49145
#6 in Traditional laptops
Use arrows to jump to the previous/next product

Reddit reviews on Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP

Sentiment score: 124
Reddit mentions: 146

We found 146 Reddit mentions of Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP. Here are the top ones.

8th Generation Intel Core i7-8750H 6-Core Processor (Up to 4.1GHz) with Windows 10 Home 64 BitNVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Overclockable Graphics with 6 GB of dedicated GDDR5 VRAM15.6" Full HD (1920 x 1080) widescreen LED-backlit IPS display (144Hz Refresh Rate, 300nit Brightness & 72% NTSC )16GB DDR4 2666MHz DRAM Memory & 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD | Extra empty accessible slot for 2.5 inch hard drive or SSD.Maximum Power Supply Wattage:180 WGigabit Wi-Fi |Backlit Keyboard | USB 3.1 (Type C) | Dual All-Metal AeroBlade 3D Fan Cooling | Metal Chassis.Battery Capacity:3320 mAhUp to 7-hours of battery life

Found 146 comments on Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP:

u/SrslyCmmon · 17 pointsr/pcgaming

$1000 for an i5 / 1050 with a 144hz panel? That won't push those frames on newer games anyway. $1400 for a 1060? I can find better deals on amazon right now and it's not even black friday.


Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate, Intel 6-Core i7-8750H, Overclockable GeForce GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD

For $1100, even the non sale price is better than Wally.

u/Jaguar_undi · 8 pointsr/gadgets

That is $700 for an i5, 8gb of ram, and no ssd. Seems like a shit deal to me. Definitely not worth $1000.
EDIT: this is at least what you should expect from a $1000 pc https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=mp_s_a_1_115?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1558587218&s=gateway&sr=8-115

u/pfbangs · 8 pointsr/pcmasterrace

I would strongly recommend focusing on refurbished laptops. Separately, you're either going to be looking at "gaming laptops"
or "professional mobile workstations." You want at least 4 cores (8 total threads aka virtual cores) for the CPU. Almost all current CPUs have 2xcores = threads/virtual cores, at the moment. It's nice. (Edit for clarity-- the # of cores advertised is usually recognized as 2x as many cores by the operating system and related software. This is "cores" vs "threads" in advertising and formal specs) You'll probably want Intel gen 8 or 9 or ryzen 5. If your applications are heavy on CPU, the more cores/virtual cores, the better. More cores can cut rendering time down significantly.

Regarding CPUs: there is a base clock value, and a boost clock value.

Example for Intel here

Example for AMD here

Google the specific processor. They boost automatically, on demand. They are advertised, however, with base clock (unless it specifically mentions "boost"/"turbo" next to the number). Boost is generally and reliably consistent, so it's safe to choose a CPU if the boost frequency meets the softwares' suggested/recommended CPU specs/speed. I pretty much guarantee your focus will be on core count, not speed, as the machines you're looking at have ample CPU speed across the board.

Regarding GPUs, this is what will likely break your budget. A quick search for "best laptop for Oculus Rift 2019" (strong emphasis on quick) came up with this one as the only under $1k before tax. That's a decent little machine. I'd be worried that it'd overheat, and that's something you should consider-- either cooling options (raise it off the desk/surface, fan blowing under, or similar) or getting an actual PC with better fans. Gaming laptops slow down due to heat when they're doing things [read:VR], and in my experience, their overall life/viability is reduced on the whole.

Further, re:GPUs:

You do not want "embedded" or "on board" graphics. You need a dedicated GPU (with the physical connections needed for the VR headset).

depending on what you're rendering, the GB value on the GPU itself matters. If your virtualized and/or rendered scene has high detail textures (think about an actual 4k image repeated 16x to cover a large wall in your VR scene), those 4/6/8GB of memory on the GPU itself will be needed to store that texture data. Higher the GB value on the dedicated card, the more texture detail your VR space will be able to handle.

If you have questions about certain CPUs or GPUs as you're looking at these things, just go to youtube and check for that component and how they work with VR. Shoot-- check for reviews for that specific component for any ofd the specific applications you're using. There's tons of reviews/content on that sort of things across the board. Separately, newegg, frys, microcenter, amazon-- focusing on refurbished, I believe, is your best bet. GL Last edit-- you'll be fine with 16GB RAM on any of the related machines.

u/Michiganders · 8 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Finding a mix of battery life, portability, and a powerful graphics card may be a bit difficult in your price range. Games like DOOM and PUBG are fairly demanding and will require a decent dGPU to run smoothly.


I wouldn't really suggest any of your three choices there. If anything, the non-refurbished Acer Helios 300 would be a significantly better choice - especially if you have Amazon Prime (it reduces the price to $900). With a GTX 1060 it'd be easily powerful enough for your needs, has a decent build quality, and an okay battery life. However, it is a bit on the bulky side at 5.6 pounds.

An even better choice may be the Lenovo Legion Y530. It's not quite as powerful but it's still easily good enough for the games you've listed. It's also a bit lighter at 5.0 lbs, has a bit more sleek of a design, and an okay build quality. Unfortunately the battery life on it is below average at just 3-5 hours.

If you want more options to compare check out my recommendation guide. Also feel free to comment if you have any questions, best of luck!

u/luxshots_films · 5 pointsr/videography

A desktop.

But, if you want good performance, a laptop designated as a gaming laptop
would be a good start. A better one would be a desktop replacement laptop. And best would be a workstation laptop.

u/timcookytech · 5 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C

save for tower, this should work perfect for wow, btw you should clean fans every 3 months

u/crew6dawg0 · 4 pointsr/hoggit

You have two options.

  1. Get a miniature tower that can run DCS which will be possible for under $1,000.
  2. Get a laptop that can run DCS, but you'll be limited on upgradability and screen size unless you buy a monitor separate.

    You're young so I'll go ahead and tell you that life is about compromises, you aren't going to get a hand held computer that can run DCS for $500 in VR at 150 FPS, it just ain't gonna happen. You'll have to choose the lesser of the two evils.

    ​

    Here is a laptop that can run DCS fairly well. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=asus+gaming+laptop&qid=1554490237&s=gateway&sr=8-3 It cost literally 999, so its going to be over 1,000 with taxes. Here is another that after taxes should be less than 1,000... https://www.amazon.com/MSI-GV62-8RD-200-Performance-Steelseries/dp/B07D4ZML7M/ref=sr_1_12?keywords=asus+gaming+laptop&qid=1554490367&refinements=p_n_feature_five_browse-bin%3A13580790011&rnid=2257851011&s=electronics&sr=1-12

    ​

    You can get away with playing on a laptop, I play on a 3 year old one with worse specs than the laptops mentioned above, but I also have a high dollar monitor, TrackIR, and a HOTAS. Playing DCS on a small ass laptop screen sucks.

    ​

    If you have a problem with moving a small computer tower, this isn't going to be the game for you, because you are going to need a joystick also. You can get away with flying with the keyboard or even an XBOX controller, but it is the equivalent of trying to be a professional wrestler with no arms, and you'll never come close to being as good as you could be with the proper equipment. You'll also want a headtracking device for DCS, and if you decide on TrackIR which is the best one out right now, it's gonna cost you over $100. You can kiss VR goodbye with your limited budget.

    ​

    As someone below mentioned, I wouldn't burn all your money up for gaming at such a young age my dude. You're obviously worried about meeting chicks or else you wouldn't have mentioned it in your post, so get yourself a whip and step out of your comfort zone.

    ​
u/bacon_jews · 4 pointsr/oculus

Cheap VR Ready laptops don't exist. Even mediocre i7-8750H / Gtx1060 system will cost you around $1000. More decent i7-9750H / Gtx1660Ti version is $1100.

You might find some sales or cheap deals, but you have to shop around. Look for a laptop with at least Gtx1060 (ignore all the 1050Ti's and 1650's), ideally with i7-8750H or i7-9750H CPU (avoid R7-3750H).

u/BestBeating · 4 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

What do you think about this version of Acer Predator Helios 300? The price is CAD $1820.

  • 8th Generation Intel Core i7-8750H 6-Core Processor (Up to 4.1GHz) with Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Overclockable Graphics with 6 GB of dedicated GDDR5 VRAM
  • 15.6" Full HD (1920 x 1080) widescreen LED-backlit IPS display (144Hz Refresh Rate, 300nit Brightness & 72% NTSC )
  • 16GB DDR4 2666MHz DRAM Memory & 256GB PCIe NVMe SSD | Extra empty accessible slot for 2.5 inch hard drive or SSD
  • Gigabit Wi-Fi |Backlit Keyboard | USB 3.1 (Type C) | Dual All-Metal AeroBlade 3D Fan Cooling | Metal Chassis
  • PredatorSense gaming control panel, providing customization and control of gaming features, including system temperature, CPU fan speed and system fan speed.
  • Up to 7-hours of battery life

    More Details
u/Trevor2497 · 3 pointsr/oculus

I agree with most of the guys in here to invest in a desktop.......unless you absolutely need a laptop. I have both because I go to school out of state and a laptop made more sense for traveling.

I ended up getting the Acer Predator Helios 300 and I have not had many issues with bandwidth on 3 sensors. Just make sure you buy a USB hub too because there are only 3 ports. I bought a 3.0 but I wish I got the usb-c one so I could run my sensors in 3.0 (which isn’t a big deal)

performance is not bad on mine and I have the previous model with the i7 7770HQ quad core / Gtx 1060 where as this latest one has the 8th gen 6 core! With the 1060 of course. If you do go with a laptop, I would highly recommend a cooling pad because even with my cooling pad I hit temps around 85-91c while using Vr.
Hope this helps!

u/lordscrottus · 3 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

If you had a higher budget, I would have suggested laptop with Nvidia Quadro Cards. But I believe a good gaming laptop with about 16 GB of RAM is the best you can get at this price range.

​

Why do you need a dedicated graphics card? I think if you will be doing 3D modelling you will need more than just the integrated graphics.

​

So according to AUTO Desk "The highest influence for performance have RAM and graphic card. " https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad/learn-explore/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Which-hardware-components-are-significant-for-the-use-of-AutoCAD.html

With that in mind I would suggest.

With regard to your budget range

  1. Acer Predator Helios 300: https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/

    Checks the boxes in my opinion. 16 GB of RAM (2666Hz), i7-8750H, GTX 1060, 256 GB SSD

    Autodesk also says

    " Depending on the drawing for 2D drawings 16 GB is a good value. For 3D drawings of average size 32 GB is fine. If you want to render, then more can be needed."

    - Laptop with 32 GB RAM would be out of your range. I would suggest upgrading the RAM yourself if you ever have the need yourself. That'll be much cheaper

    - 16 GB laptop stick (DDR 4 2666MHz) costs about a $100. So upgrading would be more economical and feasible.

    ​

    I know I have only referenced Autodesk here, but the same idea can be applied to all engineering software.
u/legos45 · 3 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Hey,

for your use, I agree with the Acer Predator Helios 300, the 6-core processor + GTX 1060 will be much more suited for your use. 3D rendering will be hard on an MX150 and 4-core low power chip. Only downside is the gamer design.

u/metalspring6 · 3 pointsr/LaptopDeals

Alternate suggestions in your price range as well-

Acer Predator Helios 300 (2018 model)- great value with good 15in144hz screen, gtx 1060, newest i7 processor, and fast sdd storage for only $1200. Can get pretty hot when doing lots of gaming and only comes with 256GB storage (can easily add extra storage though) and keyboard is not RGB, it only has red lighting
https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-8750H-Overclockable-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/

HP omen- can get either 15 or 17 in with good 144hz HD screen or even 4k screen, also GTX 1060 graphics and newest i7 processor, can choose different amounts of super fast ssd storage, anywhere from about $1300 to about $2k depending on options on HP's website, or can just look on amazon for different ones though options are more limited like this one- https://www.amazon.com/HP-17-inch-Anti-Glare-i7-8750H-17-an120nr/dp/B07D961VDH/

Asus ROG Strix Scar Edition- great 17 inch screen with 120hz, also GTX 1060 graphics and newest i7 cpu, 256GB super fast ssd+ 1tb slower hybrid hdd for about $1500- https://www.amazon.com/GL703GS-DS74-8th-Gen-i7-8750H-Processor-FireCuda/dp/B07BPB3FL5

u/TheChronoFire · 3 pointsr/laptops

If I'm correctly look at the laptop that you have (i7 4700 hq and gtx 765m) I am confident to say that both the processor difference and gpu difference it quite substantial looking at modern laptops. From doing some research, the 765m performance an peform as well or worse than an mx150 gpu that is found in laptops at like 600 dollar. I couldnt exactly find a laptop for 1600 but Ill refer to one for 1200 on amazon. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-8750H-Overclockable-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=lp_565108_1_8?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1538671430&sr=1-8

This laptop has a way better gpu, cpu and a 144hz display while costing less than previously. Basically my point is laptops have gotten a lot better while becoming cheaper also.

u/Futonpimp · 3 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Take a look at the Helios 300

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_M.z4CbG53SCS1

u/MightyBlubb · 3 pointsr/SteamVR

You need a laptop with at least a GTX 1060 (closest to the gtx 970 listed on the game's steam page). The laptop you linked does not have a dedicated GPU but only the integrated Intel thing, which can't do anything beyond facebook games. Personally, I would look for a laptop with at least a GTX 1660 Ti (if it has to be a laptop and can't be a desktop), since that would at least be a tiny bit future proof.

For example:

GTX 1060

https://www.amazon.com.au/Acer-Predator-Helios-Black-i7-8750/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

https://www.umart.com.au/Infinity-17-3in-FHD-144Hz-i7-8750H-GTX-1060-256GB-SSD-Gaming-Laptop--S1060-CD_50812G.html

or

GTX 1660 Ti https://www.amazon.com.au/ASUS-Gaming-Laptop-15-15-99-inches/dp/B07QQB6DC1/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=laptop+gtx+1660&qid=1559039759&s=gateway&sr=8-3 (CPU isn't the greatest however)

​

If you happen to have a display (or you'd have to buy a cheap one) a Desktop PC would be either quite a bit cheaper for similar / slightly better specs or way more powerful at a similar pricepoint, e.g. https://au.pcpartpicker.com/list/WFg2vn (RTX 2060/2070 as GPU and higher CPU if you want more power, Windows can be found online for cheap)

u/The_Adviser100 · 3 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

For gaming at this price range I would advise you to check this laptops

laptop name | Acer Predator Helios 300 2018 | Eluktronics Mech-15 G2
--- |---- |----
CPU | Hexa core 8th Gen I7-8750H | Hexa core 8th Gen I7-8750H
GPU | GTX 1060 | GTX 1060
Screen "| 144Hz 15.6"" FHD IPS" "| 15.6"" FHD IPS"
Ram | 16 GB | 8 GB
SSD | 256 GB | 250 GB
HDD | 0 | 0
Weight | 5.5 Lbs. | 4.5 Lbs.
Battery life | 3.5 Hrs. | 4 Hrs.
Price | 1150~1250$ | 1150~1250$
Pros | One of the best bang for the money in the market. | light .
Pros | A great screen with 144hz perfect for photo and video editing and a nice game play . | The GTX 1060 should be enough for CAD work and good gaming exprince .
Pros | The GTX 1060 should be enough for CAD work and good gaming exprince . | A great mechanical keyboard.
Cons | The laptop will throttle under heavy load . | The keyboard is a little loud for a class room.
Cons | Short battery life . | The laptop has rough edges.
Cons | Some areas of the keyboard will get too hot to touch . | It doesn't have TB 3.


It's advised to undervolt and repaste all of the I7-8750H laptop CPUs to keep it from throttling and to increase the lifespan of the laptop plus it also help with the fan noise

Try to get a dual Ram setup if you are gaming to get the best out of your GPU as 2x8 is better than 1x16 .


You could check my post about What GPU to get to help you decide what to go for .

u/haazyreads · 3 pointsr/GamingLaptops

The ASUS range is best value for money. I would have purchased this one from amazon if Australia didn’t impose an import tax on it that offset the value. If you can wait for it to go on special, it’s an excellent buy.

Otherwise the latest gen ASUS Predator with a 1060 is a bargain buy now.

u/slider162 · 3 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Absolutely. 2019 Acer Predator Helios 300 was $999 last week. 2018 Acer Predator Helios 300 is already below that on a normal day.

u/reduxreactor · 3 pointsr/GirlGamers

MSI GL63 ($667.76)- 15.6", i5-8300H, GTX 1050, 8GB RAM, 256 GB NVMe SSD.

ASUS FX504 ($805.00) - 15.6", i7-8750H, GeForce 1050 Ti, 8GB RAM, 256 M.2 SSD.

Acer Predator Helios 300 ($829.99) - 15.6" 144Hz screen, i7-8750H, GTX 1060, 16GB RAM, 256 NVMe SSD.

Lenovo IdeaPad L340 ($850) - 15.6", i7-9750H, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD & 256GB NVMe SSD, GTX 1050.

Keep in mind budget gaming laptops aren't really portable (personal experience lol). Also you really just pay for what you get, but hopefully these might help! Given smaller storage on most of these, if you do go with one of them, I recommend getting an external HDD (hard drive disk, standard and slower than SSD, cheaper) or SSD (solid state drive, runs way faster, more expensive).

u/Mkilbride · 3 pointsr/LaptopDeals

The 899 Helios still available.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_fkmr1_1?keywords=Helios+1060&qid=1563283223&s=electronics&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&sr=8-1-fkmr1

Quite frankly, still no better deal. For 899$, it's a no brainer. But if the 999$ 1660 Ti version comes back in stock - I may break.

Here's what I'd do for the BEST price.

Giftcard yourself 25$. Get 5$ credit. Add the the remaining 876$ to your Amazon Giftcard balance. 2% back. So 17.50$ back. Amazon has that promotion buy anything over 25$, get 5$ free. Bam. Best savings.

u/techstar2000 · 3 pointsr/LaptopDeals

For vk video editing, I would rather go for an i7 processor and 16 GB RAM... What about this APH 300 ?

u/G-Love80 · 2 pointsr/totalwar

Does this laptop look like it can play Total War games effectively? I'm mostly interested in the new Three Kingdoms game and the Total Warhammer games. Looks to be a pretty good deal, and I'm thinking about taking advantage of it!


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTHLX8C?pf_rd_p=76bd99fd-409f-46a4-9ff6-b66b5703e95b&pf_rd_r=RWHMX88Z74Q3YPGCN4P0


Intel i7-8750H


GTX 1060 6GB


16GB DDR4 RAM

u/Scum42 · 2 pointsr/computers

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTHLX8C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

You will get hate for this, not because of circlejerk hatred for Apple (though I admit that does exit), but because you are clearly wrong.

It is extremely easy to find higher spec machines for much less. What I just posted is $400 less than the mac pictured here, and has almost twice as much CPU speed, twice as much RAM, the same hard drive space (which is quite bad, most computers have at least 500GB or 1TB), not to mention that the storage in the linked computer is a PCIE-connected NVM drive which is even slightly faster than an SSD, and (relatively) high end graphics card. Also, a backlit keyboard.

I am using this computer to type this right now.

And you're saying that the "ecosystem" and the "os" is worth $400 more and worth the decreased specs, even though anything you buy for that "ecosystem" can never be used with any other ecosystem by design.

I don't see a way that opinion can be justified, other than someone being buried so deep in Apple's parasitic ecosystem that sunk cost fallacy is taking over.

u/artiste_synapse · 2 pointsr/LaptopDeals

hey, i'm sorry for getting back on thread again, and again.


but, what do you think about Aces Predator Helios 300 over Lenovo Legion yk7/Eluktronics. It seems to have the same specs at $1000 bucks, but 4.1 Hz over-locked, and 144 Hz fps ( also, to keep in mind that the look of it ain't that great (pretty aggressive), and over-heats a lot apparently).

do you think 60 hz, 120 hz, and 144 hz would make a difference in the process of rendering, animation, or film editing? or do you think 60 Hz is good enough?


as a final question, i'm just really curious to whether waiting till cyber monday would change, or bring any further drops in the prices of these?, and does 'back-ordered' automatically imply that they wouldn't run out of stock? thank you so so much.

u/TeamWorkOPleaseNerf · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

For now it seems this thing offers some great bang 4 the buck, the smoothness of the display is something you just have to experience, and it has proper specs with a 6 core 8th gen intel and a 1060 graphics card which shall be plenty for any needs, 16 gb of ram and a solid state drive to isntall windows/apps/ some small games. Its big and looks gamey as heck tho and somehow doesnt have an optical drive even with its size, you can get an external one tho https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=1060+laptop&qid=1554216523&s=electronics&sr=1-3

​

​

Alternatively, maybe a desktop that isnt as big as the ones you usually see may work, it will suffer from less thermal limitations and will be upgradeable if your kids want to go down that route, i came up with this https://pcpartpicker.com/list/pxnvJ8

Compared to the laptop it has a processor with twice the threads, high quality and reliability ram, motherboard and power supply, a better graphics card, bigger solid state drive and bigger Hard drive, optical bay and a optical drive included in the price. If you have a tv on the house you can connect this pc to it and you can have a fun afternoon building the thing with the kids, it will feel extremely rewarding

​

u/erroneous-thoughts · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

From a quick look at the recommended specs you want a laptop with something equivalent to or better than an i5 6600k, 16 GB RAM, and 4 GB of video memory. You can shop around between brands but this is the first I found that meets the specs: GTX 1050, or the following which has a 1060 which would have a much easier time running the game: GTX 1060

u/Kristosh · 2 pointsr/Surface

Honestly, at 720p lowest settings you MIIIGHT be able to get 30+ frames. Mayyyyyyybe at 1080p.

But really, if you want to game on a laptop just grab a last-gen gaming PC (HP Omen, Lenovo Y series, Acer Nitro series) with a 1050 ti or even 1060 and it will absolutely blow the laptop away. I'm talking 60fps+ at 1080p with medium-high settings, probably 3x-6x the performance and you'd probably spend a few hundred less.

The Laptop just isn't meant to be a gaming PC. The Surface keynote even highlighted that the custom AMD tuning was for 'professional workloads' and not so much gaming.

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC for $989

Asus TUF Gaming Laptop FX504 15.6" for $809

Acer Nitro 5 AN515 Laptop for $675

Asus TUF FX505DT Gaming Laptop for $699.99

u/NatureBytesDev · 2 pointsr/gamedesign

I really don't understand the hate for laptops in this post. OP asked for a good laptop for a reasonable price, his only fault was that he didn't give his price he could pay. He also didn't ask "desktop vs laptop" So i don't know why thats even a response. Its his responsibility to figure that out beforehand, looks like he did.

​

I bought a gaming laptop almost 4.5 years ago and its still a beast. Its got a gtx 860m that has never let me down. It can run both Unity or UE4 with ease as well as game.

​

Here are some good laptops for you ordered from cheapest to expensive -

$730 - https://www.amazon.com/MSI-GF63-9SCX-615-Gaming-i5-9300H/dp/B07TN4C9FY/ref=sr_1_14?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1570568914&sr=8-14#customerReviews

$989 - https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1570568914&sr=8-3

$1,099.99 - https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1570568914&sr=8-4#customerReviews

u/LonerIM2 · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

I would go with [Acer Predator Helios 300] (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/?tag=bkadamos_alltest-20) because it comes with everything you need, 8th generation, i7 hexa core CPU which is one of the best in the market and great for your usage, 16GB of ram for smooth multitasking, good SSD storage of 256GB for faster boot up and loading, 15.6 inch Full HD IPS 144Hz screen which is a must have for this price range, high build quality, decent battery life, very good heat management, backlit keyboard, and it’s within your budget.

If you don't like this one then I would recommend that you check my best gaming and college laptop to compare it with similar options.

u/tjrissi · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

If weight is not a problem, i would recommenced finding a Acer Predator laptop. The Helios 500 looks great and very future proof, although over $1,500. The Helios 300 is 15.6in and very portable, reasonably powerful, reasonably priced and probably the best bang for you buck gaming laptop out there. I had the 2017 Helios 300 and it was a great laptop. I have full trust in the Predator line of laptops, I have had a few over the years and have never had one that disappointment me.

u/elvinelmo · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Value for money wise the Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop would be your best option but I am not sure if it is as professional as you would want it. With the games you have listed thermal throttling should not be an issue

· 15.6" Full HD IPS Display w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate,

· Intel 6-Core i7-8750H,

· GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Overclockable Graphics,

· 16GB DDR4,

· 256GB

u/aleishabb · 2 pointsr/LaptopDeals

Currently you can get the basic version of the Eluktronics Mech-15 G2 Pro for around your budget

15.6" Full HD IPS-Type w/ 60Hz Refresh Rate Display 94% sRGB (Argyll 3D) 60% AdobeRGB

· Intel 6-Core i7-8750H,

· GeForce GTX 1660Ti Graphics,

· 8GB RAM,

· 250GB SATA SSD

This a good gaming laptop that has a clean and professional look. It has a fast SSD, full size keyboard and they keys have a nice feel to them. This laptop is a cut above other gaming laptops at this price range because of its cooling system. Its one of the only laptops that can game intensely without getting hot too quickly. There are a lot of variations to this laptop so you can find the one that fits your budget and specific needs. If you are a student this may not be the ideal laptop for you as its battery life is around 4 hrs so you might have to find an outlet a few times a day.

​

--------------------------------------------

But you just want to have the best specs for the money the Acer Predator Helios 300 would be the best option

u/Bubaroo3 · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

$1800 for a 1060 is not a good deal.

This one has identical specs (although it's 15") for half that price

u/Wispborne · 2 pointsr/oculus

If it's this one: https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C

Then no.

- It has no DisplayPort output.

- That would be ok, but it also has no Thunderbolt 3 output, so you cannot use an adapter to get DisplayPort.

----

However, the Rift S should work fine with my gaming laptop (Asus GM501), because it does has a Thunderbolt 3 attached to the GPU. I'll find out for sure tomorrow, but that's why we say that some gaming laptops will work and others won't.

u/Grundlage · 2 pointsr/skyrim

r/buildapc and r/buildapcforme will help you out a ton. There are tons of redditors whose hobby is to help people in exactly your situation. If you're willing to put in the time to read a bit and maybe watch a youtube tutorial, you can end up with a machine that you can run virtually any game on for years.

If you need a laptop for other reasons (or just prefer the ability to game outside of your room), that's another story. If you're sure you want a laptop, you can get one with very good specs for ~$1000. This one, this one, and this one are all good options: they offer a current-gen CPU, a GTX 1060, 16GB RAM, and numerous other desirable features.

u/Nate-Sc · 2 pointsr/LaptopDeals

I recommend the Acer Predator Helios 300. It’s more than capable of doing everything you mentioned and more. Plus it’s on sale for $999 right now on Amazon.

The only issue you might have is the the small 256gb ssd. Buying a 1tb hdd should fix that right away. If you want, you can buy an internal drive and install it yourself, or just go for an external drive.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1541774527&sr=8-3&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=acer+predator+helios+300&dpPl=1&dpID=41fMfnFOpHL&ref=plSrch

u/PomfAndCircvmstance · 2 pointsr/TwoBestFriendsPlay

I actually have done some PC gaming before so I'm plenty familiar with Steam/GOG/etc. I just haven't been able to run anything more graphically intensive than CS:GO or Skyrim and know fuck all about actual computer hardware.

As for the laptops I've looked at so far this is the [Acer] (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/?coliid=I2XEIN4MPDL79P&colid=1DG0XRXJ2X4HS&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it&th=1) and this is the [Dell G5] (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CD3MRZD/ref=twister_B07FKR9DDX?_encoding=UTF8&coliid=ISCN5X5CSN26H&colid=1DG0XRXJ2X4HS&th=1).

I mainly just want something that'll last for a few years and be able to run new games at mid to high graphics without turning into a slideshow.

u/[deleted] · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

I think if you want a 144hz screen, the only one within your budget is the hp omen, you need to follow the instructions for bob of all trades to get better thermals:

https://store.hp.com/UKStore/Merch/Offer.aspx?p=c-OMEN-by-HP-gaming-laptops-2018#pib1-t1

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HeMRUFSb0d0

If you pay a little bit extra, you can get the predator helios 300 but this laptop has power throttling issues:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07CTHLX8C/

https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/549797/2018-helios-300-throttling-issues

https://community.acer.com/en/discussion/550260/how-do-i-reduce-power-limit-throttling-and-current-limit-throttling-on-my-8750h-cpu#latest

The asus gl703gm is slightly out of your budget as well and this laptop is prone to bsods. If you get this laptop, please update your bios and do a clean install of windows by reinstalling your drivers:

https://www.box.co.uk/GL703GM-EE063T-ASUS-ROG-Strix-GL703GM-EE063T_2315689.html

u/shinigamiscall · 2 pointsr/blackfriday

If you are going to spend more than $700 then go for the Helios 300 because it comes with the i7-8750h, 144hz screen and a 1060.

u/Dan6erbond · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

To run PUBG and edit videos you're going to want the absolute best GPU for the price as well as at least a 8th gen i5, but for the video editing you're going to want an i7 so for around 1'000$ I'd get the Asus TUF as it has a hexa-core i7 processor with a well cooled GTX1060, if you don't like the 17" size screen, you could go slightly up in the price range (1'000 - 1'200$) and get either the Dell Inspiron 15 if you want something sligthly slimmer or the Acer Predator Helios 300 which is simply a beast and will definetly run CS:GO at 144Hz even if you might want to add an HDD to it because the 256GB SSD is kind of small.

u/orijinal · 2 pointsr/LaptopDeals

Closest I could find is this Acer Predator Helios 300 for ~$1158, though no mechanical keyboard and no 1TB HDD. Though, you could always buy an HDD for the price difference anyway.

u/LedgeEndDairy · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Unfortunately the Acer Helios 300 was on sale for $1000 just yesterday afternoon, but has gone back up ("Cyber Monday") to just under $1,200.

Not sure what the tax would be like to import, but it's still a great deal. It does run a little hot, so I hear, though.

For about $60 cheaper, you can get the Dell G5587. 1050 Ti vs. 1060, half the SSD space but 1 TB HDD (You can add more space to the Helios as well), same RAM, and you lose the 144 Hz refresh rate.

The Helios is ~2.5kg to the Dell's ~2.85kg as well. Not a huge difference either way, but the Helios is lighter. If you're looking for ~$1,000 after import fees, you're gonna be hard-pressed to find a laptop with your specifications. Just the 1050Ti 'spec' alone ends up being over $1000 on most anything I found.

Actually the Dell Inspiron i7577 might match most of what you want. Great cooling system, only $900, GTX 1060 GC, 128 SSD (I believe this is easily upgradeable), 1TB HDD, and i5 processor. Only 8 GB RAM (again, pretty sure it's easily upgradeable) and it's not the i7 you wanted, but otherwise a really good deal as well. I nearly purchased this one. Same weight as the other Dell.

u/MentholsAnd40s · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Hey question, I found this guy which has the same i7 and 16gigs of ram..

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=psdcmw_cart_13896615011_t1_B07FP9ZT77

Which one is better for 4k video editing/gaming and why?

u/SwitchGuru · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

Yes on Amazon. But if you want a cheaper one, there is one for 750$. With an i5 and 1050. It's called the Acer Nitro 5 8gb ram 1tb hdd and windows ten.
Nitro 5. (Acer)
https://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/model/NH.Q3ZAA.001

Helios 300 (amazon)
https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1549732338&sr=8-1-spons&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=helios+300&psc=1 the price is on a litter less sale for $1,099.

u/kb389 · 2 pointsr/laptops

with that price getting a gtx 1060 is easy so get this-

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" Full HD IPS Display w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate, Intel 6-Core i7-8750H, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Overclockable Graphics, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_2cKDBb0CZ312G

u/Resstario · 2 pointsr/GamingLaptops

Acer just came out with one that has a 144hz rate.
Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" Full HD IPS Display w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate, Intel 6-Core i7-8750H, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Overclockable Graphics, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_PFxKBbAKG9WWQ

u/liviumdec · 2 pointsr/thesims

I'll kick off the thread, as I actually have a question for all you savvy folks.

I finally sprung for a gaming laptop yesterday- this one, an Acer, https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTHLX8C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 that I had been eyeing for a while.

Hours later I noticed this MSI on sale as well- with a markedly better graphics card and a promo price that was better than the one I had purchased... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07R6B94C7/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_x9SBDb3M7DK24

The Acer I bought has a 4.1 GHz Intel Core i7, while the MSI has 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7, so I'm consoling myself in that it has a quicker processor. It also has twice the RAM (16gb vs 8gb.) The graphics card difference has me feeling like it might be in my interest to return the Acer (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 "Overclockable Graphics with 6 GB of dedicated GDDR5 VRAM") and get the MSI ( NVIDIA GeForce GTX1650 .)

I'm aware of the recommended and minimum specs for running the game, but I'm wondering which feature is more important... is TS4 + all DLC (performance and appearance) more card-dependent, or processor dependent?

u/Edmyster619 · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

I got this about two weeks ago, its incredible. I was able to snag it on sale for $830 dollars on labor day, but it's well worth what's posted currently!

u/frankfontaino · 2 pointsr/PlanetZoo

Here's a ~$1000 gaming laptop with an i7 processor and a gtx 1060 that would probably be able to run the game decently well at medium settings.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1569218481&sr=8-3

u/dualboy24 · 2 pointsr/SuggestALaptop

God I wish I was going to school these days with the tech we have now, built a celeron 366 BP6 dual socket back in 99 when I went for comp sci.

​

Are you going to be docking and doing a multiple monitor setup? or is this a secondary system and you will have a mian powerhouse desktop with 2 or 3 large screens?

​

Lots of good options in that budget range, just looking at some of the results on amazon.com I see the following:

​

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming laptop with 15.6, i7-8750H (6 Core 12 Thread), 1060 Graphics 6GB dedicated, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVME, and a empty 2.5" drive bay for adding a SSD or HDD for addiional storage. I would just get an addional 512GB/1TB cheap SSD for that. - $999

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=8750h&qid=1562626349&s=gateway&sr=8-1

u/POPODELFOFO · 2 pointsr/architecture

Sure, most of your work (the first 80% of your projects) would be done on the move whilst studying, before bringing out the big guns when the project becomes more consistent and ready to render. In that first phase, you would only need to run your drafting softwares smoothly. Another important aspect to consider is your workflow, whether it's more CPU or GPU oriented.

So I think the most important points to focus on are:

u/Possibly_Evelynn · 2 pointsr/deadbydaylight

I believe OP's asking about a pc as they stated they have a switch and also to answer their question I personally play on pc and have for a few years now (not just DBD which I only started really playing this past sunday) But I would say if you could find a decent pc or have one built it's 100% worth it for the amount of games on the platform. Note I have no experience with DBD on switch although I do own one so can't help with that. However if you have friends that would be willing to join you in getting pc's it's wonderful albeit a little on the expensive side however you wouldn't need to really get anymore consoles unless it's handheld really ever again unless they have an exclusive you are dying to play. It's 100% worth looking into and depending on age (thinking highschool to college age) you may be able to get help securing a laptop thats decent using the excuse it will help with school. I would recommend this laptop in that case as well as a decent mouse https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_4?crid=1452PWUNZAWHM&keywords=helios+300&qid=1565747581&s=gateway&sprefix=helios%2Caps%2C169&sr=8-4 it's still expensive but has fairly decent components only needing a extra hard drive later on. Or you could try to build an actual pc but then you need a keyboard monitor etc. But my pc has been my all time best spent money and I've had it for going on 3 years now but it's more expensive. Thats just my opinion anyways but steam sales are also a great way to save money on games that may be full price on other systems

u/BuyMeaSalad · 2 pointsr/classicwow

My one suggestion would be to prioritize your CPU over GPU. WoW is actually a more CPU intensive game.

Here are some suggestions from what I believe are some of the best value gaming laptops right now:

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1566063520&s=gateway&sr=8-3

Predator has a 1060, 144hz screen, SSD, and a super powerful i7 professor. This thing will run WoW like a beast.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-9750H-Keyboard-PH315-52-78VL/dp/B07QXLFLXT/ref=mp_s_a_1_7?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1566063607&s=gateway&sr=8-7

Newer generation of predator is gonna cost you a few extra bucks, but you get a 1660ti which is a big upgrade over a 1060 plus you get the newer gen i7 as well.

https://www.amazon.com/Gaming-TUF505-Notebook-NVIDIA-Windows/dp/B07T3G4N7Z/ref=mp_s_a_1_58?keywords=gaming+laptop&qid=1566063845&s=gateway&sr=8-58

Another great option that gives you a 1660ti, although the AMD processor doesn’t perform as well as an i7, it’s still a perfectly capable processor.

u/dawnshield06 · 2 pointsr/pcmasterrace

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_5HfvDb08EC4TR

IMO

u/SpellCommander91 · 2 pointsr/VideoEditing

Fortunately for us editing folk, consumer gaming hardware brought the cost of high end editing hardware WAAAAAAY down for us. Most gaming computers serve our needs very well unless you are doing high end visual effects work or 3D animation.

I bought this computer for my girlfriend so that she could start editing her gaming footage for YouTube. So I know it’s capable of doing QHD 60fps projects because that’s her primary format and 60fps UHD ProRes LT (her cam in screen record format)

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_c1DyDb1F0WAJ9

I use this Alienware machine and it’s a beast. I just finished editing and coloring a 12 minute short shot in Redcode RAW 3:1 compression at 6K. But I did upgrade and bump it up to 32gb of RAM.

Alienware 17 R5 AW17R5, 17.3" FHD, Intel Core i7-8750H, GTX 1070 Graphics, 16GB DDR4 Ram, 256GB SSD+1TB HDD, Windows 10 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CWHWYPK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_c5DyDbW8C3JVM

u/00100000spacebar · 2 pointsr/laptops

For students, I always would say chromebooks are king because of the affordability and the ability to do basically anything a student would need of a laptop, and for gaming, AMD laptops are always the best because of how good they are price to performance, but this laptop is a STEAL, and you should totally splurge a little extra for it before the deal runs out.

u/G1g0byte · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Here's a decent laptop:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07CTHLX8C

It's got a 15.6" 144hz display, gtx 1060, i7 8750H & a 256gb nvme

u/DustinAA · 1 pointr/buildapcforme

sure! And I guess it doesn't need to be the smallest case, I just do like the form factor of something smaller because it's easier to move around.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTHLX8C/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I got it before the sale ended. Was $1000 when I purchased

u/kataskopo · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

The Helios 300 is $999 right now in Amazon US, so about 800 pounds.

If you could get it at that price, it is a considerable upgrade to your actual one.

u/deanwilliamlee · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

Budget: $900

Country: USA

Screen size: No prefer

Screen resolution: 1080p or higher

Touch screen: Yes, then need: stylus, fold back or detachable function

Weight: Maybe less than 4.5 pounds

Hi guys I'm looking a decent performance and good battery life laptop for light gaming, Solidworks, Autocad, Mastercam, Visual Studio and Matlab. I've already got Helios 300 Predator (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTHLX8C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s01?ie=UTF8&th=1), but it's too heavy and poor battery life (1.5~2 hours is it's maximum). I have to carry this laptop for school everyday.

I found 2 laptops online:

  1. Hp Envy x360 15.6" with i7-8565u, mx250 4gb, ram 16gb, 256gb SSD for $882
  2. Lenovo ThinkPad P51 https://www.reddit.com/r/LaptopDeals/comments/d8whhg/lenovo_thinkpad_p51_156_fhd_ips_i76820hq_16gb/

    I'm not sure which one is better. Envy has touchscreen but it comes with 4-cell, 53 Wh Lithium-ion prismatic Battery.

    Recommend me any other laptop besides of those two. Oh also, how do you guys think about ASUS VivoBook S15 S532FA? Is it worth to buy it?

    Light, decent performance and battery life. Thank you.
u/mjayg · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

Someone recommended this one which on sale for $900 if a Prime member and seems to work... https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTHLX8C

Looks like I can also swap in the 1TB SSD I have... https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073SBQMCX

Is that correct?

u/layshea · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Is this a good deal? I am looking for a machine that I can do a bit of gaming on that is also good for productivity and school. I work 12 hour shifts in EMS and having a decent gaming PC would be a good thing!

Any other recommendations?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CTHLX8C/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

u/GrayFoxCZ · 1 pointr/totalwar

If you wouldnt mind to pay a little extra, I would rather get this laptop https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=dp_cr_wdg_tit_nw_mr - as for your laptop: CPU is okayish, about 15% better than older i7 7700HQ, but GPU is not prolly going to cut it. You will be able to play on high/medium with FPS cap IMO.

u/Mr_OG · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?keywords=helios+300&qid=1555504352&s=electronics&sr=1-1-spons&psc=1

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC,
15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh,
Intel i7-8750H,
GTX 1060 6GB,
16GB DDR4,
256GB NVMe SSD,
Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP

$999 USD

It speaks for itself, there's no reason to get a 2019 model which cost a lot more and minimal performance upgrade when 1060 is future-proof enough.

u/IrtahkEnt · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

Get a gaming laptop since you mentioned that weight isn't a very big factor. They have the H series higher watt processors with higher clock speeds which deliver way better CPU performance which is what you need. The i7 H version actually has 2 more cores and 4 extra threads for a total of 6C/12T. This is something that will definitely make a lot of difference when doing creative work. Notebooks with their 15W chips simply can't come close to these higher wattage components.

I'd look into the Acer Predator Helios 300. Beast of a machine for $1000

15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C

If the above laptop looks too funny for your liking then get the Dell G5 i7 config which looks a lot less flashy than the Black/Red Acer mentioned above. It has a lesser powerful 1050Ti but with your requirements I don't see that as a problem. Also it costs $80 less.

https://www.amazon.com/Dell-G5587-7866BLK-PUS-Display-Processor-Licorice/dp/B07CD3MRZF/

Performance wise they're both top notch so it really boils down to your preference and design/aesthetics.

Also in the specs of Acer Predator they haven't mentioned any hard drive so I guess you'll need to install one on your own if you are serious about any sort of gaming/content creation.

So yeah, just go with the Dell G5. Hard to go wrong with it considering your requirements.

It's insane to think how far laptops have come. Had someone told me that you'll get performance better than 7700K with a 970 for $1000 I would have never believed it, but well.. here we are. :)

u/madbr3991 · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

I have this one and I am very happy with it. My only downside for this one is the 2 hour battery life.


Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_tMOPCbMHZV6VP

u/buggysharp · 1 pointr/laptops

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_.FyRCb01DN1S0

On sale for $1000 right now. It comes with a full GTX 1060. So you're not going to be able to run all games at ultra with 60fps but it will do decently and fits your price budget. You'll need to spend the money saved from the sale for an extra 2.5 inch SSD though.

u/HBK05 · 1 pointr/AskProgramming

I recently purchased a predator helios 300 (late 2018 model) for about a grand on Amazon, it has been serving me well for a few months. About 4 ghz & easily upgradable ram/storage, along with a gtx 1060 which will allow you to just about anything, fast. If you don't care about gaming, this is probably the best model to get.

​

Just a hint, gaming laptops now a days can be as fast as custom built PCs due to overclocking & such, but it requires wall power. -no- laptop can have an insanely fast experience without being on charger, none of my laptops will turn on turbo boost unless using wall power. If you don't know what turbo boost is, here is a link to a common/modern/powerful laptop cpu:

​

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark/products/134906/intel-core-i7-8750h-processor-9m-cache-up-to-4-10-ghz.html

​

The "GHZ" advertised is 4.10, which is awesome for -any- computer, but if you look into the specifications list, it normally runs at 2.2 unless 'turbo boost' is enabled, which requires sufficient wall power & proper thermals (just not overheating).

​

It will still be very fast while not on wall power, but you will lose over half of your cpu power (if you OC) when you lose wall power, on just about any laptop with serious power, so just be aware.

​

This is the exact model I purchased:

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/

​

There is a new 2019 model that was just announced, so you could hold out for that, or get the upgraded 'helios 500' which is the same thing but with more ram (the 300 has 16 gigs) and GPU power.

​

​

Best of luck!

u/jadenlong1234 · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_hOXXCb5JJ8SC4

u/GuN- · 1 pointr/amazon

How do i show shipping and import fees?
sorry but I'm new to amazon
I noticed that some items will have shipping and import fees calculated below their prices, while others don't
both items ship to united arab emirates according to the panel on the right.

u/MrMaster0990 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_HRT0DbHVA9X2Q


This one has pretty much the same stuff for $400 cheaper

u/ChipsOfSilicon · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

Acer-Predator or the more powerful version if you wait for blackfriday deals Acer-Predator-i7-9750H

u/scdiggeden0310 · 1 pointr/classicwow

I messaged you directly but I will post this here as well so others can see

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_5?keywords=acer+predator+helios+300&qid=1573495156&sr=8-5

This laptop is great for the price point. This is what I use myself until I can build my own PC in anticipation of running Cyberpunk 2077 at ultra settings.

u/marand97 · 1 pointr/laptops

Then I guess you can try a laptop which has similar specs to mine ;) Check out the Dream Machines Range, and if you are unsatisfied with the screen you can also opt for this acer https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_7?keywords=Lenovo+Legion+Y530&qid=1570431938&sr=8-7, quite fairly priced in my opinion.

u/osbombo · 1 pointr/RecommendLaptop

Wouldnt go with either of them, i have a better one for you with around the samw specs: laptop

Its currently unavaiable in india, wait or get it from elsewhere, core i7 and 1060 6gb, for less, there is also a model in india with the same specs as the laptops above, for less, I just want to say of you go with one of them in india put an ssd in them and Get extra (if needed (only 8)) get an extra 8 gb SDRAM, what you need can you read with CPU-Z from CPUID, The one i linked has a PCIe SSD and that can be extended in aanother bay and another 2.5 inch bay too. India only predator 300crazy one with rtx RTX one <p color=yellow> is this working </p>

Edit: No its not working xD

u/RicePower90 · 1 pointr/laptops

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_iM1PDb6Y2Q59V

This acer laptop looks like an absolute steal at less than 1k, great processor, GTX 1060. Battery life is advertised at 7 hours and while it’s not exactly light, it’s not really super heavy either at 5.51 pounds. 144hz refresh rate too. Just looking at the specs, this definitely looks like a better deal, but in terms of build quality and durability I’m not so sure.

u/mudkip27 · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

>Acer Nitro 5

While looking at the acer on amazon, I found this.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=psdc_13896615011_t1_B07H9ZXKXS

How would this work for my needs do you think?

u/LMechi · 1 pointr/unpopularopinion

Holy fuck I couldnt disagree more.

Firstly, you do realize that there are other laptops thn tjust the surface right? And the aluminum body isnt something that only the macbook has. The OS is entirely subjective, but imma be fucking honest, its almost childish how limited it is. There are so many things that Windows can do that iOS or MacOS cant and thats why I prefer it. And the pricing is fucking ridiculous.

Take their most expensive and latest 13" macbook pro. It costs 1800$.

Then take This laptop and compare it for the price (1200$) and specs. It beats out the macbook pretty hard. The only thing it does worse is the resolution of the screen (but this laptop has 144hz, which some people would prefer over higher resolution) and the OS (but the os is subjective).

u/nikidash · 1 pointr/flightsim

Check this out

If you get this be warned that it doesn't have a hard drive, only a small SSD, so you'll have to get one and install it yourself.

u/shhock · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

It's not the cheapest but still a solid choice.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_3-jLBbXTNC9W5


I picked it up and dont regret it at all.


The aesthetics are meh but for $1100 at the time was good enough for me.

u/e2rqey · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

I have a better deal Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" Full HD IPS Display w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate, Intel 6-Core i7-8750H, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Overclockable Graphics, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_RFtKBbJ4WPVG3

u/tek_thetech_tap · 1 pointr/laptops

This really depends on how much you are planning to spend. But for gaming laptops mostly, you can find the best bang for the buck when you start spending $800+. If let's say the gaming session is limited at home and not on the go, it's better to build a desktop. Regardless, here are some notable laptops with best bang for the buck:

  • Dell G3 micro center version (i5-8300H, 8GB DDR4-2666 RAM, 1TB HDD (no SSD), GTX 1060 Max-Q, ThunderBolt 3 Port) $750 as of this writing
  • HP Omen 15 micro center version (i7-8750H, 16GB DDR4-2666 RAM, 256GB SSD + 1TB HDD, GTX 1060 non Max-Q, ThunderBolt 3 Port) $1099 as of this writing
  • Acer Predator Helios 300 refresh on Amazon (i7-8750H, 16GB DDR4-2666, 256GB SSD (no HDD), GTX 1060 non Max-Q, no ThunderBolt 3 Port, 144Hz panel with no Nvidia G-Sync) $1199 as of this writing
u/realducksquack · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

At Ultra Settings, a GTX 1060 6GB runs

  • 1080p at ~98 FPS

  • 1440p at ~68 FPS


    So the best option will be to run at 1080p. Consider the -> new Predator Helios 300

  • Latest 8th gen 6 core processor

  • GTX 1060 6GB

  • 15.6" 144 Hz display

  • 256GB NVME SSD

  • 16GB DDR4 RAM

    This is the most value for money system on the market today. With the current discount, it fits right within your budget. Best if you can try it at your local stores and see if it works for you. Good luck!
u/reishid · 1 pointr/DotA2

What's your budget? Have you tried looking at the Acer Predator Helios 300? It's a great bang for buck gaming laptop with a 1060 and 144hz monitor.

u/RussianDeepstate · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=mp_s_a_1_1_sspa?crid=WTXZCYIO1W8N&keywords=predator+helios+300&qid=1551237496&s=gateway&sprefix=predator+he&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1

If you don't mind buying used very good this is under 1k and really nice. If you have access to micro center they have an hp omen for 999 that's really nice but a dim screen. Basically in that price range you are looking at a GTX 1060 6gb, which is a great gpu. What else is important to you? Even size, build quality, weight, screen quality or refresh rate?

u/felipeperezz117 · 1 pointr/buildapc

Here Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate, Intel 6-Core i7-8750H, Overclockable GeForce GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_i_ThSyCbP9WMYPK

u/Pabben03 · 1 pointr/laptops

We're currently in the same dilemma. I'm assuming you have the same budget as me ($1000-1200)? First off, I'd remove the HP Omen and the MSI GL63 from your list immediately simply because they are not 144hz. It's such a waste since all the laptops you listed are priced the same but those two don't have the vastly superior 144hz screens. Once you go 144hz, you will never go back to 60hz. Also, there is a better Y7000 being sold right now by B&H compared to the one you listed. It's better because it has a 144hz screen for exactly the same price.

Lastly, you can add the Acer Predator Helios 300 to your considerations. It's the same price as the OP 17 and the Y7000 and it has the same specs. Currently, I'm deciding between these last 3 laptops.

Here is the Y7000:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1432666-REG/lenovo_81lf0004us_core_i7_8750h_16gb.html

Here is the Helios 300:
https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=acer+predator+helios+300&qid=1549878155&s=electronics&sr=1-3

u/Mayank_j · 1 pointr/IndianGaming

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate, Intel 6-Core i7-8750H, Overclockable GeForce GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.in/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_AsOzCbAK89VVN



Buy this offline, you might get a cheaper price for this or maybe wait for a sale or something

u/glymao · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

I would still go for i7, GTX 1060, and 16 GB of ram. A better option would be the Acer Predator Helio 300. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C

This would be a minor but direct upgrade in all aspects, from CPU, GPU, screen (144hz) to battery.

Finally I do wonder why would your old laptop be on its last leg so fast. MSI mid ranges are quite sturdy. You can still sell it for a considerable amount.

u/Hitokage_Tamashi · 1 pointr/GamingLaptops

If you can go up to $1200, there's the Acer Predator Helios 300. The i7 7700HQ model is less, it's $1099 right now.

I can't really recommend a Dell Inspiron or G# right now, as Inspirons have throttling issues and the G line recently got neutered bad by a BIOS update that ruined the fan curve; Dell hasn't addressed either issue. If you absolutely have to, they're not a bad pick, but I'd be wary

u/z471 · 1 pointr/buildapc

I'll be playing games on it. I have another SSD inside this laptop that is 250 gigas and will be what Windows will be on. It's this laptop. Will it be that much of a difference for games? the QVO I mean. https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-i7-8750H-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

u/TheFoodGuyBob · 1 pointr/laptops

Sounds like you could use an acer helios 300. Basically, it has everything you want LOL. It's a really popular gaming laptop. I would still suggest buying a cooling pad since it doesn't hurt to have something extra haha.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=acer+helios+300&qid=1556990772&s=gateway&sr=8-3

u/miles_hayes · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

This laptop was at 899$ yesterday so it is quite Possible.

u/AXZ082 · 1 pointr/laptops

How does the asus compare to these two laptops? The build of the lenovo seems slightly worrisome but comes with a 4 year warranty from costco. And the Acer predator seems prone to overheating.
https://www.costco.com/Lenovo-LEGION-Y7000-Gaming-Laptop---Intel-Core-i7---GeForce-GTX-1060---1080p.product.100454283.html
Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop PC, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh, Intel i7-8750H, GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_6du6CbXT75R5P

u/ghostfox1_gfaqs · 1 pointr/photography

Why a laptop? It's doable, but will be much slower than a desktop for the same money.

If you want a laptop, I'd look for an i7 (more cores = better generally), a discrete GPU (like the 960, etc, not an integrated GPU), and 16 gigabytes of ram.

Something like this would work great.

The reason for the GPU is some programs can offload processing onto it, and use the GPU to chew through workloads faster. Of course, I'm not sure how much this is in the EU, but is a good guideline.

u/hochoa94 · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

eluktronics g2 very light laptop and has good air flow, mechanical keyboard is a nice addition

lenovo y520 has a thunderbolt and ports to add stuff to it, great for gaming and no throttling

asus gu501gm i personally have this one and love it, 120 hz screen, gtx 1060,

predator helios this one has the most bang for buck with the 144hz screen and OC gtx 1060, only problem it has is the fan noise, unless your son doesnt mind

dell g7 this one as well is pretty good from reviews, it does have a max q 1060 which isnt as strong as others but offers better cooling all around making fans less noisy.

​

these are the ones off the top of my head that go around $1200, except the one i have

if you do end up raising your budget you can definitely get a powerhouse of a laptop

u/buldog4354 · 1 pointr/LaptopDeals

So you need a laptop for 1000$ or less for gaming and video editing?
If so you can take look at this -
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_GH05BbN17VST6

Or this -
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074Q54GSR/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_BI05BbMGX12MH

Do you want to play 60fps ultra 1080p?Or you want a 4k screen on a laptop?
More detailed list of required aspects will help to narrow down the list.

u/sheepsleepdeep · 1 pointr/oddlysatisfying

The one with the 4GB 1050ti aint bad. But with laptops, every one dollar you invest in better components pays off x3 in performance. What's your budget? ...now add $250. Then wait until you hit that extra $250, and shop. Black Friday weekend is the best time to get a deal. For instance: the 4GB 1050ti version of the y530 is $880. For $200 more, you get an 8th gen 6 core 4ghz KL i7 instead of a 7th gen i5. You get a 144hz monitor vs a standard 60hz. You get 16gb RAM instead of 8. And you get a 6gb 1060 vs a 4gb 1050ti.

And I know for a fact the 2018 has been on sale for $999 before. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_abv6BbQF7Q960

u/MrShawn305 · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Acer Predator Helios 300 Gaming Laptop, 15.6" FHD IPS w/ 144Hz Refresh Rate, Intel 6-Core i7-8750H, Overclockable GeForce GTX 1060 6GB, 16GB DDR4, 256GB NVMe SSD, Aeroblade Metal Fans PH315-51-78NP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_qxi.BbQWECSMY

u/Vicariously3 · 1 pointr/SuggestALaptop

First time this laptop has gone on sale for under $1000, definitely not 2 in 1 but thought I'd throw it in cause for the price the specs are pretty insane.
https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C

u/Seiko2Rolex · 1 pointr/laptops

Yeah you'd have to spend around $1500 to get everything listed I think. A few years ago at the local Microcenter I was able to get a good deal on a gaming laptop with a GTX 1070. The screen is only 75Hz but it over clocks to 100Hz without issues. The CPU is a i7 6700HQ though but still solid.

I was just looking at the Acer you listed and it linked a newer model. It has 2 out of 3 requirements for $1200! Go with this one! The laptop I bought that I mentioned is also an Acer. I was impressed with the build quality. It actually fell off of my desk with the screen open and it survived too. It was a glass desk that just shattered on it's own from wear and tear. My laptop was the victim.

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=dp_ob_title_ce

The 17 inch model can had for $100 more at Microcenter.

https://www.microcenter.com/product/507931/predator-helios-300-ph317-52-74kr-173-gaming-laptop-computer---black

I guess you could say I'm partial to Acer Predator laptops.

u/Melvinhans · 1 pointr/pcmasterrace

Well now they aren’t really that bad, but when they had the mobile variant chips 9xx series the value/performance compared to a desktop was a lot worse. You can get a i7 16gb ram 256gb ssd gtx 1060 and ips 144hz screen for $1200. That’s not as bad as it used to be.
https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C

Were as before pascal you would pay $1500+ for a mobile variant chip that didn’t compare to a full size desktop one. Plus most laptops then were dual core with hyper threading and now we have quad cores with ht and even ryzen desktop chips.

u/grungegrenade · 1 pointr/buildmeapc

I started gaming on an HP Pavilion with an i5 (forget the model) and it had tons of QC issues so take my advice with a grain of salt. I think you are better off buying a new laptop with an i7 and gtx card if you wish to stick to laptops. My main issue is if you go and jerry rig the HP, you are voiding the warranty and potentially causing new issues with the computer. Those HPs are unreliable, and will possibly be even less reliable after a major overhaul like that. Plus the display on those HPs aren’t spectacular by any means. I can’t reccomend any specific model, but you could get a i7 gaming laptop for around a grand. Like this one here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CTHLX8C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_5ue-Bb5Q5KBK1

Another option is to buy a used laptop off craigslist, I’d say that’s a safer bet than trying what you described.

Or you could build a desktop, but I’m guessing you prefer laptops so I won’t go into that.

u/ShillingForAMD · 1 pointr/buildapc

this was on sale for 999 a few weeks ago. would have been perfect for you

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Predator-Overclockable-Aeroblade-PH315-51-78NP/dp/B07CTHLX8C

Since that is out of stock, you could look into something like this

https://www.amazon.com/Dell-Gaming-Laptop-i7-8750H-G3579-7989BLK-PUS/dp/B07BXG7725/