price range. I found a sale for a WD External Hard Drive 4tb where basically he would pay $90 for a large external drive. That was what I went with for him as WD are better drives from what I've seen as well as they're a bit more reliable.


I've noticed that Seagate puts a LOT of money into advertising which I understand works some but if your drives are high failure rate then people that consistently buy drives may stop buying them such as those on r/datahoarders . Personally even WD drives aren't as reliable and if I buy anymore for myself I'll be paying a bit extra to get HGST due to their quality which overall is more important to me. I'd suggest to Seagate that they increase quality and decrease advertising some if they need money from somewhere. If I found that Seagate quality increased to HGST standards even if it was a NEW LINE; I'd be very inclined to spend money on a high end Seagate with a better warranty.

u/MesaDixon · 13 pointsr/Reaper

When you save a new project, there are options at the bottom left on the dialog box to 𝘾𝙧𝙚𝙖𝙩𝙚 𝙨𝙪𝙗𝙙𝙞𝙧𝙚𝙘𝙩𝙤𝙧𝙮 𝙛𝙤𝙧 𝙥𝙧𝙤𝙟𝙚𝙘𝙩 and 𝐌𝐎𝐕𝐄 𝙖𝙡𝙡 𝙢𝙚𝙙𝙞𝙖 𝙞𝙣𝙩𝙤 𝙥𝙧𝙤𝙟𝙚𝙘𝙩 𝙙𝙞𝙧𝙚𝙘𝙩𝙤𝙧𝙮, which results in the project structure you are looking for.

Next: (I haven't tried this, but it should work) - if you want to save an old project, load it up and save with the above settings. It should move all the necessary files into one subdirectory.

Be careful if you re-use files in multiple projects i.e. loops, because you could end up with missing files in your other project folders. In that case, use the 𝐂𝐎𝐏𝐘 𝙖𝙡𝙡 𝙢𝙚𝙙𝙞𝙖 𝙞𝙣𝙩𝙤 𝙥𝙧𝙤𝙟𝙚𝙘𝙩 𝙙𝙞𝙧𝙚𝙘𝙩𝙤𝙧𝙮 option.

Next, (if you're on Windows), install 7 Zip and use it at its maximum setting to compress the entire project directory to one file. I did a quick test and got about 15% space savings (YMMV).

And start saving for an external hard drive. Don't get the smallest one - save a little more and get a medium sized one.

u/METL_Master · 10 pointsr/xboxone

https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A

I have the 2TB and 4TB models. Work very well. Just plug, transfer/save, and play!

u/BXBGames · 8 pointsr/xboxone

This is one of the drives I have: WD 4 TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive - Black https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_TJpOAb2DB9PN9

u/WhitestWizard · 5 pointsr/DataHoarder

Just bought one of these off Amazon in the UK for the equizilent of $160 and thought I was getting a good deal.

Checked the US amazon and see I got robbed, there is a sale on and they are 109 US

https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1504380613&sr=8-3&keywords=wd+4tb

u/Mr_Thanatos · 5 pointsr/PS4Deals

IMO, Western Digital is better than Seagate. I have had so many Seagate hard drives fail on me I now refuse to buy them. That said, every hard drive will eventually fail, so plan accordingly and don't cry too much when it happens. I am getting this guy once the 4.5 firmware comes out.

u/ShortSleeveinWinter · 4 pointsr/DataHoarder

WD Mybook 8TB for £119.99 (until midnight UK time on the 16th of July):


https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01LWVT81X/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&creativeASIN=B01LWVT81X&linkCode=as2&tag=amoves-21&linkId=109e41ed89969139d870a312cd99835b



We can finally feel like Americans for a day with these bargain prices. You need to sign up for Prime as well but if you don't have an active prime membership, you can also start a new Prime trial if you haven't used your 30-day trial in the last 365 days. I just checked and these are the lowest prices these 8TB hard drives have ever been sold for in the UK.

They also have the WD Elements Desktop 8TB on a Prime Day sale for £124:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07FNK6QMT/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=amoves-21&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B07FNK6QMT&linkId=7a13bc41e7e1867b91417ef49df553e1


From what I've read it's quite similar to the MyBook but doesn't offer backup, encryption and password protection by default. Both are good for schucking. The main advantage of the Elements Desktop 8TB seems to be the ease of adding another drive in its case later on if you decide to schuck it.


The Seagate Expansion 8TB is on sale for only £109 and I've heard only good things about it in comparison to their smaller drives which seem to be problematic. I went with the MyBook 8TB myself.


https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07DQBFQ2D/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=amoves-21&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B07DQBFQ2D&linkId=28f3f183cd50ec9d3adf5c102ece5daa

The only other good deal I found was the Western Digital My Passport 4TB Portable. Still debating whether to buy it as well or get another Mybook 8tb. It is currently on sale for only £75 which is the second lowest price ever for it in the UK:


https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01LQQH86A/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=amoves-21&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=as2&creativeASIN=B01LQQH86A&linkId=54e3c55ae8c90b3e6a3f373dfb0b7335

u/Fart_Bargo · 3 pointsr/xboxone

I have one of these for my XBone and my PS4. They work great, don't take up a ton of space, and don't need an additional power supply. Amazon Link I Hope That's Okay

u/kart10 · 3 pointsr/buildapcsales

I just had mine delivered with the free prime shipping!



Delivered today
Western Digital 4TB Black My Passport Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN
Sold by: Amazon.com Services, Inc
Return eligible through Jun 19, 2019
$54.99

​

​

Now, patiently hoping that these 2 orders get delivered :-)

​

2 of WD 10TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive, USB 3.0 - WDBBGB0100HBK-NESN

Sold by: Amazon.com Services, Inc

$79.99



WD 8TB My Cloud EX2 Ultra Network Attached Storage - NAS - WDBVBZ0080JCH-NESN

Sold by: Amazon.com Services, Inc

$179.99

u/raleel · 3 pointsr/onebag

4TB SSD is quite expensive, but might be worth it. They are probably less than half the weight. Big spinning disk drive has got a lot of metal in it. big added bonus for SSD is that they are pretty rugged out of the gate - you don't have to worry about shocks nearly as much and can have a lighter case for it.

Not sure you can live with multiple disks, but 4x 1TB might be worth it as well.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=psdc_595048_t3_B01HOV57QE claims to be less than half a pound vs the 4.3 yours claims to be. I doubt the passport is quite as fast, but probably fast enough.

If you feel comfortable doing computer surgery, you could replace the 1TB in your laptop (https://www.laptopmag.com/reviews/laptops/powerspec-1710 right?) with an SSD. Probably save yourself quite a bit of weight there too.

u/bloodychainsaw · 3 pointsr/PS4

I'm using [this] (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_w4ofzbTJ1T7RX4) 4TB one and I haven't noticed any lag, works extremely well for me. Definitely recommend.

u/stuvve3 · 3 pointsr/gaming

Since your question is already answered...heres a tip since your already almost max on storage. Get a external hdd. You can get a WD 4tb hdd for $98 USD. It will literally last for years. Plus if your friends come over (and buy games you own & have downloaded) you can plug it into their xbox and copy the game to theirs a fuck ton faster. (it took 20min to transfer all of black ops 4 from my buddies to mine)

u/WeededDragon1 · 3 pointsr/xboxone

For the most part, any external hard drive will work the same regardless of if it's licensed.

Depending on the drive/manufacturer it may be faster or more reliable. Seagate drives tend to fail more than Western Digital. You can get the same speed out of both depending on which model you buy.

I use this WD drive: https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=sr_1_4

u/ronniedii · 3 pointsr/burstcoin

Super helpful info! Does that mean that I can just use an old laptop if I'm not looking to invest in numerous hard disks? How many TB are minimum to make this worth setting up? I could pick up something like this... https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1511812971&sr=1-4&keywords=hard+drive ?

u/Jaybonaut · 2 pointsr/Kappa

Put your JAV on one of these in whatever color you want. They have plenty of speed - I use one of these to run a PLEX server that has nearly 300 movies on it plus TV shows and I still have 3 TB left.

u/dehydrogen · 2 pointsr/buildapcsales

Give your local Best Buy a call and ask.

Amazon Link:
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01LQQH86A/

Best Buy Link:
https://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-my-passport-4tb-external-usb-3-0-portable-hard-drive-black/5605533.p?skuId=5605533

>Best Buy is dedicated to always offering the best value to our customers. We will match the price, at the time of purchase, on a Price Match Guarantee product if you find the same item at a lower price at a Designated Major Online Retailer or at a local retail competitor's store.

>Here's how:
> - If you find a qualifying lower price online, call 1-888-BEST BUY and direct a customer service agent to the web site with the lower price, or when visiting a Best Buy store, one of our employees will assist you.
> - On qualifying products, Best Buy will then verify the current price to complete the price match.

> Exclusions apply including, but not limited to, Competitors' service prices, special daily or hourly sales, and items for sale Thanksgiving Day through the Monday after Thanksgiving. See the list of Designated Major Online Retailers and full details.

u/asifbaig · 2 pointsr/pakistan

Western Digital My Passport hard drives are pretty good. You can get them at great prices if you can get someone to bring them from USA (4TB USB hard drive for around 12.4k rupees).

A quick search on the net gave me these two links that should deliver in Pakistan:

WD 4TB for Rs. 14.2k

Transcend StoreJet 4TB for Rs. 18k

I don't know how reliable these two websites are so researching before buying is recommended.

u/BretFart69 · 2 pointsr/barstoolsports

This is what I got a few years ago when I had the same issue. Super easy to set up. Felt like when the sandlot kids found all those balls and could play forever now. $100 isn’t cheap but it’s huge, and if it’s cheaper per TB than going for a 1 or 2 TB HD.

u/Wescyde · 2 pointsr/PS4

I got this one at BB for $85 but the 3TB

WD 4TB Black My Passport  Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_ABCHzbX5VFKCA

Works great so far

Others like the sea gates as well

u/ninjaplushie · 2 pointsr/AskTechnology

Sorry for terrible formatting, on mobile.

Ok so here’s the deal. There are about a million options out there, and each of them has its ups and downs.

This is gonna get a little technical but let’s start by breaking things down into 2 categories: hard drive vs solid state, and offline vs online.

The most common solution here would be to get an external hard drive. They are generally designed to ‘plug and play’ directly into a computer and store whatever you put on them. They’re fairly cheap but they are mechanical so you have to handle them carefully and not move them when in use or you risk physical damage and data corruption. They usually come at two different speeds: 5400 or 7200 RPM (rotations per minute). The higher the number the faster data can be accessed.

Solid state is the newer, more expensive cousin of the hard drive. Whereas HDDs are mechanical, SSDs are digital. Without the moving parts, SSDs are more robust, and significantly faster. They’re also way more expensive.

Now on to where things get interesting. Most external storage is offline, but some newer options exist that can be connected to the internet and allow you remote access to your data.

The cheaper devices in this category are usually called something along the lines of a ‘personal cloud’, and they’re a 1 - 10 TB HDD with software that lets you access them over the internet.

Higher end devices are usually called a NAS which stands for Network Attached Storage. These are basically servers to allow you high capacity data storage, and can be made to store hard drives in a variety of sizes and configurations.

Ok, so where do you fit in to all of this? What you need really just depends on what you want to use it for. How much space do you need? How fast do you need to access it? Do you want remote access to your data, or shared access with family and friends?

The truth is most people are gonna be fine with a simple external hard drive like the one already linked in the comments. I usually recommend a western digital like this one:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_XeoYDb7V1HT0A

They’ve worked well for me. If you want something more interesting, look into WD’s personal cloud option:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076CTK55W/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_dhoYDbH3X5XBF

Or if you get curious about the higher end stuff, you can always check out names like Synology, Asustor, and Qnap. I have an Asustor and love it.

u/sk9592 · 2 pointsr/buildapc

This isn't exactly what you wanted, but this 8TB external hard drive from Best Buy pretty reguarlly goes on sale fopr $160-170

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-easystore-8tb-external-usb-3-0-hard-drive-black/5792401.p?skuId=5792401

It's currently $200. That's still a decent price. Just if you keep an eye on it, it will drop again in the next couple months.

Alternatively, this 4TB portable hard drive is only $110:

https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A/

It is smaller and does not require an external power source. The trade off is that it is not as fast.

u/chetansha · 2 pointsr/IndianGaming

Suggest you go for wd drives as they have world wide warranty.
Down side will be import duties and shipping charges.

Have a look at this. Looks reasonable.

WD My Passport 4TB Portable External Hard Drive (Black) https://www.amazon.in/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_rT28ybH0609CM

u/TrappinT-Rex · 2 pointsr/PS4

Ultimately, SSD is going to be faster no matter what. However, I havent noticed any issues with loading times. I'm using this one.

u/jimbonics · 2 pointsr/PSVR

Every HD on the planet will die eventually. Not a matter of if but when.

I like the WD My Passports.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A

4TB for a bill is a great deal. USB 3.0-pwered, small. No AC adapter needed.

u/gadget_dude · 2 pointsr/PSVR

I added a 4TB external drive exactly for that reason. Benchmarks show the external storage is just as fast if not faster than the internal storage depending on the drives - works great. I added one of these: WD 4TB Drive - got lucky and snagged one on clearance from OfficeMax for $59.

u/Kthulu666 · 2 pointsr/technology

Yes, you should do that. Offline storage is pretty cheap. This should be more than enough to back up everything you have from high school through college and grad school.

u/FattestRabbit · 2 pointsr/GreatXboxDeals

Would you recommend this for other uses, too, like for external storage for a laptop? Or is it bulky enough to just be used with a stationary console?

edit - same price on amazon (once restocked)

u/VincibleAndy · 1 pointr/photography

I use a few of these for portable drives and they work well. I also like that I can have different colors for different things. Haven't had an issue with them yet (but a drive will never last forever).

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LQQH86A/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1502159892&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=wd+external+hard+drive&dpPl=1&dpID=41FUR9vWdlL&ref=plSrch

u/NealCruco · 1 pointr/techsupport

Well, I know everyone's recommending SSDs now, but SSDs of equal or greater capacity than my current drive are more than I want to pay. So I got this HDD, and it should arrive between Wed and Fri. As for an external backup drive, I got this last Christmas, so I'm good. I plan to securely erase and dispose of the old drive once the new drive is installed and set up.

u/dev_list_bot · 1 pointr/bitcoin_devlist

Leandro Coutinho on Apr 01 2017 04:15:32PM:

One interesting thing to do is to compare how much does it cost to maintain

a bank check account and how much does it cost to run a full node.



It seems that it is about 120USD/year in USA:

http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/6219730



A 4TB hard drive ~=115USD

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LQQH86A/ref=mp_s_a_1_4



And it has a warranty of 3 years.



As your calculation shows, it will take more than 19 years to reach 4TB

with a 4MB blocksize.



Em 29/03/2017 12:35, "Johnson Lau via bitcoin-dev" <

bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org> escreveu:





On 29 Mar 2017, at 14:24, Emin Gün Sirer via bitcoin-dev <bitcoin-dev at lists.

linuxfoundation.org> wrote:



>Even when several of the experts involved in the document you refer has my

respect and admiration, I do not agree with some of their conclusions



I'm one of the co-authors of that study. I'd be the first to agree with

your conclusion

and argue that the 4MB size suggested in that paper should not be used

without

compensation for two important changes to the network.





Our recent measurements of the Bitcoin P2P network show that network speeds

have improved tremendously. From February 2016 to February 2017, the average

provisioned bandwidth of a reachable Bitcoin node went up by approximately

70%.

And that's just in the last year.





4 144 30 = 17.3GB per month, or 207GB per year. Full node

initialisation will become prohibitive for most users until a shortcut is

made (e.g. witness pruning and UTXO commitment but these are not trust-free)





Further, the emergence of high-speed block relay networks, like Falcon (

http://www.falcon-net.org)

and FIBRE, as well as block compression, e.g. BIP152 and xthin, change the

picture dramatically.





Also as the co-author of the selfish mining paper, you should know all

these technology assume big miners being benevolent.





So, the 4MB limit mentioned in our paper should not be used as a protocol

limit today.



Best,

  • egs







    On Tue, Mar 28, 2017 at 3:36 PM, Juan Garavaglia via bitcoin-dev <

    bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org> wrote:



    > Alphonse,

    >

    >

    >

    > Even when several of the experts involved in the document you refer has my

    > respect and admiration, I do not agree with some of their conclusions some

    > of their estimations are not accurate other changed like Bootstrap Time,

    > Cost per Confirmed Transaction they consider a network of 450,000,00 GH and

    > today is 3.594.236.966 GH, the energy consumption per GH is old, the cost

    > of electricity is wrong even when the document was made and is hard to find

    > any parameter used that is valid for an analysis today.

    >

    >

    >

    > Again with all respect to the experts involved in that analysis is not

    > valid today.

    >

    >

    >

    > I tend to believe more in Moore’s law, Butters' Law of Photonics and

    > Kryder’s Law all has been verified for many years and support that 32 MB in

    > 2020 are possible and equals or less than 1 MB in 2010.

    >

    >

    >

    > Again may be is not possible Johnson Lau and LukeJr invested a significant

    > amount of time investigating ways to do a safe HF, and may be not possible

    > to do a safe HF today but from processing power, bandwidth and storage is

    > totally valid and Wang Chung proposal has solid grounds.

    >

    >

    >

    > Regards

    >

    >

    >

    > Juan

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >

    > From: Alphonse Pace [mailto:alp.bitcoin at gmail.com]

    > Sent: Tuesday, March 28, 2017 2:53 PM

    > To: Juan Garavaglia <jg at 112bit.com>; Wang Chun <1240902 at gmail.com>

    > Cc: Bitcoin Protocol Discussion <bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org>

    >

    > Subject: Re: [bitcoin-dev] Hard fork proposal from last week's meeting

    >

    >

    >

    > Juan,

    >

    >

    >

    > I suggest you take a look at this paper: http://fc16.ifca.ai/bit

    > coin/papers/CDE+16.pdf It may help you form opinions based in science

    > rather than what appears to be nothing more than a hunch. It shows that

    > even 4MB is unsafe. SegWit provides up to this limit.

    >

    >

    >

    > 8MB is most definitely not safe today.

    >

    >

    >

    > Whether it is unsafe or impossible is the topic, since Wang Chun proposed

    > making the block size limit 32MiB.

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >

    > Wang Chun,

    >

    >

    > Can you specify what meeting you are talking about? You seem to have not

    > replied on that point. Who were the participants and what was the purpose

    > of this meeting?

    >

    >

    >

    > -Alphonse

    >

    >

    >

    > On Tue, Mar 28, 2017 at 12:33 PM, Juan Garavaglia <jg at 112bit.com> wrote:

    >

    > Alphonse,

    >

    >

    >

    > In my opinion if 1MB limit was ok in 2010, 8MB limit is ok on 2016 and

    > 32MB limit valid in next halving, from network, storage and CPU perspective

    > or 1MB was too high in 2010 what is possible or 1MB is to low today.

    >

    >

    >

    > If is unsafe or impossible to raise the blocksize is a different topic.

    >

    >

    >

    > Regards

    >

    >

    >

    > Juan

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >

    > From: bitcoin-dev-bounces at lists.linuxfoundation.org [mailto:

    > bitcoin-dev-bounces at lists.linuxfoundation.org] On Behalf Of Alphonse

    > Pace via bitcoin-dev

    > Sent: Tuesday, March 28, 2017 2:24 PM

    > To: Wang Chun <1240902 at gmail.com>; Bitcoin Protocol Discussion <

    > bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org>

    > Subject: Re: [bitcoin-dev] Hard fork proposal from last week's meeting

    >

    >

    >

    > What meeting are you referring to? Who were the participants?

    >

    >

    >

    > Removing the limit but relying on the p2p protocol is not really a true

    > 32MiB limit, but a limit of whatever transport methods provide. This can

    > lead to differing consensus if alternative layers for relaying are used.

    > What you seem to be asking for is an unbound block size (or at least

    > determined by whatever miners produce). This has the possibility (and even

    > likelihood) of removing many participants from the network, including many

    > small miners.

    >

    >

    >

    > 32MB in less than 3 years also appears to be far beyond limits of safety

    > which are known to exist far sooner, and we cannot expect hardware and

    > networking layers to improve by those amounts in that time.

    >

    >

    >

    > It also seems like it would be much better to wait until SegWit activates

    > in order to truly measure the effects on the network from this increased

    > capacity before committing to any additional increases.

    >

    >

    >

    > -Alphonse

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >

    > On Tue, Mar 28, 2017 at 11:59 AM, Wang Chun via bitcoin-dev <

    > bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org> wrote:

    >

    > I've proposed this hard fork approach last year in Hong Kong Consensus

    > but immediately rejected by coredevs at that meeting, after more than

    > one year it seems that lots of people haven't heard of it. So I would

    > post this here again for comment.

    >

    > The basic idea is, as many of us agree, hard fork is risky and should

    > be well prepared. We need a long time to deploy it.

    >

    > Despite spam tx on the network, the block capacity is approaching its

    > limit, and we must think ahead. Shall we code a patch right now, to

    > remove the block size limit of 1MB, but not activate it until far in

    > the future. I would propose to remove the 1MB limit at the next block

    > halving in spring 2020, only limit the block size to 32MiB which is

    > the maximum size the current p2p protocol allows. This patch must be

    > in the immediate next release of Bitcoin Core.

    >

    > With this patch in core's next release, Bitcoin works just as before,

    > no fork will ever occur, until spring 2020. But everyone knows there

    > will be a fork scheduled. Third party services, libraries, wallets and

    > exchanges will have enough time to prepare for it over the next three

    > years.

    >

    > We don't yet have an agreement on how to increase the block size

    > limit. There have been many proposals over the past years, like

    > BIP100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 148, 248, BU, and so

    > on. These hard fork proposals, with this patch already in Core's

    > release, they all become soft fork. We'll have enough time to discuss

    > all these proposals and decide which one to go. Take an example, if we

    > choose to fork to only 2MB, since 32MiB already scheduled, reduce it

    > from 32MiB to 2MB will be a soft fork.

    >

    > Anyway, we must code something right now, before it becomes too late.

    >

    > bitcoin-dev mailing list

    > bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org

    > https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/bitcoin-dev

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >

    >


    > bitcoin-dev mailing list

    > bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org

    > https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/bitcoin-dev

    >

    >



    bitcoin-dev mailing list

    bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org

    https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/bitcoin-dev









    bitcoin-dev mailing list

    bitcoin-dev at lists.linuxfoundation.org

    https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/mailman/listinfo/bitcoin-dev

    -------------- next part --------------

    An HTML attachment was scrubbed...

    URL: <http://lists.linuxfoundation.org/pipermail/bitcoin-dev/attachments/20170401/f0a4a59e/attachment-0001.html>



    ------------

    original: https://lists.linuxfoundation.org/pipermail/bitcoin-dev/2017-April/013947.html
u/GoldGlove2720 · 1 pointr/xboxone

Just buy an external hardrive a 4tb is on amazon And you can keep if for the scorpio. No point in upgrading now if the scorpio is gonna be released in 9months.

u/LiamGallagher10 · 1 pointr/AndroidTV

Do you think I could play a 4k movie smoothly from this through USB 2.0?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01LQQH86A

u/feltire · 1 pointr/macbookpro

I have a TB on my Google Drive thanks to Google Fiber, I'd say that's my favorite since it's so readily accessible in so many places.

I just ordered this 4TB Western Digital My Passport, hoping it serves me well.

I have a 1 or 2 TB Western Digital at home, can't remember the exact model. It's nowhere near full... but I needed a seperate drive and it's only like $25 difference between a 1TB drive and a 4TB drive these days.

u/heyjim · 1 pointr/Logic_Studio

Great response. One thing to note is you're going to want to get more storage. USB 3.0 External HDD's are pretty cheap these days. 256gb will run your Logic fine but you will want to store all your audio data on an external since it will fill fast.

4TB for $99 Western Digital My Passport 4TB

Good luck!

u/mindofjunaid · 1 pointr/Model3

Better than a Sandisk extreme go 64gb?
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01NARBPI7/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_er1TDb6RA7AJR

And better than a Wd passport?
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_9s1TDb6GEYH3C

Ive used both with the same problem occurring shortly after starting driving.

u/reefsurfer226 · 1 pointr/DataHoarder

if you can wrangle up a little more I love these WD 4tb drives

just reformat it, when you get it, their software is crap

u/shadeland · 1 pointr/DataHoarder

My go-to easy external storage is portable hard drives. You can get 4 TB ones for about $100 USD. Because they're powered by the USB connection, I find them more handy than the external powered larger ones (I also travel a lot, making portable ones more practical).

I've used mostly WD portable hard drives, and have had good luck with them (however my sample size is small).

https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Backup-Portable-External-STDR4000100/dp/B00ZTRXFBA/

https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A/

The important thing is to never let a single copy of important data exist. Make sure it exists on two or more places.

u/SnappyCrunch · 1 pointr/24hoursupport

There are several ways to accomplish this. Other people in this thread have mentioned using a Raspberry Pi, or a wireless hard drive. These are both okay solutions, especially the wireless hard drive. However, I'd be worried about either of them being able to serve files to seven people at once. I just don't think that a wireless chip in a hard drive enclosure will have the power or speed necessary to make that happen. One or two people, sure, but not seven. Similar problems with the Raspberry Pi. The Pi would also be a significant amount of setup, would be pretty fragile given the number of interconnecting pieces needed to make it work for your needs, and you'd still have problems with bandwidth on just about any USB wireless card. There might be a solution with multiple USB wireless cards, but that just makes the whole thing that much more fragile.

I think what you need here for pure bandwidth purposes is an honest to god wireless router. Not a travel router, but the full thing. Modern wireless routers have USB ports on them, and you can plug USB storage devices into the router and have the router share the files on that storage device. So I think the right solution for you is a desktop wireless router and a USB hard drive.

The router is somewhat harder of the two items to find because of your physical size requirements. In addition, I think you don't want any protruding antennas which could break off. For that, I can recommend the Netgear R6300. I have the R6300v2, and I can personally attest that it's a fast, reliable router, and it measures 7.75" to a side.

Once you have a router, you need a hard drive. Get one in a small form factor that runs straight off a USB port and has a reasonable size. A 4TB drive should be more than enough, and you might get away with a 2TB drive drive depending on how much you want to store on it. I recently ripped my DVD collection and I was happy with the quality at about 1GB per movie. Since you'll probably be downloading movies from the internet, sizes and quality will vary. You may want to transcode the larger movies down to a more manageable size. You can batch transcode movies with Handbrake or other programs. Choose more aggressive compression and downsize 1080p movies to 720p, for example, to save space. Keep in mind that conversion takes a long time, so start early. Smaller files also stream more easily, so more people will be able to stream at once if you manage the file sizes well.

Good luck!

u/Cedocore · 1 pointr/xboxone

You can get a 4TB external hard drive for $110. Around $60-70 for a 2TB.

Seagate 4TB - $110

Western Digital 4TB - $110

u/yozzy_zxyah · 1 pointr/DataHoarder

Since we're talking aesthetics, I like the My Passport drives better than both of these: https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A

It's on sale apparently (I think it's just going to be this reduced price from now on) which brings the 2 tb to the same price.

I've had one on these for ages and it's small, nice, really fast, and looks great sitting on the desk.

u/RedDeadRedemptioner · 1 pointr/reddeadredemption

No worries, its good to ask!
No, I haven't had any issues whatsoever. Most of my games are stored on there and they all work as if they were stored internally.
Here's what I have
WD 4TB Black My Passport  Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_pfbRBbKPQ8H2M

u/PriceKnight · 1 pointr/bapcsalescanada

Price History


  • WD 4TB Black My Passport Portable External Hard Drive USB   ^PureLink
    ReviewMeta: ★★★★☆ 4.1/5 from 1398 valid reviews
    CamelCamelCamelKeepa

    _
    Don't make a Rookie mistake, check the prices.
    ^(Info) ^| ^(Developer) ^| ^(Inquiries) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| **[^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fbqfbq2%2Fexternal_hdd_wd_mybook_10tb_80usd_dutiesshipping%2Feo3wzl5%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A
    %0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)**
u/dirvin7588 · 1 pointr/PlayStationPlus

I have a 4TB WG Passport external that just plugs in through USB. Setup was quick and easy, Transferred everything to it and only paid $120.00. I do see here they have the black one on sale, the same one i have, for $99.00. WG has 2 types "My passport" and "My Book", The big difference is that the "My book" uses a power cord and the "My Passport" does not.

u/ProbablyUserError · 1 pointr/gratefuldead

I've been using these 4tb portable externals for a couple years, with no issues yet.

u/Houston_Centerra · 1 pointr/PS4

I ended up buying this one last night
and it's working great so far

u/davidreiss666 · 1 pointr/videos

Depends what you want to do and what actually needs to be backed up.

If you want, you can just buy a few USB thumb drives and occasionally copy a lot of your personal files to the individual drives. If you do that, you want to copy stuff off to them weekly or nightly depending on what you want protected and how nervous you are.

If you want to be a bit more prepared, you can buy an external Hard drive that has a lot of storage on it. For example, a WD passport drive like this one with 4 TB of storage. That just backup the contents of your system to it occasionally.

As with everything, you can spend more to get more capacity on things too.

Of you want more storage that more reliable long term, Western Dig also makes things like WD 20TB My Book Duo Desktop RAID External Hard Drive. Which is a higher price point, but that's going to have more storage capacity and if you configure it be RAID-5 or RAID-1 rather than RAID-0 (don't get into the alternatives for home use.... and that will offer greater levels of protection for your data.

I just use the West Dig products here as examples. There are lot so competition in that product space. Be it Seagate or other players. Both Western Dig and Seagate have been around for a while so I tend to trust them more than the newer companies. But that's at least in part me being old and having seen their company names around for decades now.

Myself, at home i have a half dozen thumb drives and just copy stuff to them on occasion. I used to be a guy with 4-6 computer systems all the time, with a home network that was large. Now I have one laptop and just use that. I have friends and co-workers who get very anal about things and go a tad insane.

So, a lot of thing depends on your personal situation and how paranoid you want to be about your data.

u/ohanewone · 1 pointr/PS4

I don't believe so, uses all of it.

WD My Passport 4 TB Portable Hard... https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01LQQH86A?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

That's the one I have

u/cdwilliams1 · 1 pointr/hackintosh

Been using a 1tb Western Digital “Studio” daily for three years. I bought it because it has both FireWire and USB which made moving between my MacBook and Hackintosh pretty easy. It’s been rock solid.

I just last week upgraded it to a WD “My Passport” drive. Too soon to report on it but so far so good.

u/HallwayHomicide · 1 pointr/xboxone

This is the one I bought. I've used it for the past four months without any problem. I paid 100 for it. Looks like Amazon has it at 105 right now.

WD 4TB Black My Passport  Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_7VWJAbPFD321H

u/Zxello5 · 0 pointsr/PleX

Western Digital 4TB Black My Passport Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYFT0040BBK-WESN https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQH86A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_h5x4CbSCQE2M7

Appears to be a pricing error - $57.

u/bruxis · 0 pointsr/Bitcoin

It's actually not a very good response, since the analogy makes no sense in regards to digital financial systems like Bitcoin. It's not a car, there is no engine. Off-chain channels make no sense in the analogy at all.

It's uncertain as to whether or not a simple block size increase is sufficient for most use cases, but likely we will still want layer 2 for many use cases (for example, tip bots operate as layer 2 to prevent even small fees from occurring with non-settlement actions).

That said, there's a few caveats to the argument:

  • It's not the block size that increases immediately, it's the block size limit which would increase. It's unlikely the block size itself would breach 2MB until broad adoption (which would likely take a significant amount of time), or a significant increase in rapid adoption to hit over 4MB.
  • On that point, it's also false to say there's no going back from a higher limit. A hard-fork upgrade would put in place a higher limit and another hard-fork upgrade could later reduce that limit if there were large advancements in scaling via other, better, mechanisms.
  • The blockchain growth calculations have been done, and at the assumption of absolutely full blocks (unlikely, as mentioned above) at 8MB per block (144 blocks per day, 52560 per year), the block chain would grow approximately 410GB per year once the blocks were saturated
  • Assuming that rate began next year, a 4TB hard drive would last you 8+ years. They're currently available for ~$100 [1]. Even if we consider crazy UXTO bloat of 50% blockchain size, you're looking at 6 years until you need to upgrade a HDD.
  • All decent full node software enables reductions in bandwidth usage and caps, depending on your internet connection. Many users in 1st world countries could easily host a node of this size for the foreseeable future.
  • The statement "development is solely under the control of Roger Ver, Jihan & Associates, 100%" is absolutely false as those names are simply major and vocal investors, not developers. The same could be said about many in other communities. There are over 4 different full node alternatives under development, most of which support BTC as well.

    I hold both, because I believe hedging your risk is the smart thing to do. A lot of people are spreading FUD (on all sides) due to fear of losing, or wanting to push, their own investments.

    Not doing your own research and understanding the actual technical backing of every crypto you want to invest in is a mistake.

    [1]: Portable 4TB HDD for $99 USD: https://www.amazon.com/Black-Passport-Portable-External-Drive/dp/B01LQQH86A